My first Hackintosh: Logic Pro Station

Discussion in 'Buying Advice' started by antigluten, Jan 22, 2012.

  1. antigluten

    antigluten

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X
    CPU:
    Intel Sandy i7
    Graphics:
    Zotac NVidia POS
    Jan 22, 2012 at 3:12 PM #1
    antigluten

    antigluten

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X
    CPU:
    Intel Sandy i7
    Graphics:
    Zotac NVidia POS
    Thanks for taking a look at my post :)

    So, I've done a bunch of research and I think I've been able to come with a successful build for under $700. My goal was to make a machine built specifically for mixing in Logic Pro using, for which I use a good chunk of Software Instruments.

    Here is my build (for OS X 10.7.2):

    GIGABYTE GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68
    Intel Core i7-2600 Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
    Patriot Viper Xtreme Series, Division 2 Edition 8GB DDR3 PC3 12800 (cas8/1600mhz)
    ZOTAC ZT-84GEM2M-HSL GeForce 8400 GS 512MB 64-bit DDR3 PCI-E 2.0
    SYBA Model SD-PEX30009 1394b/a PCI-E2.0
    WD 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
    MSI DVD Burner SATA Model DH-24AS

    I will also be keeping all my recordings on an external FW drive to keep read speeds high and un-interfered with.

    Any comments/ideas/criticisms? According to what I know, everything *should* be installable but please correct me if I am wrong. Thanks!

    EDIT: GREAT SUCCESS! Here is my official build - viewtopic.php?f=54&t=48611
     
  2. cliffg

    cliffg

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z97 Deluxe
    CPU:
    Core i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    GTX970 ITX
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 22, 2012 at 3:20 PM #2
    cliffg

    cliffg

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z97 Deluxe
    CPU:
    Core i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    GTX970 ITX
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If you are planning to run Lion....

    That board supports video form the Sandy Bridge CPU's.

    If you go with the 2600K or 2500K as a processor, you could probably ditch your video card and save some cash or put it into another part of the system.

    I have never seen an MSI DVD burner, has anyone else in the forum used this and stated it is compatible?
     
  3. antigluten

    antigluten

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X
    CPU:
    Intel Sandy i7
    Graphics:
    Zotac NVidia POS
    Jan 22, 2012 at 3:39 PM #3
    antigluten

    antigluten

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X
    CPU:
    Intel Sandy i7
    Graphics:
    Zotac NVidia POS
    My only concern about ditching the Graphics card: a lot of the plugins I use analyze waveforms in real time and sometimes I have 3 or 4 going at once. Would using the CPU as a graphics unit impede my audio processing performance? Also, the graphics card is only $15. :3

    I haven't seen that particular drive, but it came free with the Hard Drive - I figured I could try it. Honestly, I probably won't need to drive but I figured it might be fun to write a driver for if it needed one
     
  4. jester969

    jester969

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3,754
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTS 250
    Jan 22, 2012 at 3:43 PM #4
    jester969

    jester969

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3,754
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTS 250
    I would stick with the SONY DVD burner.
     
  5. bandoba

    bandoba

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    IBM M50
    CPU:
    3GHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia
    Jan 28, 2012 at 5:19 AM #5
    bandoba

    bandoba

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    IBM M50
    CPU:
    3GHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia
    Thanks for your post. I am trying to convert Lenovo dekstop. Running 10.7.2 fine. But onboard Intel 4500 doesn't seem to work. So I was thinking of adding same graphics card as you mentioned above. I was wondering if this card works out of box or with minor tweaking. Also, did you use UniBeast followed by MultiBeast?

    Finally, where did you get it for $15? :)
     
  6. antigluten

    antigluten

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X
    CPU:
    Intel Sandy i7
    Graphics:
    Zotac NVidia POS
    Jan 28, 2012 at 9:55 PM #6
    antigluten

    antigluten

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X
    CPU:
    Intel Sandy i7
    Graphics:
    Zotac NVidia POS
    The Zotac is here (it's 17.99 after rebate): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814500205

    I also signed up for the trial thing to get free shipping which was a big plus!

    I haven't done my install yet (still waiting for parts to arrive) but it is supposed to work out of box with Graphics Enabler = Yes. See this post for some more detailed info about that card if you want: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=37071&p=233887#p233887

    edit: i know the post addresses SLeopard 10.6.8 but on the OSx86Project wiki it's listed under compatible hardware for 10.7.2

    Good luck!
     
  7. bandoba

    bandoba

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    IBM M50
    CPU:
    3GHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia
    Jan 29, 2012 at 6:04 AM #7
    bandoba

    bandoba

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    IBM M50
    CPU:
    3GHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia
    Thanks. I purchased Zotac 1GB version from Micro Center. Will try it on Monday. I already have Lion installed so hopefully it will just work!
     
  8. bandoba

    bandoba

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    IBM M50
    CPU:
    3GHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia
    Jan 31, 2012 at 7:06 AM #8
    bandoba

    bandoba

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    IBM M50
    CPU:
    3GHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia
    Just wanted to share good news that Zotac 1GB version worked almost OOB. I had to update kext with device ID and then everything worked like a charm.

    BTW, there are bad reports all over net regarding ZOTAC rebates. So I have decided to go with MSI 8400GS from Micro Center. It is available for approx $30 with $10 rebate. Hope that one works like Zotac.
     
  9. mqmn

    mqmn

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Feb 2, 2012 at 3:02 PM #9
    mqmn

    mqmn

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Wonder what options did you use for the multibeast. I got the same MB and CPU. Installed lion using bootable usb. Was able to boot from usb and then pick the hard drive to start the lion. But once I installed the easybeast via the multibeast, I got kernel panic.
     
  10. antigluten

    antigluten

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X
    CPU:
    Intel Sandy i7
    Graphics:
    Zotac NVidia POS
    Feb 5, 2012 at 9:17 PM #10
    antigluten

    antigluten

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X
    CPU:
    Intel Sandy i7
    Graphics:
    Zotac NVidia POS
    Hoorah! After much fussing with this graphics card in 10.7.2, everything works like a dream now (including the free CD/DVD burner I got with the case ;D). Working on typing up my procedure and placing it in the user builds category.

    For MultiBeast, I used the UserDSDT and the appropriate DSDT for my board (found under Resources>DSDT Database on this site).

    I also had to manually modify some kext files (as well as add NVEnabler 64.kext) using the Lion installer Terminal to include my card's Device ID (see this post for more info: viewtopic.php?t=12646)

    I will update this with a link to my build shortly.

    EDIT: here it is - viewtopic.php?t=48611
     

Share This Page