Contribute
Register

MSI GE62 6QD Apache Pro (cpus=1)

Joined
Dec 3, 2017
Messages
12
Motherboard
MSI GE62 6QD Apache Pro - Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
GTX 960M + HD 530 (1980x1080)
Hi!

Starkka15 , did you get your GE62 fully working?

I installed Sierra 10.12.3 but still haven't configured all properly.

If you have everything working fine, could you upload your clover profile please?

Thank you very much!
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
135
Motherboard
MSI GE62 6QD
CPU
intel Core i7 6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi!

Starkka15 , did you get your GE62 fully working?

I installed Sierra 10.12.3 but still haven't configured all properly.

If you have everything working fine, could you upload your clover profile please?

Thank you very much!
Hello Maikelnay,
I've since moved on from Sierra and have moved to High Sierra. The issue with CPUS=7 (if having all threads on, can't boot without having any number less than 8, and cpus flag must be in the system). I'll make a tutorial for this GE62 6QD -004 version on what I did, and what I had to do, and the dsdt's involved. Unfortunately, there seems to be a bios stipulation that keeps us from running all 8 threads or 4 cores (with hyperthreading disabled). I'm going to continue doing different things to hopefully bypass that issue. We will see.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
ASRock z77 pro4
CPU
Intel i5 2500-k
Graphics
NVidia GTX 970
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello Maikelnay,
I've since moved on from Sierra and have moved to High Sierra. The issue with CPUS=7 (if having all threads on, can't boot without having any number less than 8, and cpus flag must be in the system). I'll make a tutorial for this GE62 6QD -004 version on what I did, and what I had to do, and the dsdt's involved. Unfortunately, there seems to be a bios stipulation that keeps us from running all 8 threads or 4 cores (with hyperthreading disabled). I'm going to continue doing different things to hopefully bypass that issue. We will see.
hey man I would love a tutorial on how you managed to fix it if you did, right now I can only boot with the cpus=7 flag on the same laptop, however I got my bios unlocked from Sven on the msi forums so if its a bios stipulation that caused it maybe I can be of some help tweaking settings. Do you have an idea of what in the bios might be causing it?
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
ASRock z77 pro4
CPU
Intel i5 2500-k
Graphics
NVidia GTX 970
Mobile Phone
iOS
Also how did you manage to get your 960m working? Isn't it not able to work due to Nvidia Optimus?
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
135
Motherboard
MSI GE62 6QD
CPU
intel Core i7 6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mobile Phone
Android
Also how did you manage to get your 960m working? Isn't it not able to work due to Nvidia Optimus?
Hey, Smizlee. You are absolutely correct! the 960M will not work, ever. But I just bypassed that using the SSDT - DiscreteSpoof.aml (I'll upload all my DSDT's for this laptop I use in a bit.) My Keyboard lights up as well (shout out to animerocks3333 over at insanelymac), so that is a pretty cool thing. To get audio to work, use AppleALC and patch it for Codec 898, use Audio ID 1.

Oh before I forget, that CPUS=7 issue is all fixed using the latest bios update from MSI.

Make sure that you have this Exact laptop and they match the specs in my Profile.

EDIT: I also have this Laptop dual booted on where Windows is on 1 TB, Mac is on 1 TB and I have 1 TB of space in between for them to share files back and forth, it's pretty sick what this thing can do. The Benchmarks are also comparable to other Macbooks of the time.

Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 10.06.33 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 10.07.20 AM.png
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Aug 27, 2017
Messages
14
Motherboard
MSI ge62 6qe motherboard: MS-16J5
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 965m/HD530
Hey, Smizlee. You are absolutely correct! the 960M will not work, ever. But I just bypassed that using the SSDT - DiscreteSpoof.aml (I'll upload all my DSDT's for this laptop I use in a bit.) My Keyboard lights up as well (shout out to animerocks3333 over at insanelymac), so that is a pretty cool thing. To get audio to work, use AppleALC and patch it for Codec 898, use Audio ID 1.

Oh before I forget, that CPUS=7 issue is all fixed using the latest bios update from MSI.

Make sure that you have this Exact laptop and they match the specs in my Profile.

EDIT: I also have this Laptop dual booted on where Windows is on 1 TB, Mac is on 1 TB and I have 1 TB of space in between for them to share files back and forth, it's pretty sick what this thing can do. The Benchmarks are also comparable to other Macbooks of the time.

View attachment 315001 View attachment 315002

@Starkka15 thank you very much for your clover, my laptop is a msi ge62 6qe, I install sierra in this. With this, I have working battery status, but I have the same intel card graphic, but it's not work! wi-fi not working, have you any solution for this, some idea because graphic not work? thank you very much.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
@Starkka15 thank you very much for your clover, my laptop is a msi ge62 6qe, I install sierra in this. With this, I have working battery status, but I have the same intel card graphic, but it's not work! wi-fi not working, have you any solution for this, some idea because graphic not work? thank you very much.
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
135
Motherboard
MSI GE62 6QD
CPU
intel Core i7 6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mobile Phone
Android
The above posted file is specifically for High Sierra, I would recommend upgrading to High Sierra and attempt to use it for then. Intel HD 530 config is different. I've since removed OSXto create more space for games on my laptop. When my 2 2TB drives come in, I'll be able to help you more.
@Starkka15 thank you very much for your clover, my laptop is a msi ge62 6qe, I install sierra in this. With this, I have working battery status, but I have the same intel card graphic, but it's not work! wi-fi not working, have you any solution for this, some idea because graphic not work? thank you very much.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
135
Motherboard
MSI GE62 6QD
CPU
intel Core i7 6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mobile Phone
Android
I would also recommend changing out your wireless card with an OSX compatible NGFF
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2017
Messages
14
Motherboard
MSI ge62 6qe motherboard: MS-16J5
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 965m/HD530
I would also recommend changing out your wireless card with an OSX compatible NGFF
Thank your reply, I try install High Sierra but it’s imposible for me.

if you could upload a clover for sierra in which the intel hd530 works, I would appreciate it very much

Do Nvidia gtx 965m work with nvidia web driver?
 
Last edited:
Top