Contribute
Register

MountEFI v1.1.7 (menu bar utility)

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
1,611
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i3-8350K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi all,

Well I tried 1.1.3 and it's working now :thumbup: but the green EFI label isn't showing for me either:

393003


However, clearly it's getting there.

I just ran Hackintool and it shows same as @jaymonkey - no 'efi-boot-device' variable in NVRAM (I've just updated my post as I tried 2.0.3 and nothing showed at all. 2.0.9 works okay :thumbup:) .
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
713
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X v8-BK4K4P
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 / GTX 1070 Max-Q / 4K
Any chance you can copy and paste your Variable Value code for 'efi-boot-devce'
I'll replace your UUID with mine and see what happens ....
I wouldn't recommend it. Most likely would render your machine unbootable.

I did briefly look it up and apparently you can set the variable using the following command from Terminal:
sudo bless --setBoot --folder /

But I would still like to know if I could get this value some other way.
 
Last edited:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,330
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K O/C @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I wouldn't recommend it. Most likely would render your machine unbootable.

@headkaze,

I also looked into the issue in a bit more detail and i think your right, whilst the settings for 'efi-boot-devce' is fairly straight forward, there is also another NVRAM variable called 'efi-boot-data' which is not so simple to interpret.

I did briefly look it up and apparently you can set the variable using the following command from Terminal:
Code:
sudo bless --setBoot --folder /
But I would still like to know if I could get this value some other way.

I too found out about the 'bless' command but it seems that Apple dropped this method when Apple introduced SIP ... however as i have SIP disabled I tried it to see if it would do anything but the NVRAM variables it inserted where not correct/truncated/corrupted so i deleted them.

It seems the 'bless' command has been replaced with the terminal command "systemsetup -setstartupdisk" ...
Some info on 'bless' and its replacement here :-


Unfortunately this command seems to need not just a disk id but a path to a specific Apple boot efi file so again its not so straight forward :banghead: .. I'll continue to look into it and let you know if i get anywhere.

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
713
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X v8-BK4K4P
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 / GTX 1070 Max-Q / 4K
I also looked into the issue in a bit more detail and i think your right, whilst the settings for 'efi-boot-devce' is fairly straight forward, there is also another NVRAM variable called 'efi-boot-data' which is not so simple to interpret.
Setting the efi-boot-device value to the boot disk is quite simple and I could even add it to Hackintool but as you mentioned efi-boot-data seems to be binary data and not so easy to set.

I'm wondering if setting System Preferences->Startup Disk sets these values?
 

Attachments

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,330
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K O/C @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Setting the efi-boot-device value to the boot disk is quite simple and I could even add it to Hackintool but as you mentioned efi-boot-data seems to be binary data and not so easy to set.

I'm wondering if setting System Preferences->Startup Disk sets these values?

@headkaze,

I tried ... System Preferences->Startup Disk but it does not seem to set the NVRAM values like 'Bless' used to and 'systemsetup -setstartupdisk' does ... also it does not list my clover/EFI boot partition as an option.

I guess you could add an option to MountEFI's context menu .. "Mark as boot EFI" and write your own variable and value to NVRAM .. If it exists in NVRAM it would over ride your current code/logic to highlight the boot EFI .. just a thought.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
May 11, 2013
Messages
106
Motherboard
ASUS Q405UA
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
@headkaze, is the source code to your tools like this and hackintool available somewhere?
 
Top