MSI Z77A-GD55 | GTX 980 4GB | Yosemite | Fully Working

Discussion in 'Yosemite Desktop Guides' started by ERSCreeper, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 18, 2014 at 12:59 PM #1
    ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    MSI Z77A-GD55 Bios Ver 11.1
    i5-3570K
    Geforce GTX 980 4GB
    240GB Crucial M500 SSD

    Bios setting for install:
    Optimised defaults
    Enabler IGD as primary

    1. Create standard Unibeast drive
    2. Boot to USB (Boot Flags Needed: nv_disable=1)
    3. Wipe Drive that will have the OS on it.
    4. Install OSX
    5. Reboot in to Mac OSX (Boot Flag Needed: nv_disable=1)
    6. Run Multibeast with these settings: (Download below)
    7. f63b23ea1d.png
    8. Install Nvidia Web Drivers: http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...1f01-maxwell-geforce-gtx-970-980-support.html
    9. Add nvda_drv=1 to Kernel Flags
    10. Reboot with the Install Flash Drive to Fix Boot0 Error (Boot flags: Use nv_disable=1): http://www.tonymacx86.com/25-boot0-error-official-guide.html
    11. Reboot to bios
    12. Change IGD back to defaults
    13. Reboot without Unibeast Drive and boot to OS X install (If you want to test that all is working use -v for your first boot)
    14. Done
    15. ac6b18271b.png



    Audio (ALC 892- May need to select output device in sound settings)
    Networking (Getting full speed)
    Display Drivers (Only DVI output, GTX 980 issues ATM) [Note: I'm using Integrated Graphics to run my secondary screen over HDMI to DVI and that is working in 10.10]
    USB 3.0 (Working)
    Bluetooth (CSR-BT4.0 Generic Dongle - Working, Testing with iPod 4th gens and Huawei Ascend P6)
    769c82f341.png

    Only thing that does not work right now is iMessage.

    107499d1413626116-yosemite-official-nvidia-343-01-01f01-available-653c2ebe70.png
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Adamu

    Adamu

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    GA Z68XP-UD3P
    CPU:
    Intel i5-2500K @ 4.7GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 980 SC
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 26, 2014 at 5:14 PM #2
    Adamu

    Adamu

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    GA Z68XP-UD3P
    CPU:
    Intel i5-2500K @ 4.7GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 980 SC
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    You mean only D-ports work, not DVI?
    I have EVGA gtx 980 and my HDMI and DVI ports DO NOT work. I don't have a DP cable to test the 4 ports that are left, so im stuck with the black screen.
     
  3. ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 28, 2014 at 9:00 PM #3
    ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    No, DVI works. HDMI doesn't. Haven't got the cables to test DP.
     
  4. bomerr

    bomerr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Oct 29, 2014 at 9:51 PM #4
    bomerr

    bomerr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Switch to Clover, iMessage is working perfectly fine once its setup.

    Glad to see its not just me who cant get HDMI on his gtx 980.
     
  5. ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 30, 2014 at 9:26 AM #5
    ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I don't really care for iMassage since I have no friends who use it. We just use Whatsapp or Telegram so that's the fix for me :p Also I don't like the why clover works since I would need to learn the new method!:beachball:
     
  6. Petko166

    Petko166

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    ASUS Maximus X Hero
    CPU:
    core i7-8700k @4.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    ASUS GTX 1080TI OC
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 31, 2014 at 12:29 PM #6
    Petko166

    Petko166

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    ASUS Maximus X Hero
    CPU:
    core i7-8700k @4.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    ASUS GTX 1080TI OC
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dear bomerr,

    I've experience with Chimera / chameleon.

    After the configuration of Clover the relevant boot flags are similar under Clover as Chameleon?

    Nv_diable , DSDT = null, -x , -v .... ?


    imessage : I saw imessage tweaks in Clover configurator. That's enough and done, or there are any further nvram or other tweak to be done with imessage?


    THX.

     
  7. SignedAdam

    SignedAdam

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V Premium + Yosemite
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Nov 24, 2014 at 12:51 AM #7
    SignedAdam

    SignedAdam

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V Premium + Yosemite
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    I know you said, you don't care about iMessage. but im going to give you the iSolution anyways :D

    Delete all Ethernet connections from the networking list, then go to "/library/preferences/systemconfiguration/" and delete "networkinterfaces.plist" reboot, add the one ethernet your using, back, you will now be able to use iMessage and the App Store
     
  8. ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 27, 2014 at 8:33 PM #8
    ERSCreeper

    ERSCreeper

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77A-GD55
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Since your method is a simple one it will be worth trying. I will try it when I get around to using OS X on my main system since I have a secondary rig for OS X now. :D
     
  9. jelmet

    jelmet

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Mobo:
    GA-P67A-D3-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    GeForce 8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 14, 2015 at 7:14 PM #9
    jelmet

    jelmet

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Mobo:
    GA-P67A-D3-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    GeForce 8400GS
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi guys!

    I would like to know if you had any luck with your HDMI outs?

    Thanks
     
  10. JOPONAB

    JOPONAB

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 28, 2015 at 12:25 AM #10
    JOPONAB

    JOPONAB

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I would love to know this as well since I'm considering a 980 vs a Titan X (or waiting for the 980 updates) right now!

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page