Contribute
Register

MultiBeast 8.2.2 reports its own saves as Configuration file corrupted.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 7, 2016
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asrock P45XE
CPU
Core 2 Duo
Graphics
Nvidia GT220
If I save a blank configuration file I notice it loads back ok, but after I have been through and checked the options it won't load again.

I attach an example.
 

Attachments

  • Blackbox.mb
    4.9 KB · Views: 160
Joined
Jun 5, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3 (rev. 1.0) (Clover UEFI) no sound
CPU
Core i5 6600K
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 530 (1920x1080)
Mac
  1. MacBook
Yes. This is my very first time using MultiBeast and I was using 8.2.2. I saved my config list and was then confused when I couldn't restore it. After it failed to work several times when stored to both the USB install drive and the hard drive, I just accepted and moved on. <sigh />

An alternative to "save/load" is, perhaps, to "print" the list of selections but choose to save it to a PDF rather than trying to set up a printer when I don't yet have ethernet (and stuff) working. ;) :oops: :?:

Beyond the bug itself I find myself wondering if save/load in MultiBeast is working just fine for (almost) everyone else. In other words, if it's "just us", what the heck could we be doing differently? But probably can't expect feedback until after the weekend. :beachball:
 

MacMan

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
8,485
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390-PRO GAMING - 2606 - UEFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390 Plus Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I used save/load on 8.2.2 with no issues

I almost made 10x save my file and overtime said file is corrupted. Here is my step;

I choosing whatever I want final section before the build I choose save and save documents to my desktop. Then build. I opening Multibeast again and choosing my files from desktop with load option it says file is corrupted.

am I doing something wrong?
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3 (rev. 1.0) (Clover UEFI) no sound
CPU
Core i5 6600K
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 530 (1920x1080)
Mac
  1. MacBook
I used save/load on 8.2.2 with no issues

Oh, drat! It would have to turn out to be a "for some people it works but for others, not so much" sort of issue.

Any suggestions for how one could help isolate where the problem might be for those of us getting the "Configuration file is corrupted" error message?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,320
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Oh, drat! It would have to turn out to be a "for some people it works but for others, not so much" sort of issue.

Any suggestions for how one could help isolate where the problem might be for those of us getting the "Configuration file is corrupted" error message?

Attach your file so we can test.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2016
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270M-D3H
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. iMac
  3. LC
  4. Plus
  5. Portable
  6. Power Mac
  7. PowerBook
  8. Quadra
  9. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have also experienced the "Configuration file corrupted. Some of my saved configurations have been fine, others not. Not able to load it.", more than once now, with Multibeast 8.2.3 (1). Multibeast saves configuration files as binary plist files. It is possible to convert binary plist files to XML. Doing this should result in a human readable file. In my case, I was able to see the configuration options I saved in the file. I can't be 100% sure that nothing was lost given the file says it is corrupt, but it looks like everything is there. The plutil command line utility comes with OS X and can be used to do the conversion.

Make a copy of the file first, because plutil works on the file in place.
cp yourconfigfilename.mb yourconfigfilename.plist
plutil -convert binary1 yourconfigfilename.plist
grep -i '<string>Drivers' yourconfigfilename.plist

or if you want to see the entire file just open it in the text viewer/editor of your choice, e.g.
less yourconfigfilename.plist

Output of the grep command should be several lines similar to...
<string>Drivers &gt; Audio &gt; Realtek ALCxxx &gt; ALC892</string>

I've attached a corrupt .mb file (it just happened again!) I'm definitely in the habit now of "printing" my settings to a PDF file.
 

Attachments

  • Hackintosh Multibeast Config Z170M-D3H-4.mb
    3.2 KB · Views: 90
Last edited:

jwk

Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
236
Motherboard
Z68X-UD5-B3
CPU
i7-2700K
Graphics
PNY Quadro 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Has anyone ever resolved what the problem is with this? Happened to me with MB 8.2.3 on a *.mb file that tonymacx86 post in one of his thread, it's worked for others in the thread but not for me, and even my own *.mb files report corrupted.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top