Contribute
Register

Music Player that shares my playlists between macOS and Windows?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
LG Gram 13 inch
CPU
i7-8650u
Graphics
Blackmagic eGPU
Hi, I have a Xiaomi Notebook Pro and it is multibooting Windows 10, macOS Mojave, deepin Linux, and ChromeOS perfectly (I have learned a lot of technical information about Hackintosh, multi booting, EFI files from the guides on this forum, without them I would not be able to enjoy my laptop, so thanks).

My situation... Let's say I have a playlist I listen to when I am studying, and a different playlist I listen to when I am gaming. (In reality I have more like 25 different playlists). I have a FAT32 partition with all the mp3 files locally. I can do this with iTunes and almost any music player, but iTunes for example, stores its playlists in separate locations on Windows (NTFS partiton) and on macOS (APFS partition). So I would need to create the exact same playlists twice, and in the future if I add a new song to one of the playlists on Windows it would not change on macOS (+vice versa). I think it would not be hard to have my playlists shared and updated automatically between Windows and macOS, I just need to find a cross platform music player that can store its playlist information in a custom location and set them to the same folder on the FAT32 partition. I tried some music players like Clementine but it doesn't seem to have an option to change the media folder location either. Does anyone know music players with this ability?

I apologize if this is quite trivial compared to the technical problems that Hackintoshers face, I most likely just need a good software recommendation.

PS: cloud music players like spotify sync playlists but I need something that uses my local music files because I listen to non mainstream music so spotify doesn't have a lot of songs

It would be better if the playlists can be shared on Linux as well, but Windows and macOS is most important for me