Contribute
Register

multi-track interface for drummer, firewire? usb?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte H55M-USB3 Rev 2.0 Bios F10
CPU
i7-860
Graphics
PNY 9800 GT
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Going to be doing a build soon to record music with. I'm a drummer and use between 8-16 mics on my setup.

I'm interested in some sound boards / mixers and don't know what to get. Since I'd like to do most mixing in the software, its not super important to have tons of control knobs on a mixer, is it? I just want something that will pipe 8-16 tracks into my mac at the same time, and have Garageband record each track separately to play with later.

Don't know if I should make sure to get a motherboard that has firewire? Or do many mixing boards find that usb is sufficient? I suppose I could always get an aftermarket 1394 card if I thought I needed it...

What do you guys think? Comments / thoughts are appreciated!

I'm in the same boat actually. I've been using an old m-audio delta 1010 which has 8 inputs. Just enough for me. I've had to use this driver http://www.audio-evolution.com/drivers/ as the m-audio one won't work. However there is zero latency and it's working like a dream. Only issue. No midi.
Not sure whether you can chain them either.
Hope that helped.

While I'm just a closet musician using GarageBand for my guitar recordings, I chose the Presonus FireBox for my needs because it had a Firewire interface. Everything I read on musical interfaces for the Macs said that USB can/will cause latency problems. The USB devices are cheaper, but I didn't want to spend time debugging the interface.

I've also read good reviews for Alesis Firewire products.

BTW, here is great site - Bullets and Bones - for musicians starting the computer recording experienced using Macs.