Contribute
Register

Need help with 10.14 / MacPro-ish configuration (total noob!)

Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro Wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I do have wake on lan disabled, yes.

I've turned off debug and set CSR active config to 0x03FF. In addition to selecting something for the symbios as you suggested (at least picking something as close to my CPU as is listed -- i7 7700K (whereas I have an i7 8700K), I've also filled out the memory section as best I can for my memory. I'm attaching a screen shot of that whole screen.

Going to save this and try a shutdown once or twice to see if that helps.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro Wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
After two shutdown attempts, I can say that it doesn't look like that fixed it -- rebooted both times.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,468
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
After two shutdown attempts, I can say that it doesn't look like that fixed it -- rebooted both times.
  • Keep a copy of your current CLOVER safely in a place just in case you want to go back to that.
  • Then, Delete the current CLOVER from your System Disk>EFI>EFI>CLOVER after mounting EFI Partition using CCG.
  • Copy and paste this uploaded CLOVER to replace what was removed.
  • Don't change anything you have already done with BIOS -Chipset and Power.
  • Reboot in verbose to make sure edited CLOVER has not affected booting.
  • Then Shut Down the PC a few times to see if that Reboot on shut down problem has resolved.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro Wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
With that customized clover folder, this is what I saw for a verbose reboot:

407953


So how do I put my backup copy back in?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,468
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
With that customized clover folder, this is what I saw for a verbose reboot:

View attachment 407953

So how do I put my backup copy back in?
I hope you have backed up the CLOVER before changing with my previous upload.
Continue keeping it safe.
Try this edited one.
I have removed the last time added "EmuVariable..." from drivers64UEFI and edited config.plist with SIP Disabled.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,292
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
With that customized clover folder, this is what I saw for a verbose reboot:

View attachment 407953

So how do I put my backup copy back in?
If you only have this disk no backup to boot with try hitting space bar once at startup and deselect “safe mode” if it’s selected and anything else except verbose.
If it starts to boot but crashes try selecting “verbose” and “single user”.
It should end at root#. Type in without “” marks.
Root# “mount -uw”
2nd root# “fsck -fy”
3rd root# “exit”
 
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro Wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I hope you have backed up the CLOVER before changing with my previous upload.
Continue keeping it safe.
Try this edited one.
I have removed the last time added "EmuVariable..." from drivers64UEFI and edited config.plist with SIP Disabled.
I don't have a spare SSD on hand at the moment so while I did back up my clover folder to a zip (on my thumb drive), I did not have a clone of the entire drive. My question was how to return to a working state so that I can try another time to get the clover folder fixed. Fortunately, these instructions from Gigamaxx seem to have worked:

If you only have this disk no backup to boot with try hitting space bar once at startup and deselect “safe mode” if it’s selected and anything else except verbose.
If it starts to boot but crashes try selecting “verbose” and “single user”.
It should end at root#. Type in without “” marks.
Root# “mount -uw”
2nd root# “fsck -fy”
3rd root# “exit”
^Thanks for these!

I was able to get back in, and I put in the latest CLOVER folder from cmn699. It shut down fine from that initially, but a subsequent startup and then shutdown ended with a kernel panic. I can continue to successfully boot into OSX, but every shutdown ends in a kernel panic.

I tried booting into single user mode again and following the steps: mount -uw; fsck -fy; exit --- After that I can still boot into OSX, but shutting down stops without much in the way of clues -- just this kernel panic (which I guess explains the usual reboot since I was previously running without the "don't reboot on panic" flag?)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,468
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I don't have a spare SSD on hand at the moment so while I did back up my clover folder to a zip (on my thumb drive), I did not have a clone of the entire drive. My question was how to return to a working state so that I can try another time to get the clover folder fixed. Fortunately, these instructions from Gigamaxx seem to have worked:



^Thanks for these!

I was able to get back in, and I put in the latest CLOVER folder from cmn699. It shut down fine from that initially, but a subsequent startup and then shutdown ended with a kernel panic. I can continue to successfully boot into OSX, but every shutdown ends in a kernel panic.

I tried booting into single user mode again and following the steps: mount -uw; fsck -fy; exit --- After that I can still boot into OSX, but shutting down stops without much in the way of clues -- just this kernel panic (which I guess explains the usual reboot since I was previously running without the "don't reboot on panic" flag?)
  • fsck -fy command used was to check and optionally repair (fix yes) one or more corrupted system files causing boot failure
  • According to the Kernel Panic screen , the underlying problem was in Kernel Cache (also known as Pre-linked kernel) in your macOSMojave System SSD(what was the name you have given to it? "Mac HD" ?).
    • This Kernel Cache contains exactly the set of kernel extensions that were needed during the previous system startup, already linked against the kernel.
    • Prelinked Kernel or Kernel cache supplies to the Startup disk the required kexts to use the devices to boot and reach Login Screen.
    • If this Prelinked Kernel is corrupt> Kernel Panic before or after CBM screen > No Login screen
    • If it is the No CBM Screen>No Boot Disk Pick>No Login Screen, then troubleshoot requires a bootable USB Installer Disk
    • If you can reach CBM screen and you have a Recovery HD , use Recovery Disk to reach MacOS Utilities screen >Utilities >Terminal
    • Fix for this, is to use the Terminal to type in commands to locate & remove kernel Cache and Shut down & reboot and let the System Rebuild a new kernel cache
  • Recovery Disk >Utilities >Terminal and the following command
Df-h
  • This lists all your volumes . Find from that the "Mac OS MoJ" [ Whatever name you have given to your macOSMojave SSD]
  • If there are Spaces in your Volume name, when typing the name in the command , you have to insert \ for the spaces
  • So, the name when you type in the Terminal will be "Mac\OS\Moj"
The command to be typed:

touch /Volumes/ Mac\OS\Moj /System Library/Extensions && kextcache -u /Volumes/ Mac\OS\Moj
This can give you an error:
"Child process [directory] has exited due to signal 10"

but if you see in the next line "Error 107 rebuilding /System Library/PrelinkedKernels/prelinkedkernel"
that is a good sign.
That gives you the name of directory which you need to delete

Now is the time to delete prelinked kernel directory using the command:
rm -rf [location to] /prelinkedkernel/prelinkedkernel


Once you are back on the Terminal command prompt> reboot and hopefully it is fixed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro Wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
what was the name you have given to it? "Mac HD" ?
The drive is named simply, "Mojave"

touch /Volumes/ Mac\OS\Moj /System Library/Extensions && kextcache -u /Volumes/ Mac\OS\Moj
This can give you an error:
"Child process [directory] has exited due to signal 10"

but if you see in the next line "Error 107 rebuilding /System Library/PrelinkedKernels/prelinkedkernel"
that is a good sign.
That gives you the name of directory which you need to delete
Unfortunately, I'm not getting either of the outcomes you suggested.

/Volumes/Mojave/System\ Library/ doesn't exist, so I can't touch Extensions inside of it.
I tried /Volumes/Mojave/System/Library/ which does exist, and I was able to touch Extensions inside of it, but when I run kextcache -u /Volumes/Mojave the output is:

Warning: /Volumes/Mojave/AppleInternal/Library/Extensions: No such file or directory

I'm not sure where the "AppleInternal" part is coming from. The System folder is not a symlink to anywhere else.

I can't find the AppleInternal folder to create AppleInternal/Library/Extensions.
 
Top