Native Support in Mountain Lion- Ivy Bridge, HD 4000, GeForce 6xx

Discussion in 'Articles' started by tonymacx86, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,998
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 at 7:00 PM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,998
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Here's a quick rundown of all the latest and newest stuff that didn't work in 10.7.4 that now works in 10.8 natively.

    [​IMG]
    Intel 3rd Generation Core i5/i7 Ivy Bridge CPUs
    Native kernel and power management support in OS X Mountain Lion

    Intel HD 4000 Onboard Graphics

    Use DVI port, and you may have to unplug and replug for full support
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    NVIDIA GeForce 6xx Series
    Works natively without any injection- use GraphicsEnabler=No
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Thunderbolt
    Native support for "Cactus Ridge" controllers. No hotswap support yet- device needs to be plugged at boot.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    All of this new support is very exciting- we need everyone to test if they have the new hardware, and report their findings. I'm sure we'll make all of this work great with little to no tweaking eventually. Make a new thread in the Mountain Lion forums, or leave a comment here.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2016 at 3:28 AM
  2. Minituff

    Minituff

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Hack-Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Geforce Gtx 680
    Jul 26, 2012 at 7:04 PM #2
    Minituff

    Minituff

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Hack-Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Geforce Gtx 680
    Thanks Tony!
    Is there any way yet to get Nvidia 6xx cards working with graphics enabler set to yes. Also, what impact does it have being set to no? Thanks. Im waiting for the new custo-macs to be released before I buy any of my parts.
     
  3. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,998
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 at 7:06 PM #3
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,998
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    As far as my own testing goes, the GT 640 is perfectly native- QE/CI, OpenCL using a new preset in the driver that is only in 10.8 Mountain Lion. So no need for any injection!
     
  4. gallegos_usa

    gallegos_usa

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68XP-UD3 UEFI | 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 2700K 3.9GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1024 MB
    Jul 26, 2012 at 7:11 PM #4
    gallegos_usa

    gallegos_usa

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68XP-UD3 UEFI | 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 2700K 3.9GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1024 MB
    You need to understand what GraphicsEnabler=Yes does , or what is set to No does.

    Graphics enabler is a feature of Chimera that will "patch" your graphics card string from a DB.
    Essentially MacMan and TonyMac update the list of cards so OSX will then load the native drivers.

    YOU WANT TO RUN WITH GRAPHICS ENABLER=NO if you can!!!!

    Since this means OSX will simply just work with its own drivers no need to patch a thing ;).
    You can also use graphics enabler=yes but chances are your card isn't in the updated in the DB.
    Its like making 3 left turns to go the right way , why waste you or your computers time on extra worthless steps.

    Not to mention running graphics enabler when its not needed can cause problems ;)
     
  5. vkfresh

    vkfresh

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Mobo:
    VK First Build
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX-570
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 at 7:12 PM #5
    vkfresh

    vkfresh

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Mobo:
    VK First Build
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX-570
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    How are you getting that score on Geekbench. I have i7-3770 3.4ghz 256GB SSD and 16GB RAM GTX 570 - and i can only pull 12999 in ML and 13120 in Lion
     
  6. jaaaykx

    jaaaykx

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    10.8 Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Jul 26, 2012 at 7:12 PM #6
    jaaaykx

    jaaaykx

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    10.8 Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Good stuff tony :)
     
  7. Minituff

    Minituff

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Hack-Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Geforce Gtx 680
    Jul 26, 2012 at 7:14 PM #7
    Minituff

    Minituff

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Hack-Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Geforce Gtx 680
    OK, I had no idea, does that relate to openCL in any way?
     
  8. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,998
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 at 7:18 PM #8
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,998
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I set my RAM to XMS Profile 1 in the UEFI- then I get the higher performance of 1600 ram. ;)
     
  9. gallegos_usa

    gallegos_usa

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68XP-UD3 UEFI | 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 2700K 3.9GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1024 MB
    Jul 26, 2012 at 7:18 PM #9
    gallegos_usa

    gallegos_usa

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68XP-UD3 UEFI | 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 2700K 3.9GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1024 MB
    in some ways yes and no but since the cats out of the bag openCL works oob on most 2012 GPUs and later for both AMD and NVIDIA but if you are starting a new build might as well get NVIDIA 6xx series since its the latest tip of the hat from Apple for GPUs but I have full acceleration on my GTX 550ti and AMD 6870 , quad monitors on the 6870. Havent messed with more then 2 on the 560
     
  10. superdudemax

    superdudemax

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh (Mid 2012)
    CPU:
    i5 3570k
    Graphics:
    AMD 6870 2GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 26, 2012 at 7:20 PM #10
    superdudemax

    superdudemax

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Hackintosh (Mid 2012)
    CPU:
    i5 3570k
    Graphics:
    AMD 6870 2GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    No love for the 6950/6970? Oh well, they weren't groundbreaking in terms of being quicker than a 6870 anyway.
    My question though, how easy would it be to use both a 6870 on one monitor and HD4000 on another?
    I'm planning to build my first Hackintosh in less than a month time, so excited!

    Thanks Tony!
     

Share This Page