My build: i5 3570k Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H 24gb Ram Diablotek REACTION CPA-8817D3

Discussion in 'Desktop Compatibility' started by crystalinecorruption, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. crystalinecorruption

    crystalinecorruption

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Scarlet Eclipse
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770 OC to 4.1GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Sep 21, 2012 at 10:41 PM #1
    crystalinecorruption

    crystalinecorruption

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Scarlet Eclipse
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770 OC to 4.1GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    I'm new to the hackintosh community and hackintoshing itself. I have built many computers and have time to tinker around with my computers. I've done a lot of reading on hackintoshing (so I'm not a total noob -_-) and found that the gigabyte ga-z77-ds3h is one of the best mobos for a hackintosh. My main use for this computer will be AUDIO RECORDING/EDITING. I'll be tri-booting win8, win7, mt. lion.
    Here are the links to the items I'm hoping to get:

    Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-Intel-1155-Motherboard-GA-Z77-DS3H/dp/B007R21JWC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1338611610&sr=8-1

    Diablotek REACTION CPA-8817D3 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811822008

    OCZ Agility 3 Sata III 60gb SSD http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227725

    GeIL EVO CORSA Series 16gb Ram http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820144560

    8gb Corsiar ram that I bought for my previous rig 10600.

    Intel i5 3570k http://www.microcenter.com/product/388577/Core_i5_3570K_34GHz_LGA_1155_Processor

    Sony Optiarc x24 DVD Burner http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827118067&nm_mc=EMC-IGNEFL092012&cm_mmc=EMC-IGNEFL092012-_-EMC-092012-Index-_-CDDVDBurners-_-27118067-L011A

    Should I mix the 10600 with the 12800? Will I need this much ram? Or should I get less, but faster ram? Do I need a faster video card than the onboard Intel 3000 HD graphics? (I'm not much of a gamer.) Will the sony disc drive I have selected work with mt lion. If you happen to know, what dsdts will I need, if any...

    I admit, I'm no expert. I'd love any help I can get...
     
  2. errroneous

    errroneous

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77MX-D3H
    CPU:
    INTEL I7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660
    Sep 25, 2012 at 3:10 PM #2
    errroneous

    errroneous

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77MX-D3H
    CPU:
    INTEL I7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660
    I have the MATX version of your motherboard, so that should work fine.

    I bought the INTEL I7 3770k for a bit more based on reviews and making it last as long as possible and I love my choice. Yours should be fine also.

    Case: I bought this Cooles Master HAF 912 and I love it. For not much more than you are paying for yours, I would switch it up and never look back. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119233

    Honestly there is much better RAM out there. Your motherboard supports 1600, so go get 2x8gb or 4 x 4gb sticks of Corsair. I got the http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0058J1QYC A bit more but fast and all one set. Do not mix and match, but if you do make sure to put pairs in the right memory slots.

    It all looks ok, though I would recommend some kind of video card if you ever plan to do anything graphically intensive. Intel's cards are ok for minimal usage, but not much else in my opinion.
     
  3. Av8

    Av8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    7
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    Radeon
    Sep 25, 2012 at 5:51 PM #3
    Av8

    Av8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    7
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    Radeon
    I recommend you go with different SSD. I had that one and it was crap. Nothing but headaches and firmware issues. Stick with the big name brands. Intel and Samsung I heard are good.

    I too have HAF 912 and its the best case I ever bought for ease of use and cable management. Looks like a beast.
     
  4. bbear

    bbear

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H Rev1.2 F9
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    GTX 660Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 25, 2012 at 7:37 PM #4
    bbear

    bbear

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H Rev1.2 F9
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    GTX 660Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The Z77-DS3H Rev1.1 has the Atheros AR8161/8165 Ethernet chip and currently there is no driver in OS X to make this work.
     
  5. crystalinecorruption

    crystalinecorruption

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Scarlet Eclipse
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770 OC to 4.1GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Sep 25, 2012 at 7:57 PM #5
    crystalinecorruption

    crystalinecorruption

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Scarlet Eclipse
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770 OC to 4.1GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    What would you recommend I do as far as the ethernet driver issues. I'm not planning on using the ethernet port, but rather a usb wireless internet adapter.

    I've decided to scratch the ssd and go with the i7 2700k instead of the i5 3570k. Thanx Av8

    My primary use for this computer will be audio editing/recording using pro tools 9.

    As far as the case, how much will this affect performance? I don't really care what the computer looks like, my main concern is the speed and processing.

    I will not be doing any sort of gaming/video editing AT ALL, so I assume the intell 3000 graphics will work fine. I hope to use dual monitor, but nothing heavy graphically related.

    Not getting the ssd has left me with about $40 more than I would of had, so if you know of any software/hardware that I might want to acquire let me know. And I can save up maybe $20 over the next week.
    |
    |
    |
    >Edit- I just found a screen on craiglist for $80 that has 1920*1200 res instead of the 1920*1080 $50 monitor I was going to buy previously, so I only have like $7 extra...


    Thnx
    l8r
     
  6. errroneous

    errroneous

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77MX-D3H
    CPU:
    INTEL I7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660
    Sep 25, 2012 at 8:02 PM #6
    errroneous

    errroneous

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77MX-D3H
    CPU:
    INTEL I7 3770K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660
    What revision of Atheros LAN chipset does the GA-Z77MX-D3H have? I used the multibeast Atheros drivers and it worked fine.
     
  7. crystalinecorruption

    crystalinecorruption

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Scarlet Eclipse
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770 OC to 4.1GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Sep 25, 2012 at 8:06 PM #7
    crystalinecorruption

    crystalinecorruption

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Scarlet Eclipse
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770 OC to 4.1GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    It has revision 1.0
     
  8. bbear

    bbear

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H Rev1.2 F9
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    GTX 660Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 26, 2012 at 6:54 PM #8
    bbear

    bbear

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H Rev1.2 F9
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    GTX 660Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I ended up getting the TP-Link TL-WDN4800 and it works OOB.
     
  9. crystalinecorruption

    crystalinecorruption

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Scarlet Eclipse
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770 OC to 4.1GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Sep 26, 2012 at 7:31 PM #9
    crystalinecorruption

    crystalinecorruption

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    Scarlet Eclipse
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770 OC to 4.1GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    I've kinda changed my my setup a little bit.

    I'm going to get:

    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H

    Ram:
    16gb 1333Mhz

    Case:
    Coolmaster HAF 912

    CPU:
    i7 2700k HT

    Optical Drive:
    Sony Optiarc x24 DVD/RW

    Screen:
    Sony PREMIERPRO SDM-P232W 1920x1200

    Yea.:headbang:
     

Share This Page