Contribute
Register

multi monitor GTX 980 Yosemite 10.10.5 advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
motherboard OR system make & model # > See Rules!
CPU
i7 > need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
GTX 960
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi Guys,

I'am writing to you to ask you some advice about my fresh setup. I build it especially to do projection mapping application and 3D application generate and projected in live through beamers. Thus I need lots of video output.

My problem :

I can't have multi monitor. The first display port works but not the orther output. I have only output who works. any motherboard graphic output don't works too. (CPU graphics on or off in bios)


Currently here the setup
Mobo : asus Z97-A
CPU: 4790K
ram : 32GB - 2400mHZ
GPU : GTX 980
SSD : 512GB 850 pro samsung
OS : Yosemite 10.10.5 + win 8.1

I install 10.10 with unibeast + multibeast

Code:
MultiBeast Configuration - 2015-08-24 09:23:13
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Quick Start > DSDT Free
Drivers > Audio > Realtek ALCxxx > ALC892
Drivers > Audio > Realtek ALCxxx > Optional HDAEnabler > Audio ID: 1
Drivers > Disk > 3rd Party SATA
Drivers > Disk > TRIM Enabler > 10.10.3 TRIM Patch
Drivers > Misc > EvOreboot
Drivers > Misc > FakeSMC v6.16.1372
Drivers > Misc > FakeSMC Plugins v6.16.1372
Drivers > Misc > FakeSMC HWMonitor Application v6.16.1372
Drivers > Misc > USB 3.0 - Universal
Drivers > Network > Intel > AppleIntelE1000e v3.1.0a
Drivers > System > AppleRTC Patch for CMOS Reset
Bootloaders > Chimera v4.1.0
Customize > Boot Options > 1080p Display Mode
Customize > Boot Options > Basic Boot Options
Customize > Boot Options > Generate CPU States
Customize > Boot Options > GraphicsEnabler=Yes
Customize > Boot Options > Hibernate Mode - Desktop
Customize > Boot Options > Kext Dev Mode
Customize > Boot Options > Use KernelCache
Customize > System Definitions > Mac Pro > Mac Pro 3,1
Customize > Themes > tonymacx86 Black

Boot flag :
graphicsEnable=Yes , nv_desable=1

I install nvidia webdriver following this website:
thus I installed 346.02.03f01 version.

All the other fonctionnalities seems to work fine (network, sound, wifi, SSD...) at the first time just after the first boot.
I followed:
- Installation guide from tonymac
- This thread related a success link to the Z97-A

I just leave to have multimonitor to finish the config and I will create a new post to relate my experience with this setup.

Have any ideas that can I do/change ?
Do I need to reinstall with clover ?
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Your boot flags are wrong. Maxwell GPUs are GraphicsEnabler=No.

Your use flags should be: kext-dev-mode=1 nvda_drv=1 GraphicsEnabler=No
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
motherboard OR system make & model # > See Rules!
CPU
i7 > need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
GTX 960
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I read this post related the fact to have a GPU 9xx series have to be set on GraphicsEnable=Yes.

For the other flags it's already set as you said.
here is the plist

Code:
<dict>    <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>GenerateCStates</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>GeneratePStates</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Graphics Mode</key>
    <string>"1920x1080x32"</string>
    <key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>HDAEnabler</key>
    <string>No</string>
    <key>HDEFLayoutID</key>
    <string>01000000</string>
    <key>IGPEnabler</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Kernel Flags</key>
    <string>kext-dev-mode=1 nvda_drv=1</string>
    <key>Legacy Logo</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Timeout</key>
    <string>2</string>
    <key>UseKernelCache</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
</dict>


EDIT:
It works !!

Just set GraphicsEnable=No
I will do some stress tests to see how it manage the stuff.

other questions:
Do you think I can have al least 1 extra video output from the mobo ?


Thanks
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I read this post related the fact to have a GPU 9xx series have to be set on GraphicsEnable=Yes.

That post says GeForce 9xxx which is referring to the old 9000 series cards that would have been named something like 9800GT.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
motherboard OR system make & model # > See Rules!
CPU
i7 > need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
GTX 960
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
oh **** ^^

So now it seems to work. I will see news following week about the system stability.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top