Multibeast error - Failed to Install Check Log...Please help!

Discussion in 'MultiBeast Bug Reports' started by strat5500, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,252
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Apr 27, 2016 at 4:04 PM #21
    trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,252
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Just got the same error message using MB 8.2.1 USB 3 ports are not working. Asus H97M Mobo.

    Code (Text):
    Apr 27 11:56:13 macs-iMac installd[286]: PackageKit: Running idle tasks
    Apr 27 11:56:13 macs-iMac installd[286]: PackageKit: Removing client PKInstallDaemonClient pid=437, uid=0 (/usr/sbin/installer)
    Apr 27 11:56:13 macs-iMac installer[437]: install:didFailWithError:Error Domain=PKInstallErrorDomain Code=112 "An error occurred while running scripts from the package “Clover-USB-Port-Limit.pkg”." UserInfo={NSFilePath=./postinstall, NSURL=file://localhost/Users/mac/Desktop/MultiBeast.app/Contents/Resources/Clover-USB-Port-Limit.pkg#usbportlimit.pkg, PKInstallPackageIdentifier=org.tonymacx86.Clover.USB-Port-Limit.pkg, NSLocalizedDescription=An error occurred while running scripts from the package “Clover-USB-Port-Limit.pkg”.}
    Apr 27 11:56:13 macs-iMac installd[286]: PackageKit: Done with sandbox removals
    Apr 27 11:56:13 macs-iMac installer[437]: Install failed: The Installer encountered an error that caused the installation to fail. Contact the software manufacturer for assistance.

    Code (Text):
     04/27/16 11:55:20 - Starting MultiBeast 8.2.1-20160425
    04/27/16 11:55:51 - Mounting EFI
    04/27/16 11:55:52 - Installing 'Drivers > USB > Increase Max Port Limit'
    04/27/16 11:56:13 - Install of '/Users/mac/Desktop/MultiBeast.app/Contents/Resources/Clover-USB-Port-Limit.pkg' failed.
    'installer: Package name is Clover-USB-Port-Limit
    installer: Installing at base path /
    installer: The install failed (The Installer encountered an error that caused the installation to fail. Contact the software manufacturer for assistance.)
    '. Exiting.
     
     
  2. MacMan

    MacMan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,904
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 28, 2016 at 3:49 AM #22
    MacMan

    MacMan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,904
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Can you post more of the install.log?
     
  3. cefarix

    cefarix

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Apr 30, 2016 at 5:58 AM #23
    cefarix

    cefarix

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I was getting the same error on MB v8.2.1, with the log showing:
    Code (Text):
    Mounting EFI
    Mounting EFI failed. Exiting.
    This was a very confusing error because clearly the EFI partition did show up as mounted in Finder. I went looking in it, and it only had a few folders and one file in it which lead me to think that the error was being caused by MB trying to copy files to a location that didn't exist despite EFI being mounted. So I went and checked which bootloader it was installing, and it turns out the configuration file I had loaded into MB didn't have a bootloader selected! I was having a graphics glitch earlier and I think when I saved that configuration file it didn't have a bootloader saved with it. So I went back and selected UEFI bootloader, and this time everything worked perfectly.

    So, in short: Error with "Mounting EFI failed" in log can be caused by failing to select a bootloader (either via Quick Start or Bootloaders section).

    My humble suggestion is to inform the user that no bootloader is selected in this case, instead of the more generic and cryptic error message.
     
    hackmac953 likes this.
  4. Jackierobinson08

    Jackierobinson08

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    May 1, 2016 at 12:45 AM #24
    Jackierobinson08

    Jackierobinson08

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    I just had this same error. I realized my disk names were both named Untitled. I renamed the disk I have osx installed on, picked that one to install to, and it worked perfectly.
     
    hackmac953 likes this.
  5. spawnreaper

    spawnreaper

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD3H rev:1.2
    CPU:
    INTEL I7
    Graphics:
    2X ASUS EN9800GTX
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 7, 2016 at 5:55 PM #25
    spawnreaper

    spawnreaper

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD3H rev:1.2
    CPU:
    INTEL I7
    Graphics:
    2X ASUS EN9800GTX
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    same problem here
     
  6. Caseymartin707

    Caseymartin707

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170m-D3H LGA1151
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 ti SC
    May 27, 2016 at 10:20 PM #26
    Caseymartin707

    Caseymartin707

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170m-D3H LGA1151
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 ti SC
    Did you ever figure this out? I am having this exact issue too.
     
  7. budafilms

    budafilms

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Mobo:
    Z170 Asus Hero VIII
    CPU:
    i7 6700K @45 1.27V
    Graphics:
    AMD 280X Sapphire Trixx - RX480 Sapphire Nitro+ 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 2, 2016 at 5:57 AM #27
    budafilms

    budafilms

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Mobo:
    Z170 Asus Hero VIII
    CPU:
    i7 6700K @45 1.27V
    Graphics:
    AMD 280X Sapphire Trixx - RX480 Sapphire Nitro+ 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Same here, in two different machines.
     
  8. Obvious Answer Man

    Obvious Answer Man Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Jun 2, 2016 at 2:36 PM #28
    Obvious Answer Man

    Obvious Answer Man Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Without posting the install.log for the installer that failed there is no way to troubleshoot the problem.
     
  9. sp00m

    sp00m

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Aug 23, 2016 at 9:58 PM #29
    sp00m

    sp00m

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    I'm having the same EFI mounting problem... Still no answer? I've tried clover configurator, multibeast, efi mounter v3 and v2 and non will mount the efi partition. If I plug my unibeast usb to my macbook pro it mounts it perfectly fine. Could this be because I'm booting in safe mode? It was the only way I could boot without an error and actually install El Capitan. Any Help?
     
  10. graphicstation

    graphicstation

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7-6700 FC-LGA14C 3.40 GHz 8 M Processor Cache 4
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 Overclocked GDDR5, 4GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 19, 2016 at 10:11 PM #30
    graphicstation

    graphicstation

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7-6700 FC-LGA14C 3.40 GHz 8 M Processor Cache 4
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 Overclocked GDDR5, 4GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Similar messages, but weeding through the comments it's not clear to me what should be done (re install MB?) - I've yet to find the error message that specifies to look at the multicast.log - can't find that file anywhere, local or on the EFI partition. I'm afraid to reboot at all now!

    Issue for me, If I click Quick Start MB automatically is entering Mac Pro as my system profile - with this I can Install the config, but if I change it to what my system is iMac 17.1 this is when I get the "Installation failed" error.
    MB-NonErrorLoad.png
     

Share This Page