Contribute
Register

MSI PRO Z690 A DDR4 + i7-12700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 15, 2022
Messages
21
Motherboard
MSI Z690 WIFI Pro-A DDR5
CPU
i7 12700K
Graphics
RX 6600
Hello there, have i a chance to use my WLAN and BT? "Airdrop" or i need to bu a pcie card? Thank u!
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
27,631
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all,

I'm trying to boot a MSI Z690-A PRO WiFi DDR4 but regardless of the EFI I always get a grey screen with a working mouse pointer trying to boot Big Sur installer.
I had the same thing a month ago trying a B660 motherboard...

Both cases, different EFIS, same result: grey screen after the installer boots and moves beyond the verbose section.
Basically I am at the installer but the language selection doesn't load.

Can anyone help?
Is it a Bios issue?
Thanks a lot...
I have moved your posts to this thread
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
793
Motherboard
Huawei Matebook D
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Attachments

  • IMG_0287.jpeg
    IMG_0287.jpeg
    3 MB · Views: 31
Joined
Apr 15, 2022
Messages
21
Motherboard
MSI Z690 WIFI Pro-A DDR5
CPU
i7 12700K
Graphics
RX 6600
Hi @NorthAmTransAm

Thanks for your reply.
I tried your 0.8.0 EFI. In this case the boot got stuck at, see the image attached.
So no grey screen.

I have no Thunderbolt in this build, so I disabled the SSDT.
Thanks for your help.

Hey ho, you need to use your own SSDTs
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,738
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @NorthAmTransAm

Thanks for your reply.
I tried your 0.8.0 EFI. In this case the boot got stuck at, see the image attached.
So no grey screen.

I have no Thunderbolt in this build, so I disabled the SSDT.
Thanks for your help.

Fully disable Thunderbolt in BIOS as well. Have you added your own serial number to it? Are you using the 3.0 (blue port) for your installer? Also disable the GPE.TINI patch.

Also lets go ahead an update the info in your bio to z690, 12700k, etc... Want to make sure everyone can help.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2022
Messages
21
Motherboard
MSI Z690 WIFI Pro-A DDR5
CPU
i7 12700K
Graphics
RX 6600
Hello there, have i a chance to use my WLAN and BT? "Airdrop" or i need to bu a pcie card? Thank u!

And how i can try to get VLAN function? i cant create VLANS on my Network Settings
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,738
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello there, have i a chance to use my WLAN and BT? "Airdrop" or i need to bu a pcie card? Thank u!

And how i can try to get VLAN function? i cant create VLANS on my Network Settings
For Airdrop and Handoff I suggest purchasing the Fenvi T919. It works natively with macOS and provides wifi and bluetooth.


I'm unfamiliar with VLANs let alone on macOS. Start here if you haven't already.

 
Joined
Apr 15, 2022
Messages
21
Motherboard
MSI Z690 WIFI Pro-A DDR5
CPU
i7 12700K
Graphics
RX 6600
For Airdrop and Handoff I suggest purchasing the Fenvi T919. It works natively with macOS and provides wifi and bluetooth.


I'm unfamiliar with VLANs let alone on macOS. Start here if you haven't already.


i know how to setup VLANS, but if i Press + he dont shoe me to click VLAN. isnt show this
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2022
Messages
34
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A Wireless
CPU
i9-12900k
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Hello, for an MSI PRO z690-A WIFI I used the latest EFI from NorthAmTransAm with o.c. 8.0 but I had to modify its SSDT-PLUG-ALT-12700K for another SSDT-PLUG-ALT in ACPI because with the 12700k and 12900k there are changes at the CPU level… I also changed the kext CPUFriend and CPUFriendDataProvider by an older version of an EFI from NorthAmTransAm because the last change made was not working with my CPU… I added AirportItlwm for WIFI support.
Make sure you apply all the bios settings as mentioned in post 1 of NorthAmTransAm and copy this EFI entirely without making any changes. I have already replaced the serials for you… This should work on the first try! Good luck! I forgot if you have installation problems try on another USB port!
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    23.9 MB · Views: 30
Last edited:
Top