Contribute
Register

Mouse lag then computer completely freezes. Tried multiple solutions, none worked

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
GeForce GTX 570 1280MB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey everyone,

I'm new to having a Hackintosh, this is my first. A friend offered to build one for me as I needed a Video Editing Machine but couldn't afford a Mac Pro. So far I've loved it but have been having an issue with it randomly freezing and crashing. Some days I'll get through the entire day with no problems, then the next day (which is what happened today) I can't do anything. I've had 6+ crashes today. Here's my build...

Mac OSX 10.7.5 - Boot/Applications on 256GB Crucial M4 SSD Drive - Firmware 0000f
3.39 Intel Core i7
16GB 1333 MHz DDR3
GeForce GTX 570 1280MB
Identifies as MacPro3,1

Don't know if this matters or not, but I use a VoyagerQ Toaster, plugged in through eSata for a lot of my editing drives. The drives I use are all 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm.

I'm not sure what else to put. It's crashed doing various things, but tends to crash the most when I'm using Premiere Pro CS6. I'm also worried that the crashes are affecting the hard drives I'm working on (2TB Seagate Barracuda Drives) as when I try to work on them in Windows through MacDrive, I'm told they're corrupted or unreadable. OS X can read them fine though. Still, it makes me nervous.

+While writing this, my system froze. Figures...

Anyways, here are the things we've checked.

+ I've checked my heat/fans. All the fans are working fine and the temps stay around 30/40*c. Every now and then it spikes up but never higher than 65*c.

+ Thought it was the SSD, so I made an OSX Boot on a Seagate Barracuda 1TB drive...still froze.

+ Ran Stress Tests - Passed fine.

+ Read that someone had an issue with their mouse, can't recall exactly what happened but they said switching to a wireless helped. I did that. Still freezes.