Contribute
Register

Monterey install stuck after re-start x299

Joined
Oct 28, 2021
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 DESIGNARE EX
CPU
10940x
Graphics
W6800, Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

First time poster here.

I attempted to upgrade to 12.0.1 using software update from 11.6 Big Sur. The download worked fine, initial installation was fine (before restart). Then it asked me to re-boot to continue. At that point, a new partition appeared in the EFI boot screen called simply "Macintosh HD", and was selected by default. I don't have any drives by this name, so I let it proceed based on thinking it was a temporary partition created to aid in updating the OS. I could not get past the white Apple logo on black screen (see attached image). I turned off power, and this time booted from my regular Mac HD. This took me back into Big Sur, and at the same prompt before I restarted that initiates the install of Monterey. I tried a second attempt with the same outcome. I appreciate anyone who wants to jump in to help troubleshoot.

Gigabyte X299 DESIGNARE EX LGA 2066 ATX
Intel 10940x 14-core
Open Core 0.7.4
Radeon VII
LG Ultrafine 5k via thunderbolt on mobo
NVMe boot drive

I created a backup before starting all of this, so no issues if I have to roll back, though there are Monterey features I'd like to take advantage of.

Thank you in advance.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0730.jpeg
    IMG_0730.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 30
Joined
Oct 28, 2021
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 DESIGNARE EX
CPU
10940x
Graphics
W6800, Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I resolved my issue by using the CpuTscSync kext instead of TSCAdjustReset.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2020
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Designare EX Bios=F7e
CPU
Intel i9-10940X 14-Core
Graphics
RX 6900XT Reference
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
We have almost the exact same setup, glad you are doing ok, I'm worried my Samsung NVMe would spaz out like others with the long trim time... Cheers!
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 9
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
Vega Frontier
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I resolved my issue by using the CpuTscSync kext instead of TSCAdjustReset.
Hello @ThetaK7 would you be kind enough to share the EFIs (for BigSur and for Monterey please) you have used?
I have a Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 9, i9-10980x3, Radeon Vega Frontier ... and after a thousand attempts I can't install (panic error ... etc). Thank you.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2021
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 DESIGNARE EX
CPU
10940x
Graphics
W6800, Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @maryhack2018 -

My EFI is attached. This is for Monterey, but I think could also work for Catalina. I use an LG UltraFine 5K display and a RAID array, both via Thunderbolt 3 (hence the mobo choice). I hope this works for you!
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    19.2 MB · Views: 39
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 9
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
Vega Frontier
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi @maryhack2018 -

My EFI is attached. This is for Monterey, but I think could also work for Catalina. I use an LG UltraFine 5K display and a RAID array, both via Thunderbolt 3 (hence the mobo choice). I hope this works for you!
Thank you @ThetaK7 , I test it and give feedback on how it went.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2020
Messages
124
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare EX X299
CPU
i9-9940X
Graphics
2x RX 6900XT, 1x RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @maryhack2018 -

My EFI is attached. This is for Monterey, but I think could also work for Catalina. I use an LG UltraFine 5K display and a RAID array, both via Thunderbolt 3 (hence the mobo choice). I hope this works for you!
Whoa, how did you get TB3 working?!
Does the TB3 connections ever crap out on you?
Mind sharing your BIOS settings as well please?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2020
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Designare EX Bios=F7e
CPU
Intel i9-10940X 14-Core
Graphics
RX 6900XT Reference
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@gabevf I have been able to get TB# working on my board!
Bios -> ThunderBolt -> Security = No Security
Make sure the TB3 devices are turned on Prior to turning on the PC and booting into MacOS, then they show in System Profiler/Info. I haven't had mine crap out yet.

EDIT: You may need to rename the TB3 controller to get it to work properly, custom SSDT or AML file. I'll look for mine when I get home from work today...
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2020
Messages
124
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare EX X299
CPU
i9-9940X
Graphics
2x RX 6900XT, 1x RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Jasoncole98 I see, you've got it working out of the box, so no Hot Plug? At least it doesn't go crazy on you – mine was losing connection all the time. Looks like you're not using any TB SSDT's in your EFI, either...
Have you been able to get the computer to sleep?
 
Top