Contribute
Register

MSI PRO Z690 A DDR4 + i7-12700K + AMD RX 580

aol

Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
502
Motherboard
MSI PRO Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Spent a few minutes today and updated my EFI to OpenCore 0.8.6. However, in the first few minutes of using it, I have to say it seems to have issues.

1. On Ventura, after getting a login prompt and typing in my password, it goes to a blank Desktop and just hangs with a mouse cursor. I had to force restart.

2. On Monterey, I'm seeing those old WindowServer crashes right away. My 0.8.5 is really pretty stable, even sleeps well. (I do not have wake from sleep in BIOS, I hit the power button on the case when I want to wake up, anything else returns the system to very flaky sleep behavior.)
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,949
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Spent a few minutes today and updated my EFI to OpenCore 0.8.6. However, in the first few minutes of using it, I have to say it seems to have issues.

1. On Ventura, after getting a login prompt and typing in my password, it goes to a blank Desktop and just hangs with a mouse cursor. I had to force restart.

2. On Monterey, I'm seeing those old WindowServer crashes right away. My 0.8.5 is really pretty stable, even sleeps well. (I do not have wake from sleep in BIOS, I hit the power button on the case when I want to wake up, anything else returns the system to very flaky sleep behavior.)

I'll be attempting updating today and see whats up.

As for sleep, do you have any special settings going on? I believe thats where I landed before moving on for awhile.
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,949
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I cant remember who mentioned it but changing SecureBootModel to J160 will allow you to update from System Prefs as opposed to the app store. I'm not sure if this will hinder a clean install however. Just an FYI.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
93
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Spent a few minutes today and updated my EFI to OpenCore 0.8.6. However, in the first few minutes of using it, I have to say it seems to have issues.

1. On Ventura, after getting a login prompt and typing in my password, it goes to a blank Desktop and just hangs with a mouse cursor. I had to force restart.
My Ventura is working on 0.8.6 fine, no issues.
Sometime ago I got the same issue with hang... Try to clear NVRAM, maybe it helps.
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,949
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Spent a few minutes today and updated my EFI to OpenCore 0.8.6. However, in the first few minutes of using it, I have to say it seems to have issues.

1. On Ventura, after getting a login prompt and typing in my password, it goes to a blank Desktop and just hangs with a mouse cursor. I had to force restart.

2. On Monterey, I'm seeing those old WindowServer crashes right away. My 0.8.5 is really pretty stable, even sleeps well. (I do not have wake from sleep in BIOS, I hit the power button on the case when I want to wake up, anything else returns the system to very flaky sleep behavior.)

OC 0.8.6 going well over here. Feel free to compare against my EFI. However, I'm uncertain of the things needed for your GPU.
 

Attachments

  • EFI 086.zip
    9.4 MB · Views: 50
Joined
Dec 30, 2021
Messages
128
Motherboard
MSI MEG Z690I UNIFY
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6650 XT
You can use your Thunderbolt card in one of two ways:
  1. Flashed with a full Thunderbolt bus like a real Mac, or
  2. ICM mode with a partial bus (works with most devices but not all).
It's really up to you. If you're capable of flashing and have the patience, that's definitely the way.
I've got all the settings correct for thunderbolt to work, its all there and sohwing up in IOReg as hot pluggable. But, when I turn on ''Discrete Thunderbolt Support'' which this allows the Thunderbolt to work in Windows, macOS won't even begin to post. Am I missing something? My Maple Ridge Thunderbolt adapter is showing up as working and a known Thunderbolt device that works with my M1 Max as 40Gbps just isnt showing up in macOS. :(

Thank you. :)
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
1,059
Motherboard
Gigabyte C246-WU4
CPU
E-2278G
Graphics
WX7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
@NorthAmTransAm 's post was referring to a Titan Ridge card (TB3). These cards work with macOS. There is no support for Maple Ridge, and this new controller is fiddly. At best, you may hope that devices plugged before boot will show up but no hot plug.

The best advice is to get a Gigabyte Titan Ridge card for your hack.
 
Last edited:

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,949
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've got all the settings correct for thunderbolt to work, its all there and sohwing up in IOReg as hot pluggable. But, when I turn on ''Discrete Thunderbolt Support'' which this allows the Thunderbolt to work in Windows, macOS won't even begin to post. Am I missing something? My Maple Ridge Thunderbolt adapter is showing up as working and a known Thunderbolt device that works with my M1 Max as 40Gbps just isnt showing up in macOS.

Thank you.:)
@etorix is right.

Welcome to the wonderful world of Thunderbolt! Even with a Flashed GC-Titan, you negate Windows use. Unless maybe you can boot to macOS, then restart to Windows? I feel like I read that somewhere--don't quote me.

Best advice is right, grab a GC-Titan Flashed.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2021
Messages
128
Motherboard
MSI MEG Z690I UNIFY
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6650 XT


Right! Thank you for the reply mate! Top one! My Thunderbolt is onboard, but I can't post with it turned on. What are the BIOS settings and that, I'm trying a Ventura installer fresh cause I feel like my DTST is causing it, not to pot because of BIOS changes. I'm not in the slightest interested in Thunderbolt for Windows.

Its for DAW work just like yourself. :):)

Cheers mate.
 
Top