Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
MSI Gaming M5 Z170A
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700k @ 4.00 GHz
Graphics
N/A
Hi, i'm new to this forum and this is actually my first post. I've enjoyed and learned a lot by reading on this website. It's a really rich source of information. I've done lots of research of what gear to buy. When i realized that skylake processors were finally compatible, i jumped right onto the skylake boat as i was targeting the 4790k instead of the 6700k. And now i also realize that it's not as easy as i thought it would be.

So, basically, i'm a total noob as far as Hackintosh goes.

The problem is the following :

I can reach the installation screen (now) (i had lots of trouble at the beginning), i can choose what language i want and even access Disk Utility. I've formatted my drive in HFS+ (MacOSX Extended Journaled) so that i can install MacOSX. The installation starts as normal and after about two minutes, the installation window is still there but only displaying a button to restart the computer (which didn't work for me). When this button appears, the progress bar is nowhere to be seen. And it does this even though it was displaying "13 minutes left" a few seconds before that. I've been trying lots of different stuff in the past few weeks and i've basically hit a wall. I was able to finally reach the installer just yesterday, only to find out about the installer crashing mid-way.

What i've tried since the beginning :

-I referred to the list of compatible components on tonymacx86 to decide what parts i wanted to buy. I bought an MSI because i had a really great deal on a gaming m5 z170A (Which was probably a mistake if i really wanted to build an hackintosh but, i realized that later on)