Contribute
Register

Mojave 10.14.4 Boots to black screen with headless UHD 630 and RX 580

Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
196
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8930
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
UHD630+RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
oops...that's unexpected lol.....
i just have lilu+weg for rx580 to work properly. no other kext or setup needed. using two dp ports for monitors.
here is my config.plist
 

Attachments

Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
45
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8930
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
oops...that's unexpected lol.....
i just have lilu+weg for rx580 to work properly. no other kext or setup needed. using two dp ports for monitors.
here is my config.plist
Hmmm I just completely wiped my drive and reinstalled Mojave and now almost everything worked, including quick sync. Only thing that isn't working now is USB power. I may have to review my SSDT but you would think that doesn't change because it should load before the OS
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
196
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8930
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
UHD630+RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hmmm I just completely wiped my drive and reinstalled Mojave and now almost everything worked, including quick sync. Only thing that isn't working now is USB power. I may have to review my SSDT but you would think that doesn't change because it should load before the OS
usb power? you mean high current mode that can charge ipad? only usb ports attached to intel controller support high current mode, ones attached to asmedia controller can only provide 500mA maximum.

regarding to ssdt i use only three: EC, UIAC, USBX. i didn't modify any dell ssdts and everything works as expected.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
45
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8930
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
I accidentally put two copies of power injection into my SSDT. I forgot I merged my USBX into my UIAC in my original install and put in USBX again. Works fine after deleting USBX.

I always thought power injection is for individual ports. Maybe it is just part of the story. Everything worked correctly until I plugged in a last USB device, then it will start complaining about insufficient power for that last USB device. At one point I was worried if the RX580 was drawing too much power from the OEM PSU. Good thing it was just an SSDT problem.

I’m getting off topic now we should move back to the XPS thread if we want to continue our discussion. Thanks again!
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
My system worked fine up until updating to 10.14.4. I have my UHD 630 set to run headless and I use my Saphire RX 580 as my primary.

It now after going through the verbose output of boot goes to a black screen upon where it usually shows the apple logo. Any idea why this is happening? I think it is the headless setup doing it myself as my UHD 630 id 0x3E92 is supposed to be native in 10.14.4. But I have no idea what to do with that information.

Any help is appreciated.

Attached is my config.plist.
Hi,
I have the exact same problem with a similar graphics card connected via DisplayPort (Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8 gb) on a Gigabyte Z390 Designare motherboard (macOS Mojave 10.14.4 Clover UEFI install - UHD 630 headless mode): have you found a way to fix it?
Thanks in advance for Your help
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
oops...that's unexpected lol.....
i just have lilu+weg for rx580 to work properly. no other kext or setup needed. using two dp ports for monitors.
here is my config.plist
Hi,
I have a problem using the DP ports on a Sapphire RX 580 pulse 8 gb: the screen goes black after the first stage and resume only turning off and on the monitor.
I'm using iMac 19,1 smbios, Lilu + WEG - headless config (0x3E980003) via devices properties - NO inject Intel/NO inject ATI
What is your RX 580 model?
What are your settings about Devices/Graphics?
Thanks in advance for Your help
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
196
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8930
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
UHD630+RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi,
I have a problem using the DP ports on a Sapphire RX 580 pulse 8 gb: the screen goes black after the first stage and resume only turning off and on the monitor.
I'm using iMac 19,1 smbios, Lilu + WEG - headless config (0x3E980003) via devices properties - NO inject Intel/NO inject ATI
What is your RX 580 model?
What are your settings about Devices/Graphics?
Thanks in advance for Your help
I didnt use headless config since it works just fine. here is my config
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M D3H
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
I had a similar situation and will provide this information incase it helps others. You can see what my hardware is in my build info.

I set-up my system with a single monitor on 10.14.5 with a fresh install. Everything running fine, no complaints. Single monitor running on HDMI cable. I changed that single monitor over to using a DP cable and added a second monitor with another DP cable. I had only one monitor turned on and started the computer. Nothing but black screen........until login password screen appeared. Puzzling, but I continue testing things and found out that when I turned on both monitors, the BIOS splash screen would appear on one screen, followed by the Clover boot screen, then the Apple logo with progression bar, but when the Apple logo screen with progression bar got to about 50%, and a quick screen flash, that monitor would then go black and the other monitor now appeared with the Apple logo and finished the progression bar arriving at the login password screen. I would not ever have known this without turning on both monitors.

Again, after a series of tests, I found that one of the two DP ports on my graphics card will initialize before the other to the monitor. So, it is like one of them is designed to be the default port/cable to see a monitor first. But, once the OS and all the behind the scenes things happen and get loaded, the system preferences takes over and will finish with the monitor I have designated as the primary monitor. Once I realized that, I then had to go to system preferences and set the correct and corresponding monitor to that cable to get a proper result. Final result is, turn on computer, regardless if one or both monitors are turned on, the main monitor I use will show the entire boot process, Bios splash screen, Clover boot screen, Apple logo with progression bar and finally password screen.

I hope this is not just my issue but helps others along the way

Thaigyver
 
Top