Contribute
Register

My first build, is everything here compatible and the best option?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I made a build within my budget (≈2000GBP) and I would like you to just have a look and tell me your thoughts, and if I should proceed with this. I also have a few reasonings for my decisions and a few questions along the way, so thanks to everyone that is willing to read and help me out. I am very new at this without much experience, so I would like the parts to be as compatible as possible, so I don't face many problems during the installation.

This computer will be used for music/audio production/editing (professionally), so keep that in mind.

Intel Core i7-8700K 3.7GHz 6-Core Processor
Corsair H60 (2018) 57.2 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler
Asus ROG MAXIMUS X FORMULA ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Crucial Ballistix Elite 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 Memory
2x Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive
Seagate Barracuda Pro 4TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
MSI Radeon RX 560 - 1024 4GB AERO ITX Video Card
NZXT S340 (White) ATX Mid Tower Case
Corsair RMx 750W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
TP-Link Archer T9E PCI-Express x1 802.11a/b/g/n/ac Wi-Fi Adapter
Samsung - U28E590D 28.0" 3840x2160 60Hz Monitor
  • CPU: Since I am ‘confined’ to Intel, I think this is the best reasonable CPU I can find. I saw a post where someone said that it’s important for music production to have as many threads as possible, so my mind went to AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1900X. I clarified that I want a smooth setup process as I am not a programmer, so I should probably avoid this processor.
  • Motherboard: My main reason for selecting this motherboard is that it has 2 M.2 ports that I can connect the SSD’s and create the raid.