Contribute
Register

Mojave upgrade from app store does not complete

Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700K
Mac
MacBook Pro
I have attempted to upgrade my system from Sierra (10.12) to Mojave (10.14) using the app store installer. After running the installer, my machine restarted several times, but never seemed to complete the install. It was left in unresponsive state with no display output. I have tried both HDMI and displayPort outputs, in case the problem was related to a graphics issue during install.

After restarting, I have 3 options in the clover menu - Boot macOs install, Boot macOs, Boot Recovery.
- Install takes >30 minutes and reaches 90% on the apple startup screen, then the display dies altogether
- Boot macOs progresses much faster but results in the same.

What kinds of troubleshooting steps can I use to determine the problem here? Any trick to show logs during install/startup?

System details -
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU: Intel Core i7 6700K
GPU: ASUS GeForce GTX 1060
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,583
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have attempted to upgrade my system from Sierra (10.12) to Mojave (10.14) using the app store installer. After running the installer, my machine restarted several times, but never seemed to complete the install. It was left in unresponsive state with no display output. I have tried both HDMI and displayPort outputs, in case the problem was related to a graphics issue during install.

After restarting, I have 3 options in the clover menu - Boot macOs install, Boot macOs, Boot Recovery.
- Install takes >30 minutes and reaches 90% on the apple startup screen, then the display dies altogether
- Boot macOs progresses much faster but results in the same.

What kinds of troubleshooting steps can I use to determine the problem here? Any trick to show logs during install/startup?

System details -
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU: Intel Core i7 6700K
GPU: ASUS GeForce GTX 1060
  • First thing is to REMOVE from PCIE slot the macOSMojave unsupported (almost never to be supported) GPU: ASUS GeForce GTX 1060
  • Use Intel processor associated HD graphics 530 connected to HDMI port of Monitor .
  • If you have now set the BIOS to PCIE , you have to Force Reboot>BIOS>Change Graphics to IGFX with DVMT Pre-Allocated at minimum 64M optimally 128M and save with USB installer in the First Boot Option with all other Devices DISABLED in Boot Option Priorities List.
  • When you have made all necessary BIOS options, Save them with F10 and reboot
  • When you reach the Splash screen, Shut Down PC.
  • Remove Power Cable and then change the Monitor cable connection to Intel HD 530 HDMI port.
  • Open then case and Carefully remove the NVIDIA PCIE card after carefully disconnecting its Power
  • If you have any unnecessary Disks like Windows, Linux, Storage Disk connected to SATA ports Disconnect (power or DATA cable) .
  • If you have any currently unneeded devices connected to USB ports other than Keyboard, Mouse and your macOSMojave USB Installer, Disconnect
  • Reconnect Power and Reboot
  • Recheck BIOS to make sure you are booting with IGFX into the First boot macOSMojave UEFI USB Installer to Clover Boot Manager (CBM)Screen
  • At CBM screen boot in Verbose Mode and take Photographs of problem screen to upload to Forum for help.
  • If you are not a regular Hackintosher with multiple installations/Troubleshoots to your experience list, you may check this post for some useful tips to self help or to post to Forum with supporting files-> #1
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700K
Mac
MacBook Pro
Thanks very much for the detailed response. Trying this now.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,583
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
It does seem from some research that NVIDIA support is now entirely gone from macOS, having now been fully cut off as of Mojave. Previously it was not easy to support the NVIDIA card/drivers but was doable.
Please update your Profile according to the hardware you really have.
This Forum , IMHO, is a place to help those posting to get helpful answers and a teaching/ learning place for many many more who just read and go; never asking for help.
Our Message and responses must be useful to all and as accurate as possible and not confusing to the readers.
I make typos but as soon as I detect, I come back and edit to correct to maintain the standard of this forum.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700K
Mac
MacBook Pro
Please update your Profile according too the hardware you really have.
I think my profile is correct, apart from the graphics card I just removed a few minutes ago. I'll update that - is there some other discrepancy?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,583
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I think my profile is correct, apart from the graphics card I just removed a few minutes ago. I'll update that - is there some other discrepancy?
  • Looks great now.
    • No confusion as to what main hardware you are using to install macOSMojave.
  • If any problems occur during installation, please post with Verbose boot screen photo, the EFI or CLOVER folder from USB Installer Disk as a compressed fie and BIOS options chosen for the boot.

  • Good luck.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700K
Mac
MacBook Pro
at this point, from clover boot screen should I be booting into the installer or the "Boot macOS" option?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,583
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
at this point, from clover boot screen should I be booting into the installer or the "Boot macOS" option?
In Upgrade installation the downloaded macOSMojave software is not on a separate disk like in USB for a fresh install . The upgrade Installer software creates an Installer partition on the main disk which has its own Bootloader Clover in its EFI Partition.

Therefore, when the system reboots after a short install step, to reach the Splash screen, press F-12 screen (for Gigabyte) to select the disk with CLOVER, Your Main System Disk with High Sierra , and using it you enter Clover boot Manager (CBM) screen using Clover EFI as the key to its entrance.

Once you are in CBM screen, immediately switch to the Installer Partition NOT the Boot MacOSMojave. That Boot from MacOS partition has got only a tiny sample of the system files from the Installer in the first few minutes of Starting the partition after download.

A lot more (may be 2-3 reboots worth) and about 45 minutes worth is still inside that special partition created as a virtual disk for the installer files.
So, boot the "INSTALLER disk" and then watch the screen in verbose boot.

It may reboot after briefy displaying a short progressbar and suddenly booting back to Splash screen.

You know you have to press F-12 and get the Main disk with Clover to CBM and then immediately switch to Installer and boot again
After another short boot or a long boot for 45 minutes remaining ,
the final reboot appears and you know how to enter CBM- again using Main HS disk .
This time to your surprise the installer has gone.
Its function is over .
The Main disk has all the files to make it macOSMojave and can boot directly to the Login Screen and Desktop to announce with a screen you are uptodate with the Version you had downloaded and started the installation

To confirm, click Apple>about This Mac> Overview> MacOS Mojave Version 10.14 (XXXXNNN)
Hope all is clear now.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700K
Mac
MacBook Pro
Thank you very much for your detailed instructions. I did not have time for this for a while but trying again now.

In verbose mode on the installer, here's what I'm getting. After the initial chunk, the logging became very slow, and nothing at all has happened for the last 15 25 min or so. The entire install has been running for over 45 minutes.

Edit2: The log remained frozen in the state shown in the screenshot for about 45 minutes; with the entire install going for longer than an hour. After that point, the display stops (my monitor showed a blue "no input" for a few seconds before turning off). The motherboard is still on (displays "A0" for nominal operation), but nothing seems to be happing and there is no display.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Top