Contribute
Register

Mountain Lion 6XXX GPU Issues - FIX INSIDE!

Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
149
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
CPU
i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz
Graphics
2x Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Since many of you have issues getting your AMD Radeon HD 6000 series card to work in Mountain Lion (when it worked great in Lion), I decided to make this guide.

Credits: Haysphere

Part 1: Setting up the UniBeast Drive
1. Insert your UniBeast Flash Drive into a working Mac. Maybe your MacBook Pro, working Lion installation, etc.
2. Run this command in terminal to unhide files "defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles 1" (copy and paste that into terminal and hit enter)
3. Force Finder to quit. You can do this in activity monitor. It will automatically restart.
4. Open Finder and navigate to your UniBeast Drive
5. Navigate to System/Library/Extensions
6. MAKE A BACKUP OF the kext "ATI6000Controller.kext" and then DELETE it.

Part 2: Booting from your UniBeast Drive
1. Boot from your UniBeast drive like you usually would. Use the command "GraphicsEnabler=No" in order to boot into Mountain Lion Installer
2. Install Mountain Lion as you usually would
3. After installation, bootup Mountain Lion by booting into your flash drive and then booting into ML, using the command "GraphicsEnabler=No"
4. Copy the ATI6000Controller.kext kext to your new desktop
5. Run KextBeast (Download: http://www.tonymacx86.com/downloads.php?do=cat&id=3)
6. Reboot

Now your graphics should work. I have two monitors (Apple Cinema Display and another 25" 1080p monitor) running with full graphics acceleration Very fast and no lag!

For those wondering, I fixed my machine in my sig by replacing the parts with the exact same things. Not everything blew. I now run a surge protector on my phone line and computer.

You're welcome!
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
191
Motherboard
GA Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
Radeon 6870
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I worked this out earlier and it aloud me to boot, but i only have one resolution. Does anyone know how to fix that?
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
149
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
CPU
i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz
Graphics
2x Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
I worked this out earlier and it aloud me to boot, but i only have one resolution. Does anyone know how to fix that?
Follow part 2. Restore the kext using KextBeast and then fix permissions. Reboot and you should be up and going.

After doing that, and rebooting, I had native resolutions on both my displays and full graphics acceleration support.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2010
Messages
44
Motherboard
GA-Z68XP-UD3 MB
CPU
Intel Core i7-2600K
Graphics
GIGABYTE ATI Radeon HD6870 1GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks so much guys! I followed these instructions and am now writing this from my ML install with dual monitors working (and I think the screen looks sharper and better than in Lion)!
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6500K
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Works Like a Charm

Many thanks! Followed the post verbatim and it worked perfect ... now on 10.8!!
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2012
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MX-UD2H-B3 v1.3 F13
CPU
Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz
Graphics
Saphire HD 6870
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Worked for me as well, thanks very much. Only problem I have because I use the Display Port if the org.chameleon.Boot.plist changes back to defaults after reboot Monitor does not sync, I have to login to computer remotely to restore the org.chameleon.Boot.plist file.
 

jpa

Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
1,163
Motherboard
10.8
CPU
i7 930
Graphics
6870
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
thanks for info
 
Top