CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Greetings, I'm a newbie so bear with me. I have the Fractal Design Define R3 case (which I love) and I have some questions about fan configuration and cooling:
1) The 2 fans which came with the case are running full speed all the time. They are connected directly to the power supply. Is there a solution to back them off when the computer is idling, so it's not so noisy? Something tied to the bios maybe or sensitive to the case temperature?
2) A manual fan controller came with the case but I would prefer to have something more automatic (like a thermostat). Any thoughts about this?
3) Finally, any suggestions on an app that shows me the cpu temperature in both win 7 and mac lion so I know if I should add more fans, adjust the speed, ect?

Thanks for any help!!
Jim

1. can you not connect them to the headers on your motherboard?

2. have a look at electronic fan controllers

3. I use istat for temps in mac, you'll need a different program for windows though. Also not sure how accurate the temperature readings are in mac.

The manual fan control is great if you are going to be playing games or something that's loud anyway, otherwise you can turn it down.

My R3 tower is in another room, and I ran all the cables in to my office for PURE silence. So you can imagine how crazy I am about getting the thing silent.

First of all, as mentioned above, you need to plug your fans in to the motherboard, so the computer can control the fans appropriately. If it is not already set in your bios, there are options to alter when, for how long, and the strength of the fans. That is usually with a few choices of silent, auto, or manual. Depending on the heat levels of your CPU and GPU, using Istat, you'll be able to tell which one you'll want to switch to, or stay on. RealTemp is a great program for Windows if you need one.