Motherboard
Gigabyte H370 HD3
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
Integrated Graphics Processor-Intel® HD Graphics support
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I am a music producer, engineer and performer. After the video on my Win 7 laptop failed, I decided to go to a desktop build so that if something goes I can replace something rather than get a new laptop. Furthermore, I wanted a dual boot system with Windows and macOS because I want to try Logic Pro but still use my Sonar while I'm learning.

So, I find this wonderful website and start making plans. In June 2018 I put together a system with a GIGABYTE H370 HD3, Intel Core i7-8700, 32 gig RAM (no video card, just using onboard hdmi) and other items from the budget ATX buyer's guide. I rebuild my Windows setup and everything works fine, and I finish my CD. So in January 2019 I decide to install the Mac portion of this project.

I should mention just before the laptop died I bought a Mackie 1640i firewire mixing board. After some investigating I find out that the last usable Mac drivers for this board works with Mountain Lion and no later. So I download Mountain Lion and go through the process detailed on this website for 10.8 installation. Although the screens on the guide looked different, I managed to create a Mountain Lion usb installer with UniBeast.

I install another Samsung 250g SSD, disconnect the other drives, plugin the USB installer and boot her up. I get a cute picture of a mountain lion and when I press enter, I get a white screen with an Apple logo and that's it.

So far I have tried boot flags -v -x PCIRootUID=0 and npci=0x2000 . Nothing has worked yet. Do I need an Internet connection like you do in Windows? I only have a wifi adapter, no cables to my basement. Is it OK to use my wifi mouse and keyboard? I am going to remove the firewire card and try again. Are there any more command line flags I can try? Any other tips?

I am thinking what if my 2018 build does not work with Mountain Lion? Is that possible?