Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> Monterey and HD530 : Black Screen after boot

Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
24
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD530 & GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

I made a fresh Monterey 12.3.1 install on my old z170 build (gigabyte z170x-ud5-th - intel 6700k - HD530 - Opencore 079).
Everything is working flawless except the HD530 integrated graphics (I also have a GTX710, but I don't want to use it).
Capture d’écran 2022-04-24 à 17.19.39.png


As I'm struggling since a few days, (it's the first time I try to configure integrated graphics) I ask for your help :
I systematically have a black screen after boot : I see the boot menu, the verbose texts, then nothing, but by hearing the hard drives I know that the system is booted. If I reboot with my GTX710 plugged, everything is working properly.

I followed some topics in that forum, but I systematically have black screen after boot.
The last modifications I made are the ones explained in that topic : https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/big-sur-hd530-opencore-z170n-skylake.304138/

I think something is missing in my confing.plist.
I attach it to that post, in case of somebody have an idea and can help me.
I also join my EFI in case of somebody needs reference for a same kind of build.

Thank you very much :)
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    27.3 KB · Views: 51
  • EFI.zip
    65.9 MB · Views: 76

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
26,979
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

I made a fresh Monterey 12.3.1 install on my old z170 build (gigabyte z170x-ud5-th - intel 6700k - HD530 - Opencore 079).
Everything is working flawless except the HD530 integrated graphics (I also have a GTX710, but I don't want to use it).
View attachment 546549

As I'm struggling since a few days, (it's the first time I try to configure integrated graphics) I ask for your help :
I systematically have a black screen after boot : I see the boot menu, the verbose texts, then nothing, but by hearing the hard drives I know that the system is booted. If I reboot with my GTX710 plugged, everything is working properly.

I followed some topics in that forum, but I systematically have black screen after boot.
The last modifications I made are the ones explained in that topic : https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/big-sur-hd530-opencore-z170n-skylake.304138/

I think something is missing in my confing.plist.
I attach it to that post, in case of somebody have an idea and can help me.
I also join my EFI in case of somebody needs reference for a same kind of build.

Thank you very much :)
your APPL,ig-platform-id should be:
00001219


may not need:
Code:
<key>complete-modeset</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
may also not need device-id

make sure DVMT is set to 64MB in your bios
then remove:
Code:
<key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
24
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD530 & GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Feartech , thank you very much for the advices and the fast reply.
Unfortunately, it doesn't works.

- I changed : APPL,ig-platform-id to 00001219
- Removed : complete-modeset
- Removed : device-id
- Removed : framebuffer-patch-enable
(And checked my DVMT, it was already 64mb).

Now my config.plist has only 1 value in PciRoot(0x0)/PCI(0x2,0x0):
Capture d’écran 2022-04-24 à 18.38.10.png


The system stills booting without any HDMI signal from the HD530, but works when I plug the GTX710 in the PCI port.

I think I have all the kexts I need (Lilu and WhateverGreen) in the EFI folder :
Capture d’écran 2022-04-24 à 18.50.46.png


So, the problem must be in the config.plist file...
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
26,979
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Feartech , thank you very much for the advices and the fast reply.
Unfortunately, it doesn't works.

- I changed : APPL,ig-platform-id to 00001219
- Removed : complete-modeset
- Removed : device-id
- Removed : framebuffer-patch-enable
(And checked my DVMT, it was already 64mb).

Now my config.plist has only 1 value in PciRoot(0x0)/PCI(0x2,0x0):
View attachment 546553

The system stills booting without any HDMI signal from the HD530, but works when I plug the GTX710 in the PCI port.

I think I have all the kexts I need (Lilu and WhateverGreen) in the EFI folder :
View attachment 546554

So, the problem must be in the config.plist file...
remove the nividia

try adding:
device-id >Data > 1B190000
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
24
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD530 & GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks,

The Nvidia card is always removed from the PCIe port when I try to use the HD530, I only use it to try to make the HD530 working.

I've added device-id >Data > 1B190000 :
Capture d’écran 2022-04-24 à 19.29.16.png


But it stills the same : black screen.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
26,979
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks,

The Nvidia card is always removed from the PCIe port when I try to use the HD530, I only use it to try to make the HD530 working.

I've added device-id >Data > 1B190000 :
View attachment 546561

But it stills the same : black screen.
doesn't look right, PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0) should be in the Add section

upload your config.plist
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
24
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD530 & GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
doesn't look right, PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0) should be in the Add section

upload your config.plist
Ooo yes, I made a mistake !!
I’ll try asap
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
24
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD530 & GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Feartech , thanks again.
I moved the lines to the correct section, but I doesn't changed.

While searching on Tonymac forum, I've found this tread.
I added lot of stuffs in my config.plist :lol: (to enable the hdmi port of the iGPU)
Capture d’écran 2022-04-24 à 21.58.52.png


And it worked, but... Only if the GTX710 is plugged to the PCIe port !!!
Capture d’écran 2022-04-24 à 22.01.35.png


If I remove the Nvidia card, the system doesn't boot and get stuck to that lines :
IMG_2144.jpeg

Who the f*** is that Spaceman_metazone???

We're going forward, the problem is half solved now :mrgreen:
I attach again my config.plist

Hope you (or somebody else) can do something...
Thx
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    27.7 KB · Views: 63

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
26,979
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Feartech , thanks again.
I moved the lines to the correct section, but I doesn't changed.

While searching on Tonymac forum, I've found this tread.
I added lot of stuffs in my config.plist :lol: (to enable the hdmi port of the iGPU)
View attachment 546568

And it worked, but... Only if the GTX710 is plugged to the PCIe port !!!
View attachment 546570

If I remove the Nvidia card, the system doesn't boot and get stuck to that lines :
View attachment 546571
Who the f*** is that Spaceman_metazone???

We're going forward, the problem is half solved now :mrgreen:
I attach again my config.plist

Hope you (or somebody else) can do something...
Thx
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
24
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD530 & GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the link, a lot of informations.
I'm not sure that I will understand something, but I will try ;)
 
Top