GTX 870m / Intel HD4600 Mobile
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Good morning all,

I've been talking to Rehabman in a thread that originally was about a completely different subject than that we are talking about 7 pages later. So I decided to create a new thread to keep things clean.

I have an MSI GS70 laptop with an Intel Core i7 4710HQ in combination with 16GB of ram, ALC892 audio, GTX 870M 3GB and Intel Graphics HD 4600. I'm aware of the fact that Optimus simply isn't going to work so I have disabled the Nvidia card in my BIOS.

Currently I have a nicely working 10.10.3 Hackintosh but I would love to have a couple of things fixed:
  • My LVDS only shows what looks like 16-bit colors. As I am a graphic designer I need this issue fixed. The 9mb framebuffer patch doesn't change anything.
  • Connecting an HDMI screen works. Connecting a DisplayPort screen works. Connecting an HDMI monitor and a DisplayPort monitor at the same time freezes OSX for about 10 seconds before rebooting. I always work with 2 external monitors and my LVDS for work. (I have 1 HDMI port and 2 DisplayPorts)
  • My audio kind of works with Toleda's ALC892 driver. But hot-plugging doesn't work, only 1 of my 2 internal speakers work, sounds dull (bass seems low) and HDMI audio doesn't work. Similar results are achieved with several other patched AppleHDA's and VoodooHDA's.
  • Sleep doesn't work. Beast goes asleep fine, but never wakes up (locks up, can't even ping the machine after 'wake'. Black screen).

I have extracted and patched my DSDT and SSDT's with Rehabman's guide. I followed Rehabman's guide for power management which works fine. I have also implemented Rehabman's Backlight control fix which also works great.

I would love to see if we can fix these issues. I'm excited about having a powerful mobile hackintosh working, and if we can fix these 4 points I would be forever grateful.