Graphics
HD 630
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
SE
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have successfully installed High Sierra on my MSI GL72M-7RDX, but I've seemingly stalled out on making progress on a few of the issues. I have some previous experience with Hackintosh builds, but this is the first that's seemingly a bit of a stretch compatibility-wise. I found a thread with a successful Sierra build and found someone with a GL62M-7DRX build on Reddit and was able to cobble things together to get a bootable system off the USB, but haven't been able to get it to boot off the internal drive EFI partition yet and now boots off the internal EFI. I exported my DSDT and SSDT files, but at this point my understanding of patching isn't great. I've done some reading on the process and did create a SSDT to disable the NVidia GPU, but I'm now using RehabMan's config_HD615_620_630_640_650_spoof.plist from his Laptop repo, but I'm totally lost as to what SSDTs I need to patch to get sleep wake working. This is the big one, as the laptop is almost useless if it doesn't wake from sleep.

GL72M 7RDX Specs
  • Core i7 7700HQ
  • Intel HD 630
  • GeForce® GTX 1050 with 2GB GDDR5
  • Intel® HM175 chipset
  • Realtek ALC898
Outstanding Issues
  • Wake from sleep results in black screen
  • Screen brightness
  • Webcam not working Used Macam to get cam to work
  • Audio
  • Wifi not working, though I ordered a DW1820A wifi card off eBay to replace it.
  • I'd love to get the NVidia GTX 1050 working, but that's secondary at this point. One of the above linked builds mentioned getting that working, though I know if I wanted to use Mojave I'm currently SOL. That was part of the reason I chose to install High Sierra.
If anyone might have any experience with getting this series of MSI laptop working any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

Last edited:

RehabMan

Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS