MSI Z77A-GD55 | GTX 980 4GB | Yosemite | Fully Working

Discussion in 'Yosemite Desktop Guides' started by ERSCreeper, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 18, 2014 at 12:59 PM #1
    ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    MSI Z77A-GD55 Bios Ver 11.1
    i5-3570K
    Geforce GTX 980 4GB
    240GB Crucial M500 SSD

    Bios setting for install:
    Optimised defaults
    Enabler IGD as primary

    1. Create standard Unibeast drive
    2. Boot to USB (Boot Flags Needed: nv_disable=1)
    3. Wipe Drive that will have the OS on it.
    4. Install OSX
    5. Reboot in to Mac OSX (Boot Flag Needed: nv_disable=1)
    6. Run Multibeast with these settings: (Download below)
    7. f63b23ea1d.png
    8. Install Nvidia Web Drivers: http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...1f01-maxwell-geforce-gtx-970-980-support.html
    9. Add nvda_drv=1 to Kernel Flags
    10. Reboot with the Install Flash Drive to Fix Boot0 Error (Boot flags: Use nv_disable=1): http://www.tonymacx86.com/25-boot0-error-official-guide.html
    11. Reboot to bios
    12. Change IGD back to defaults
    13. Reboot without Unibeast Drive and boot to OS X install (If you want to test that all is working use -v for your first boot)
    14. Done
    15. ac6b18271b.png



    Audio (ALC 892- May need to select output device in sound settings)
    Networking (Getting full speed)
    Display Drivers (Only DVI output, GTX 980 issues ATM) [Note: I'm using Integrated Graphics to run my secondary screen over HDMI to DVI and that is working in 10.10]
    USB 3.0 (Working)
    Bluetooth (CSR-BT4.0 Generic Dongle - Working, Testing with iPod 4th gens and Huawei Ascend P6)
    769c82f341.png

    Only thing that does not work right now is iMessage.

    107499d1413626116-yosemite-official-nvidia-343-01-01f01-available-653c2ebe70.png
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Adamu

    Adamu

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Motherboard:
    GA Z68XP-UD3P
    CPU:
    Intel i5-2500K @ 4.7GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 980 SC
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 26, 2014 at 5:14 PM #2
    Adamu

    Adamu

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Motherboard:
    GA Z68XP-UD3P
    CPU:
    Intel i5-2500K @ 4.7GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 980 SC
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    You mean only D-ports work, not DVI?
    I have EVGA gtx 980 and my HDMI and DVI ports DO NOT work. I don't have a DP cable to test the 4 ports that are left, so im stuck with the black screen.
     
  3. ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 28, 2014 at 9:00 PM #3
    ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    No, DVI works. HDMI doesn't. Haven't got the cables to test DP.
     
  4. bomerr

    bomerr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Oct 29, 2014 at 9:51 PM #4
    bomerr

    bomerr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Switch to Clover, iMessage is working perfectly fine once its setup.

    Glad to see its not just me who cant get HDMI on his gtx 980.
     
  5. ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 30, 2014 at 9:26 AM #5
    ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I don't really care for iMassage since I have no friends who use it. We just use Whatsapp or Telegram so that's the fix for me :p Also I don't like the why clover works since I would need to learn the new method!:beachball:
     
  6. Petko166

    Petko166

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    ASUS Maximus X Hero
    CPU:
    core i7-8700k @4.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    ASUS GTX 1080TI OC
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 31, 2014 at 12:29 PM #6
    Petko166

    Petko166

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Motherboard:
    ASUS Maximus X Hero
    CPU:
    core i7-8700k @4.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    ASUS GTX 1080TI OC
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dear bomerr,

    I've experience with Chimera / chameleon.

    After the configuration of Clover the relevant boot flags are similar under Clover as Chameleon?

    Nv_diable , DSDT = null, -x , -v .... ?


    imessage : I saw imessage tweaks in Clover configurator. That's enough and done, or there are any further nvram or other tweak to be done with imessage?


    THX.

     
  7. SignedAdam

    SignedAdam

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Premium + Yosemite
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Nov 24, 2014 at 12:51 AM #7
    SignedAdam

    SignedAdam

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Premium + Yosemite
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    I know you said, you don't care about iMessage. but im going to give you the iSolution anyways :D

    Delete all Ethernet connections from the networking list, then go to "/library/preferences/systemconfiguration/" and delete "networkinterfaces.plist" reboot, add the one ethernet your using, back, you will now be able to use iMessage and the App Store
     
  8. ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 27, 2014 at 8:33 PM #8
    ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Since your method is a simple one it will be worth trying. I will try it when I get around to using OS X on my main system since I have a secondary rig for OS X now. :D
     
  9. jelmet

    jelmet

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Motherboard:
    GA-P67A-D3-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    GeForce 8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 14, 2015 at 7:14 PM #9
    jelmet

    jelmet

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Motherboard:
    GA-P67A-D3-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    GeForce 8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi guys!

    I would like to know if you had any luck with your HDMI outs?

    Thanks
     
  10. JOPONAB

    JOPONAB

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 28, 2015 at 12:25 AM #10
    JOPONAB

    JOPONAB

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I would love to know this as well since I'm considering a 980 vs a Titan X (or waiting for the 980 updates) right now!

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice