Need Help Switching from Nvidia to AMD

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by EddyMac, Feb 14, 2018.

  1. EddyMac

    EddyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    828
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX 580
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 14, 2018 at 12:42 PM #1
    EddyMac

    EddyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    828
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX 580
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I currently have a Skylake system with a Nvidia GTX 970 and have just purchased an AMD Sapphire Radeon Pulse 8GB and I want to switch them out.

    I'm using the 17,1 SMBIOS, so have had to use the AGDPFix script every time after updating the OS.

    Recently I also had to change something regarding NVRAM but have forgotten exactly what that entailed.

    What will I need to do regarding kexts, config.plist, and other changes in order to switch from my Nvidia card to this new AMD card? All help appreciated.
     
  2. Pavo

    Pavo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Motherboard:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    5690X
    Graphics:
    RX 480
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 14, 2018 at 5:35 PM #2
    Pavo

    Pavo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Motherboard:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    5690X
    Graphics:
    RX 480
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Remove nvidia_drv=1 and NvidiaWebDrv from config, add Lilu+Whatevergreen to kexts in EFI>Clover>kexts>Other folder and that’s all you need.
     
  3. EddyMac

    EddyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    828
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX 580
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 14, 2018 at 5:38 PM #3
    EddyMac

    EddyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    828
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX 580
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm assuming I would need to uninstall the Nvidia web drivers too, or no?
     
  4. Pavo

    Pavo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Motherboard:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    5690X
    Graphics:
    RX 480
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 14, 2018 at 5:44 PM #4
    Pavo

    Pavo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Motherboard:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    5690X
    Graphics:
    RX 480
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You can if you want, it’s not going to do anything for AMD GPUs.
     
  5. EddyMac

    EddyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    828
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX 580
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 14, 2018 at 5:47 PM #5
    EddyMac

    EddyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    828
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX 580
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    OK thanks.

    I don't think I need the Lilu and Whatevergreen kexts because according to @Stork this particular AMD card that I bought is supported natively by macOS 10.3.3. So it looks like all I need to do is modify the config.plist.
     
  6. Pavo

    Pavo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Motherboard:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    5690X
    Graphics:
    RX 480
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 14, 2018 at 9:53 PM #6
    Pavo

    Pavo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Motherboard:
    Mac Pro 5,1
    CPU:
    5690X
    Graphics:
    RX 480
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It is highly recommended to still use Lilu+Whatevergreen to get proper connector mapping for multi-monitor setups, if you are never gonna have multi-monitor, then by all means you don't need it, just enable RadeonDeInit in Clover config.
     
  7. ashman70

    ashman70

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    829
    Motherboard:
    Asus F555L
    CPU:
    Intel i3-5010U 2.1GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel Graphics 5500
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 14, 2018 at 10:15 PM #7
    ashman70

    ashman70

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    829
    Motherboard:
    Asus F555L
    CPU:
    Intel i3-5010U 2.1GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel Graphics 5500
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    FYI I have switched from using Lilu and Whatevergreen to RadeonDeInit and really don't see any difference on my three monitor setup, one of which is a 27' 4K. On waking the monitors from sleep the behaviour is a little less cleaner then it was with Lilu and Whatevergreen but that's about it. I switched because of random freezing which I think now was caused by a different setting in my config.plist that I turned off at the same time I switched to RadeonDeInit.
     
  8. narbatucker

    narbatucker

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Motherboard:
    ASUS Z97-A
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 580 (Sapphire Nitro+ 8GB)
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 15, 2018 at 1:47 AM #8
    narbatucker

    narbatucker

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Motherboard:
    ASUS Z97-A
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 580 (Sapphire Nitro+ 8GB)
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have no problems with 4 monitors on a Sapphire Nitro+ RX 580, using RadeonDeInit. No Lilu/WG kext.
     
  9. mitch_de

    mitch_de

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77 DS3H
    CPU:
    i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX 460 2 GB
    Feb 15, 2018 at 7:51 AM #9
    mitch_de

    mitch_de

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77 DS3H
    CPU:
    i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX 460 2 GB
    Even you can run AMDs without WEG (using Clovers RadeonDeInit or even nothing for some rare AMDs) i would start with LILU+WEG.
    You can remove any NVIDIA related fix kexts from Clover / kexts. The NVIDIA GPU Drivers or CUDA drivers can stay. They didnt get active running an AMD and so have no negative effect.
     
  10. EddyMac

    EddyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    828
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX 580
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 16, 2018 at 12:31 AM #10
    EddyMac

    EddyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    828
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX 580
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    OK well I just installed the card and everything looks good so far.

    First I removed the Nvidia stuff from config.plist and added RadeonDeInit.
    Then I shut down, replaced the Nvidia card with the Sapphire, and hooked up my monitors (both 24 inch Dells, one connected via HDMI and the other with DVI).
    Then I simply booted up and everything just works.
    The card is recognized properly in "About this Mac."
    And my BruceX score went from over 2 minutes to 16 seconds.

    So I'm happy I have a card that works out of the box, and that I won't have to mess with Nvidia drivers and the fixups each time I update to the latest macOS update.

    Thanks everyone who contributed to this thread!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice