Contribute
Register

My Skylake Hackintosh...Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3/I7-6700K/GTX950???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i5-6600K
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Guys,

In the last couple of months I have been reading a lot on the forum to prepare myself for my first Hackintosh build and also waiting for the Skylake support.
I have no experience what soever with building a hackintosh so it's gonna be a challenge...
My wish is to have a silent build.

The list of hardware I picked out is below:
Motherboard / Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
Processor / i7-6700K
Cooler / Noctua NH-D14
Graphics / GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 950 XTREME GAMING 2GB GDDR5
Mem 2x16 32gb / Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK32GX4M2B3200C16
SSD / Samsung SM951 (NVMe) 512GB
Harddisk / Seagate Desktop HDD 1 TB
PSU / Corsair AX760 Professional 760
Wireless / ABWB 802.11AC WI-FI With Bluetooth 4.0 PCI-Express (PCI-E) BCM943602CS Combo Card
Case / Power Mac G5
ATX Low 120 Kit / The laser hive - 120 Low Full ATX Kit
Case Fan / Noctua NF-S12A PWN, 120mm
Screen / Dell Ultrasharp U2913WM 21:9

Questions I have:
  1. Initially I was going for the Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 Motherboard but after a lot of comparisons I don't see the added value of the Gaming 7 over the UD3 for myself(am I missing something?). I want it to be a bit future proof, so USB-C and HDMI 2.0 were must haves.
  2. The Z170X-UD3 has HDMI1.4 support, but as I am using the GTX 950 and it has HDMI 2.0 support .
    Will the motherboard be a bottleneck, or will HDMI 2.0 function properly?
  3. I want really fast stable 802.11AC as I am not going to use LAN. And I will need Bluetooth so I am able to use handoff and all the nice OSX stuff without issues. I read that the ABWB wireless card is plug and play...
    Is there any other good alternative?
  4. I have a 21:9 screen, will I have issues with the resolution for this screen?