Contribute
Register

Mobile Kepler GT 650M working on OSX!! (No Optimus) Need help!!

Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
41
Motherboard
ASUS P5K Premium Wifi-AP
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Graphics
ASUS nVidia GeForce GT 430
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi!
I have an ASUS laptop (N56VZ) with OSX 10.9.3 Mavericks installed and working very very well!
I absolutely know that nVidia Optimus switching system between integrated and discrete graphic is not going to work on OSX and I'm not here to ask help for that!
I found a way to fully unlock my BIOS and got an option to actually Disable nVidia Optimus engine and make just my discrete GT 650M working, totally bypassing Intel HD 4000!
Of course this works very well both on Windows and Linux.
If I disable optimus via BIOS, LVDS is not working anymore and just HDMI does, but that's fine, because I have the need to use an external monitor on my notebook, and since HD 4000 does not support VGA anymore and HDMI is dedicated to the nVidia graphics, you are my last hope! :D
The problem is this one :

Once I disable optimus via BIOS and use chameleon (or clover) to make the system boot (I have to choose iMac 12,2 or Macbook pro 8,1 smbios), no screen is detected!!
How do I know it?
because I can use a VNC monitor and the system underneath is working very fine! I even have QE/CI!!

What I did (without many results) :

-injected many properties via efi string (NVCAP and other info) so my card is not recognized anymore as "NVIDIA Chip Model" but as "nVidia GT 650M".
-Used nVidia web drivers
-Booted with any kind of flags and bootloader!
-Inject vBIOS (reboots as soon as the booloader loads it)
-Extract vBIOS from OSX (doesn't work! seems like no vBIOS is loaded)

The problem : No monitor is detected except VNC! My HDMI monitor is stuck in verbose but the system underneath is running fairly well!!

I believe the problem could be in vBIOS (that i extracted from windows) which is not being recognized by OSX, or maybe with the driver that can't find the right information!

Please guys help me out if you can and share your experience if you have a mobile kepler card too (GK 104 or GK107, mine is GK104)

I attached IOReg, DSDT, vBIOS and chameleon plist! If you need anything else just ask!

Thanks in advance!!
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 18, 2013
Messages
161
Motherboard
HP Pro
CPU
i5
Graphics
Nvidia
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi!
I have an ASUS laptop (N56VZ) with OSX 10.9.3 Mavericks installed and working very very well!
I absolutely know that nVidia Optimus switching system between integrated and discrete graphic is not going to work on OSX and I'm not here to ask help for that!
I found a way to fully unlock my BIOS and got an option to actually Disable nVidia Optimus engine and make just my discrete GT 650M working, totally bypassing Intel HD 4000!
Of course this works very well both on Windows and Linux.
If I disable optimus via BIOS, LVDS is not working anymore and just HDMI does, but that's fine, because I have the need to use an external monitor on my notebook, and since HD 4000 does not support VGA anymore and HDMI is dedicated to the nVidia graphics, you are my last hope! :D
The problem is this one :

Once I disable optimus via BIOS and use chameleon (or clover) to make the system boot (I have to choose iMac 12,2 or Macbook pro 8,1 smbios), no screen is detected!!
How do I know it?
because I can use a VNC monitor and the system underneath is working very fine! I even have QE/CI!!

What I did (without many results) :

-injected many properties via efi string (NVCAP and other info) so my card is not recognized anymore as "NVIDIA Chip Model" but as "nVidia GT 650M".
-Used nVidia web drivers
-Booted with any kind of flags and bootloader!
-Inject vBIOS (reboots as soon as the booloader loads it)
-Extract vBIOS from OSX (doesn't work! seems like no vBIOS is loaded)

The problem : No monitor is detected except VNC! My HDMI monitor is stuck in verbose but the system underneath is running fairly well!!

I believe the problem could be in vBIOS (that i extracted from windows) which is not being recognized by OSX, or maybe with the driver that can't find the right information!

Please guys help me out if you can and share your experience if you have a mobile kepler card too (GK 104 or GK107, mine is GK104)

I attached IOReg, DSDT, vBIOS and chameleon plist! If you need anything else just ask!

Thanks in advance!!
Try the nvidia drivers from 10.9.1 if you can, and try the nvidia web drivers. The drivers for mobile nvidia after 10.9.2 can cause some problems.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
41
Motherboard
ASUS P5K Premium Wifi-AP
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Graphics
ASUS nVidia GeForce GT 430
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Try the nvidia drivers from 10.9.1 if you can, and try the nvidia web drivers. The drivers for mobile nvidia after 10.9.2 can cause some problems.
Hi!!
Thanks for the answer!!
Unfortunately I already tried that! But with no luck! :/
Isn't anybody interested to make mobile kepler work under OSX?!?
Could anybody help me out??
Thanks in advance!
Regards!
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
41
Motherboard
ASUS P5K Premium Wifi-AP
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Graphics
ASUS nVidia GeForce GT 430
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
bump!
Nobody is willing to help me?? Rehabman?
Thanks in advance!!!
 
Joined
May 19, 2014
Messages
206
Motherboard
ASUS S500CA LAPTOP
CPU
Intel Core i5-3317U @ 1.70GHz
Graphics
INTEL HD 4000
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Lisa
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi!
I have an ASUS laptop (N56VZ) with OSX 10.9.3 Mavericks installed and working very very well!
I absolutely know that nVidia Optimus switching system between integrated and discrete graphic is not going to work on OSX and I'm not here to ask help for that!
I found a way to fully unlock my BIOS and got an option to actually Disable nVidia Optimus engine and make just my discrete GT 650M working, totally bypassing Intel HD 4000!
Of course this works very well both on Windows and Linux.
If I disable optimus via BIOS, LVDS is not working anymore and just HDMI does, but that's fine, because I have the need to use an external monitor on my notebook, and since HD 4000 does not support VGA anymore and HDMI is dedicated to the nVidia graphics, you are my last hope! :D
The problem is this one :

Once I disable optimus via BIOS and use chameleon (or clover) to make the system boot (I have to choose iMac 12,2 or Macbook pro 8,1 smbios), no screen is detected!!
How do I know it?
because I can use a VNC monitor and the system underneath is working very fine! I even have QE/CI!!

What I did (without many results) :

-injected many properties via efi string (NVCAP and other info) so my card is not recognized anymore as "NVIDIA Chip Model" but as "nVidia GT 650M".
-Used nVidia web drivers
-Booted with any kind of flags and bootloader!
-Inject vBIOS (reboots as soon as the booloader loads it)
-Extract vBIOS from OSX (doesn't work! seems like no vBIOS is loaded)

The problem : No monitor is detected except VNC! My HDMI monitor is stuck in verbose but the system underneath is running fairly well!!

I believe the problem could be in vBIOS (that i extracted from windows) which is not being recognized by OSX, or maybe with the driver that can't find the right information!

Please guys help me out if you can and share your experience if you have a mobile kepler card too (GK 104 or GK107, mine is GK104)

I attached IOReg, DSDT, vBIOS and chameleon plist! If you need anything else just ask!

Thanks in advance!!
edit your org.chameleon.Boot / add

IGPlatformID=01660003 IGPEnabler=Yes
and if you have to get lose of nvidia.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
41
Motherboard
ASUS P5K Premium Wifi-AP
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Graphics
ASUS nVidia GeForce GT 430
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
edit your org.chameleon.Boot / add

IGPlatformID=01660003 IGPEnabler=Yes
and if you have to get lose of nvidia.
Thank you for the answer!
However I don't understand...my notebook already works with Intel HD 4000 but I don't have the possibility to extend my desktop to an external monitor since VGA does not work with HD 4000 anymore (if I'm not wrong).
HDMI port is dedicated to nVidia, and it works if I disable Optimus via BIOS...it's just that it can't detect any display!
The point is that I cannot use an external monitor for the moment with OSX Mavericks.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you for the answer!
However I don't understand...my notebook already works with Intel HD 4000 but I don't have the possibility to extend my desktop to an external monitor since VGA does not work with HD 4000 anymore (if I'm not wrong).
HDMI port is dedicated to nVidia, and it works if I disable Optimus via BIOS...it's just that it can't detect any display!
The point is that I cannot use an external monitor for the moment with OSX Mavericks.
See if your HDMI works in Windows using only HD4000. Some machines have it dedicated to nvidia and it becomes inoperable if nvidia is disabled.

Also, use Detect Displays in SysPrefs->Displays (hold down Option).
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
41
Motherboard
ASUS P5K Premium Wifi-AP
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Graphics
ASUS nVidia GeForce GT 430
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
See if your HDMI works in Windows using only HD4000. Some machines have it dedicated to nvidia and it becomes inoperable if nvidia is disabled.

Also, use Detect Displays in SysPrefs->Displays (hold down Option).
Nope...it does not work in windows if I disable nVidia!
The only options I got is to make nVidia detect my display disabling Intel card or to make VGA working for HD4000 on Mav.
But it seems that nobody knows the reason why the driver does not detect any display attached. :/
That's sad!!
I can't use any external monitor!! :/ and my laptop is 360 degrees working for the rest!!:/
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Nope...it does not work in windows if I disable nVidia!
The only options I got is to make nVidia detect my display disabling Intel card or to make VGA working for HD4000 on Mav.
But it seems that nobody knows the reason why the driver does not detect any display attached. :/
That's sad!!
I can't use any external monitor!! :/ and my laptop is 360 degrees working for the rest!!:/
Your only option is to disable HD4000 and use nvidia only. Then figure out what you need to do to make HDMI work. It is probably a framebuffer issue...
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
41
Motherboard
ASUS P5K Premium Wifi-AP
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Graphics
ASUS nVidia GeForce GT 430
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Your only option is to disable HD4000 and use nvidia only. Then figure out what you need to do to make HDMI work. It is probably a framebuffer issue...
I'm always keeping trying everything I can...but until now I found nothing about it...
it seems to be a very rare problem...
I believe it's a framebuffer issue too, but can't make it work in any way...
I hope that someone can help me to figure it out.
Thanks for everything!!
 
Top