Contribute
Register

Mojave doesn't boot after first sleep (crossed circle)

Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 I Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi guys !

I've just installed Mojave for the first time following the installation guide. I installed High Sierra a ton of times and never had this issue...
Everything worked fine until my hackintosh goes to sleep and turn off. After reboot, i'm getting a crossed circle instead of the loading bar after clover menu. I've tried to boot from USB key, same result. I reinstalled Mojave 3 times now but can't get over this sleep problem.

In mutlibeast I have selected :
Quick start :
UEFI Boot mode
Drivers :
Audio/AppleALC
Misc/FakeSMC
Misc/NullCPUPowerManagement
Network/Intel/IntelMausiEthernet v2.4.0
USB/3rd Party USB 3.0
Bootloader :
Clover UEFI Boot Mode


Gigabyte Aorus Z390 i gaming
i5 9600K @4,8Ghz
Radeon VII
16go ram DDR4 3000mhz

Any clue ?
Thanks !
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
2,164
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i3-8350K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi guys !

I've just installed Mojave for the first time following the installation guide. I installed High Sierra a ton of times and never had this issue...
Everything worked fine until my hackintosh goes to sleep and turn off. After reboot, i'm getting a crossed circle instead of the loading bar after clover menu. I've tried to boot from USB key, same result. I reinstalled Mojave 3 times now but can't get over this sleep problem.

In mutlibeast I have selected :
Quick start :
UEFI Boot mode
Drivers :
Audio/AppleALC
Misc/FakeSMC
Misc/NullCPUPowerManagement
Network/Intel/IntelMausiEthernet v2.4.0
USB/3rd Party USB 3.0
Bootloader :
Clover UEFI Boot Mode


Gigabyte Aorus Z390 i gaming
i5 9600K @4,8Ghz
Radeon VII
16go ram DDR4 3000mhz

Any clue ?
Thanks !
Sounds like you're pretty experienced so it must be unusual.

Do you dual-boot Windows?

The fact you power down and then get this problem is odd. Sounds BIOS connected.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 I Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Yes I dual-boot but I unplug the windows drive before any mac os installation.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
2,164
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i3-8350K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes I dual-boot but I unplug the windows drive before any mac os installation.
Understood.

So how do you get around this and finally boot again? Wait so long? Reset BIOS? Boot with uniBeast?

The prohibited symbol usually means the system can't find a boot partition. That can be many things.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 I Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I don't know. I've reset BIOS, changed only what is necessary for hackintosh to install, still this prohibited symbol...
Which error can make a drive unbootable even with the usb drive ? It's above my knewledge.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
2,164
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i3-8350K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I don't know. I've reset BIOS, changed only what is necessary for hackintosh to install, still this prohibited symbol...
Which error can make a drive unbootable even with the usb drive ? It's above my knewledge.
So it happens just once after re-install, just one switch to sleep and then you can't use it any more?

Your USB drive should always be bootable - in itself - but if the main drive you are using is "damaged" then of course the main system won't boot into macOS.

So try booting from the UniBeast USB drive, when the Clover menu comes choose the left-most option "External" - which is your UniBeast installer itself - and then let the macOS installer come up. DON'T run it but use the Tools menu to run Disk Utility on the main drive to check for errors.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 I Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Exactly, just one switch to sleep breaks the install.
I don't think that my drive is dammaged.
Here is what I get in Disk Utility when booting on the installer :

IMG_20190713_105816.jpg
I've tried to make a SOS, everything seams ok.
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
9,287
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi guys !

I've just installed Mojave for the first time following the installation guide. I installed High Sierra a ton of times and never had this issue...
Everything worked fine until my hackintosh goes to sleep and turn off. After reboot, i'm getting a crossed circle instead of the loading bar after clover menu. I've tried to boot from USB key, same result. I reinstalled Mojave 3 times now but can't get over this sleep problem.

In mutlibeast I have selected :
Quick start :
UEFI Boot mode
Drivers :
Audio/AppleALC
Misc/FakeSMC
Misc/NullCPUPowerManagement
Network/Intel/IntelMausiEthernet v2.4.0
USB/3rd Party USB 3.0
Bootloader :
Clover UEFI Boot Mode


Gigabyte Aorus Z390 i gaming
i5 9600K @4,8Ghz
Radeon VII
16go ram DDR4 3000mhz

Any clue ?
Thanks !
Delete NullCPUPowerManagement. As the name suggests, it kills power management.
Delete 3rd Party USB 3.0. The USB on Z390 doesn't need it.

Since you are on Z390, you should probably install Emulated NVRAM + RC scripts. Also, try a different Aptio fix than what you are currently using. OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi seems to work for most Z390 motherboards. Make sure you do not have multiple Aptio fixes installed.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 I Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Delete NullCPUPowerManagement. As the name suggests, it kills power management.
Delete 3rd Party USB 3.0. The USB on Z390 doesn't need it.

Since you are on Z390, you should probably install Emulated NVRAM + RC scripts. Also, try a different Aptio fix than what you are currently using. OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi seems to work for most Z390 motherboards. Make sure you do not have multiple Aptio fixes installed.
Thanks for your answer !
Can you explain me a little how to install Emulated NVRAM and RC scripts ?
For Aptio, i simply replace the one called "AptioMemoryFix-64.efi" by "OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi" in the drivers64UEFI folder on the usb drive ?
I've never done that before.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
9,287
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for your answer !
Can you explain me a little how to install Emulated NVRAM and RC scripts ?
For Aptio, i simply replace the one called "AptioMemoryFix-64.efi" by "OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi" in the drivers64UEFI folder on the usb drive ?
I've never done that before.
Emulated NVRAM can be found here:
Screen Shot.jpg


Yes, replace AptioMemoryFix-64.efi with OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi in the drivers64UEFI folder.
 
Top