Contribute
Register

MultiBeast 5.x results in a non-bootable machine

fwp

Joined
May 18, 2012
Messages
60
Motherboard
Z77X-UD5H
CPU
3770
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've reset the bios to optimized mode a few times! :) There doesn't seem to be any difference in how it works.

I'm using a VGA monitor.

For now things seem to be working alright except flash> :-| When watching anything with flash the screen flickers real bad. I have mixed feelings about a new graphics card. I'm going through this exercise to have a machine to run photoshop on and while PS requires a lot of RAM, CPU and disk space it really doesn't put that heavy a load on the graphics. Faster is of course better but so far photoshop is breathtakingly fast! I don't now how much it'll help!
 

fwp

Joined
May 18, 2012
Messages
60
Motherboard
Z77X-UD5H
CPU
3770
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
mmm that may be your problem - I don't believe VGA works with the HD4000 - I think you have to use DVI or HDMI
Of course you tell me this after the local computer store is closed and I can't find one of the many DVI cables that I have! :(
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
3770k
Graphics
660 TI
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
1,072
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK Rev 1.0 Bios F8
CPU
i7-4790k OC 4.9ghz
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
That does not sound right- I used the HD4000 on a VGA monitor while I was getting the same mobo in my new rig set up.
agrajag, you could very well be right - I don't use a VGA. However I read several posts that seemed to indicate that VGA output was not working. As Apple does not use a VGA output on any of the machines which use HD3000 or HD4000 I would imagine it would need some editing in order to get it to work.

I have just connected an old VGA monitor via my HD4000 and when the HDMI screen was connected as well I got a garbled display on the monitor connected with VGA. I tried booting with only the monitor connected via VGA and it worked in Bios and the Chimera boot screen however when it reached the Apple Boot Screen it froze on the spinning white wheel.

I unplugged the VGA and re-connected the HDMI and I instantly got my Apple login screen.

Edited to add - agrajag, maybe you also used Graphicsenabler=No which would allow you to boot but you would not have functionality e.g QE/CI. I just edited my org.chamelean.Boot.plist to Graphicsenabler=No and booted successfully in the same manner as the original poster however I do not have acceleration.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2010
Messages
72
Motherboard
P55M-UD2, 8GB
CPU
Intel I5
Graphics
GT640
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Seeing the following error message in install.log,

kextcache: //System/Library/Extensions/FakeSMC.kext is not authentic; omitting from prelinked kernel.


Does this have something todo with the new policy on installed software from 3rd parties that is added in ML?
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
1,072
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK Rev 1.0 Bios F8
CPU
i7-4790k OC 4.9ghz
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Seeing the following error message in install.log,

kextcache: //System/Library/Extensions/FakeSMC.kext is not authentic; omitting from prelinked kernel.


Does this have something todo with the new policy on installed software from 3rd parties that is added in ML?
peterb, as this does not appear to have anything to do with the current thread can you please post in Mountain Lion Desktop Support

maybe one of the mods will move the post for you :D
 

fwp

Joined
May 18, 2012
Messages
60
Motherboard
Z77X-UD5H
CPU
3770
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
agrajag, you could very well be right - I don't use a VGA. However I read several posts that seemed to indicate that VGA output was not working. As Apple does not use a VGA output on any of the machines which use HD3000 or HD4000 I would imagine it would need some editing in order to get it to work.

I have just connected an old VGA monitor via my HD4000 and when the HDMI screen was connected as well I got a garbled display on the monitor connected with VGA. I tried booting with only the monitor connected via VGA and it worked in Bios and the Chimera boot screen however when it reached the Apple Boot Screen it froze on the spinning white wheel.

I unplugged the VGA and re-connected the HDMI and I instantly got my Apple login screen.

Edited to add - agrajag, maybe you also used Graphicsenabler=No which would allow you to boot but you would not have functionality e.g QE/CI. I just edited my org.chamelean.Boot.plist to Graphicsenabler=No and booted successfully in the same manner as the original poster however I do not have acceleration.
If I set "GraphicsEnabler=no" the machine boots and for the most part works. There are a number of things that annoying don't like the screen saver, most flash, the dvd player, etc. My monitor supports DVI and I'll be getting a dvi cable to try today.
 

fwp

Joined
May 18, 2012
Messages
60
Motherboard
Z77X-UD5H
CPU
3770
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I got a DVI cable on the way home from work today and after setting "GraphicsEnabler=Yes" I swapped the vga cable with the dvi cable and it worked flawlessly!! The boot time went from about a minute of a spinning wheel on the boot screen to under 10 seconds. The graphics and sound works and I can watch flash and dvds!!

Can't believe the choice of video cable caused all that trouble!!

Thanks to everyone for all your help and suggestions.
 
Top