MSI 9 Series Motherboards - OS X Setup and Configuration

Discussion in 'BIOS/UEFI' started by tonymacx86, Oct 10, 2014.

  1. DanvZ

    DanvZ

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170A Gaming M7 (LGA 1151, Intel Z170, ATX)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K BOX (LGA 1151, 4GHz, Unlocked)
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked ACX 2.0 (GM204, 4GB)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Dec 29, 2017 at 10:55 AM #91
    DanvZ

    DanvZ

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170A Gaming M7 (LGA 1151, Intel Z170, ATX)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K BOX (LGA 1151, 4GHz, Unlocked)
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked ACX 2.0 (GM204, 4GB)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Hi there I have an MSI Z170A Gaming M7 and an EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked ACX 2.0 graphics card.

    When starting up I often get a prohibition sign twice in a row. At the third start everything goes smoothly.
    Is it possible to improve my configuration in the Bios?

    [x] Advanced \ Integrated Peripherals → Network Stack : [Disabled]
    [x] Advanced \Integrated Peripherals → Intel Serial IO : [Disabled]
    [x] Advanced \ USB Configuration → XHCI Hand-off : [Enabled]
    [x] Advanced \ USB Configuration → Legacy USB Support : [Auto]
    [x] Advanced \ Windows OS Configuration → MSI Fast Boot : [Disabled]
    [x] Advanced \ Windows OS Configuration → Fast Boot : [Disabled]
    [x] Advanced \ Windows OS Configuration → Secure Boot Mode : [Disabled]
    [x] Overclocking → Extreme Memory Profile(X.M.P) : [Enabled]
    [x] Overclocking \ CPU Features → Intel Virtualization Tech : [Enabled]
    [x] Overclocking \ CPU Features → Intel VT-D Tech : [Disabled]
    [x] Boot → Boot mode select : [LEGACY+UEFI]
    [x] Settings \ Full Screen Logo Display : [Disabled]
    [x] Overclocking \ CPU Features → Intel C-State : [Enabled]
    [x] Overclocking \ CPU Features → C1E Support : [Enabled]
    [x] Overclocking \ CPU Features → CFG-Lock : [Disabled]
     
  2. BreBo

    BreBo Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,108
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX 970
    Dec 29, 2017 at 5:00 PM #92
    BreBo

    BreBo Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,108
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX 970
    @DanvZ, please update your profile (personal details) with your Motherboard or Make/Model, CPU and Graphics Card.
     
  3. DanvZ

    DanvZ

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170A Gaming M7 (LGA 1151, Intel Z170, ATX)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K BOX (LGA 1151, 4GHz, Unlocked)
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked ACX 2.0 (GM204, 4GB)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Dec 30, 2017 at 10:49 AM #93
    DanvZ

    DanvZ

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170A Gaming M7 (LGA 1151, Intel Z170, ATX)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K BOX (LGA 1151, 4GHz, Unlocked)
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked ACX 2.0 (GM204, 4GB)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Sorry. It's done. - That with the profile. the question about bios configuration is still unanswered.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2017
  4. MotionC

    MotionC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    MSI Mortar Z270M
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 7700K 4.20 GHz Unlocked Quad Core Kaby Lake Desktop Processor, Socket LGA 1151
    Graphics:
    ASUS GEFORCE GTX 1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Jan 2, 2018 at 5:09 AM #94
    MotionC

    MotionC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    MSI Mortar Z270M
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 7700K 4.20 GHz Unlocked Quad Core Kaby Lake Desktop Processor, Socket LGA 1151
    Graphics:
    ASUS GEFORCE GTX 1060
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Well if anyone is following this thread, save yourself the grief and get a Gigabyte motherboard. I had one and it had defective pins on the processor socket, they were out of stock so they swapped it out for an MSI 270 Mortar and I have been fighting with it for weeks now to get it working. If I can't get it to work in the next week, I am buying a Gigabyte. I am following various routes described in several threads here but wanted to post this just in case since I was looking here for answers too.
     

Share This Page