Native NVRAM Available?

Discussion in 'General Help' started by tonymacx86, May 14, 2016.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,462
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 14, 2016 at 9:24 PM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,462
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If you don't know what NVRAM is, according to Wikipedia:

    NVRAM is either supported natively or not by the motherboard. Two uses of NVRAM are for saving values after reboot related to iMessage, and for the NVIDIA Web Driver Manager preference pane and menubar to make the switch to NVIDIA Drivers.

    Just did some testing with this Terminal test:

    https://www.reddit.com/r/hackintosh/comments/3bjxhl/dual_boot_issue_noob_question/csn8nfd

    Turns out my Z87X-UD7-TH motherboard supports native NVRAM, and the new Z170X-UD5-TH does not. Can anyone else run this test and post back?

    EDIT 2017-03-26
    We're planning on putting a new 3rd choice in MultiBeast under Bootloaders > UEFI Boot Mode + Emulated NVRAM which will install EmuVariableUefi-64.efi and Clover RC Scripts in addition to Clover for boards with Non-Native NVRAM. If we could I'd like to document the best we can which boards support Native NVRAM and which boards need Emulated NVRAM. This post will be updated.

    Test results below:

    Motherboards Supporting Native NVRAM:
    Supports NVRAM without installing RC scripts or EmuVariableUefi-64.efi

    Gigabyte 5,6,7,8,9 Series
    ASRock 8 Series
    MSI 9 Series
    ASUS 8 Series
    ASUS 100 Series (early BIOSes)
    Intel 6 Series

    Motherboards Requiring Emulated NVRAM:
    Requires Emulated NVRAM by installing RC scripts and EmuVariableUefi-64.efi

    Gigabyte 100 Series
    ASUS 100 Series (later BIOSes)
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2017
  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,425
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 14, 2016 at 9:34 PM #2
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,425
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It is not really enough information as a valid way to check for "native NVRAM". As to whether you're using native UEFI support for NVRAM depends on which drivers you have loaded in drivers64UEFI.

    If you have EmuVariableUefi-64.efi installed, then you're using non-native NVRAM.
    Lack of EmuVariable allows using native UEFI services for UEFI.

    A common mistake people make which breaks NVRAM completely is to use EmuVariable, but forget to install "RC scripts to boot volume". In that case, NVRAM is emulated, but never saved to disk for later restoration after restart.

    One advantage of native NVRAM is that it doesn't require a clean shutdown in order to be saved. This enables crash reports upon restart after KP.
     
    VikingShips and balazs631 like this.
  3. wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,640
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    May 15, 2016 at 7:10 PM #3
    wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,640
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    My MSI Z97 Gaming 7 motherboard supports native nvram:

    Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 19.09.14.png

    Z170 Deluxe also supports native nvram :

    Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 19.15.12.png
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2016
  4. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,462
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 15, 2016 at 7:19 PM #4
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,462
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for testing- we've determined that Gigabyte 100 Series does not have native nvram.
     
  5. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,425
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 15, 2016 at 8:09 PM #5
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,425
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    By this you mean you must use EmuVariableUefi-64.efi and "RC scripts"?
     
  6. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,462
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 15, 2016 at 8:10 PM #6
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,462
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Correct.
     
  7. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,425
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 15, 2016 at 8:36 PM #7
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,425
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Interesting... even my 6-series Intel DH67GD, with what is not a very good UEFI implementation, has native VRAM.
     
  8. slim.jim

    slim.jim Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    4,114
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 18, 2016 at 6:13 AM #8
    slim.jim

    slim.jim Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    4,114
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC supports NVRAM without installing RC scripts or EmuVariableUefi-64.efi
     
    blassley likes this.
  9. wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,640
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Jan 11, 2017 at 3:54 PM #9
    wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,640
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Here is a blast from the past. Just updated my Asus Z170 Deluxe BIOS to 3007 from 1801 and there is no longer native NVRAM.
    Tested the TestVar=HelloWorld and it returned nothing. I only noticed since macOS is defaulting to OS X drivers.
     
  10. Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,720
    Motherboard:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 14, 2017 at 2:07 PM #10
    Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,720
    Motherboard:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Asus seems to have broken something in a recent update, I also saw similar posts from other users with various Asus Skylake boards.
    Didn't verify it on my system yet. Is it possible to downgrade afterwards?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice