Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7 4790
Graphics
ASUS GTX 980 TI (OC)
Hi guys, I'm preparing a new build, my 3rd, but I'm not an expert so I'm open to suggestion.
It's going to be a video editing and color machine, main work with 4k (or higher) raw files.
I need a workhorse, so that's the configuration i was thinking:

Motherboard: GA-X99P-SLI
Cpu: I7-6850K
Gpu: GTX 1080 Ti (X2)
Ram: 64 Gb 3333mhz Corsair Vengance (4x16)
System: SSD 960 EVO 1TB
Storage (raid 0): X3 HGST Ultrastar 3tb

No idea on: case, liquid cooling system and power supply...

Like I said I'm not an expert, so if you notice problem(s) with this build or any advice/suggestion is welcome.
Thank you!

trs96

Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Last edited:
Motherboard
GA-Z490 Gaming X
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
So, If used for 4k horsepower, I suggest you spend a money in one more SSD 256GB to store a Cache files for Adobe CC, will be your rig more faster (And will expand life of your system SSD).
Buy a Watercooler with two fans like a Seidon 240v (i have one, love it) or Corsair H100i similar, compatible with your socket. I don't like DIY watercoolers...
In GPUs, think to buy with liquidcooler integrated too ;-)
For power, a 1200w is a require for 2 GPUs + Raid with 3 disks+SSD System+SSD temp files
A good Full Tower case, like CoolerMaster Storm (love it) or Cosmo, Corsair Graphite or Obsidian Series.
And don't forget a external case or external drive to backups.

In my Rig has a Samsung Evo SSD for a system and APP and a Kingston SSD for a cache files. For works, I have a 2x1TB Raid 0 HDD, works well.

Runaway from SSHDD, it's terrible and aways hangs (it's a wast of time!). In Raid they just don't work, it's a shame, doesn't build to work in Raid!