Contribute
Register

Need help with 10.14 / MacPro-ish configuration (total noob!)

Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro Wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Well, maybe I don't need to make the config.plist changes after all. Changing the ErP setting the bios made a shutdown work as expected. Would it still be worth making those config.plist changes, then, or should we move on?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,582
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Well, maybe I don't need to make the config.plist changes after all. Changing the ErP setting the bios made a shutdown work as expected. Would it still be worth making those config.plist changes, then, or should we move on?
  • If multiple trials of Shut Down have convinced you that the the problem is fixed, then. there is no need for CLOVER editing. That is a Second line of Defense in case you need that later.
Do you want to try the CBM icon fix next?
 
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro Wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Before we move on to the CBM icon fix, would you mind answering my question from the bottom of page 3? If it comes up later I just want to know I'm making the right modifications.

After that, I'm cool with moving on to the CBM icon fix.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,582
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Before we move on to the CBM icon fix, would you mind answering my question from the bottom of page 3? If it comes up later I just want to know I'm making the right modifications.

After that, I'm cool with moving on to the CBM icon fix.
  • I have uploaded zipped NoVPAJpeg.kext .
  • Copy and Paste extracted NoVPAJpeg.kext to mounted EFI>CLOVER.kexts>Other
  • Reboot and test for cure of the problem
 

Attachments

Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro Wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
  • I have uploaded zipped NoVPAJpeg.kext .
  • Copy and Paste extracted NoVPAJpeg.kext to mounted EFI>CLOVER.kexts>Other
  • Reboot and test for cure of the problem
I did this^ and it doesn't seem to be working: same nothing when I try to finder-preview or open a jpeg in preview.app. Since this test required a reboot anyway, I went ahead and did another shutdown, and it did not stay shut off this time.

So I guess we're back to editing config.plist, so I still have this question too:

I found all of those options but I have a question before I apply any changes and maybe mess something up.

should I load the existing config.plist from EFI>EFI>Clover>config.plist before I make any of these changes? I found a little tool in the bottom right hand corner that seems to allow me to do that:

View attachment 407854
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,582
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I did this^ and it doesn't seem to be working: same nothing when I try to finder-preview or open a jpeg in preview.app. Since this test required a reboot anyway, I went ahead and did another shutdown, and it did not stay shut off this time.

So I guess we're back to editing config.plist, so I still have this question too:
I have never used that and don't know to comment either way; to try or no to try.
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,390
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
I did this^ and it doesn't seem to be working: same nothing when I try to finder-preview or open a jpeg in preview.app. Since this test required a reboot anyway, I went ahead and did another shutdown, and it did not stay shut off this time.

So I guess we're back to editing config.plist, so I still have this question too:
I use the Clover configurator app "Mount EFI" option. It lists the disk name of each EFI partition on system. Mount EFI, close CC app. Go to top tool bar and select Finder, then select Preferences, then click on box next to Hard Disk. Now all you drives will show on desktop. Open the EFi folder you opened in CC app (now on desktop). Right clock on config.plist and choose open with "Clover Configurator". Make edits and close. This is the most fool proof way to edit the correct plist.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,582
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I use the Clover configurator app "Mount EFI" option. It lists the disk name of each EFI partition on system. Mount EFI, close CC app. Go to top tool bar and select Finder, then select Preferences, then click on box next to Hard Disk. Now all you drives will show on desktop. Open the EFi folder you opened in CC app (now on desktop). Right clock on config.plist and choose open with "Clover Configurator". Make edits and close. This is the most fool proof way to edit the correct plist.
Gigamaxx,

OP had been given that method in the thread #8 to check -> #9
 
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro Wifi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I'm still not getting successful shutdowns. I confirmed that ErP in the BIOS is still set to "enabled" and the below screen shot of my config.plist is after making the changes and two (maybe three?) reboots that I was hopeful would be shutdowns, so the settings are definitely persisting the reboot. I'm also attaching config.plist in case that's useful.

407899
 

Attachments

Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,390
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
I'm still not getting successful shutdowns. I confirmed that ErP in the BIOS is still set to "enabled" and the below screen shot of my config.plist is after making the changes and two (maybe three?) reboots that I was hopeful would be shutdowns, so the settings are definitely persisting the reboot. I'm also attaching config.plist in case that's useful.

View attachment 407899
A couple of things that may improve your config.
Below you have debug checked, this can slow down boot and it deposits a log in Clover/Misc folder.
Screen Shot 2019-05-22 at 5.08.22 PM.png

Your Symbios is incomplete. Look at the bottom right corner of pic. There is an arrows tab to choose a full symbois section or change them.
Screen Shot 2019-05-22 at 5.09.38 PM.png

csr active config for Mojave to achieve full SIP disable is 0x03FF. You have 0x3.
Screen Shot 2019-05-22 at 5.09.51 PM.png


Bios settings, do you have wake on Lan disabled?
 
Top