Contribute
Register

ML with Gigabyte HD5870 - No FB nor HDMI Audio

Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
XFX RX580 8 gb
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've read and read and tried many combinations within the org.chameleon.Boot.plist. I always receive the following terminal outputs:


localhost:~ XXXXXX$ ioreg | grep ATY
| | | | +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@0 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000370, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (4874 ms), retain 8>
| | | | | +-o ATY_ATY,RadeonFramebuffer <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x100000386, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (9 ms), retain 17>
| | | | +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@1 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000371, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 8>
| | | | | +-o ATY_ATY,RadeonFramebuffer <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x1000003a1, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 17>
| | | | +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@2 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000372, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 8>
| | | | | +-o ATY_ATY,RadeonFramebuffer <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x1000003a7, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 14>
| | | | +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@3 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000373, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 8>
| | | | | +-o ATY_ATY,RadeonFramebuffer <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x1000003ad, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 14>

and

localhost:~ XXXXX$ sudo lspci -nnvd 0x1002: | grep -B2 Subsystem
Password:
pcilib: 0000:03:00.0 64-bit device address ignored.
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Cypress XT [Radeon HD 5870] [1002:6898] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: Giga-byte Technology Unknown device [1458:21e5]
--

03:00.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Cypress HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5800 Series] [1002:aa50]
Subsystem: Giga-byte Technology Unknown device [1458:aa50]


My dual screens are connected via HDMI to HDMI and DP to HDMI, the DVI is unconnected (3 ports total). I get 1920x1080 on both screens with the HDMI always coming up primary and the second display DP to HDMI coming up once the desktop loads.

My current org.chameleon.Boot.plist is:

?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>AtiConfig</key>
<string>Uakari</string>
<key>UseATIRom</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>PCIRoot</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string></string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>5</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>

Motherboard - Gigabyte X58A-UD3R, ver. 2, FH

Also tried all with EasyBeast and MultiBeast 4.61 with DSDT file. Any further suggestions?

Azalia optical audio is working fine.

Thank you.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
XFX RX580 8 gb
Mobile Phone
iOS
No difference after MultiBeast 5.0.1 ... suppose I'll leave well enough alone.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
XFX RX580 8 gb
Mobile Phone
iOS
I gave up on the DP/HDMI and switched to DVI to HDMI and HDMI to HDMI and this now gives me,,,
| | | | +-o ATY,Uakari@0 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000365, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (8 ms), retain 8>
| | | | | +-o ATY_Uakari <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x100000369, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (6 ms), retain 17>
| | | | +-o ATY,Uakari@1 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000366, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (2 ms), retain 8>
| | | | | +-o ATY_Uakari <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x10000036f, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (2 ms), retain 17>
| | | | +-o ATY,Uakari@2 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000367, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (3 ms), retain 8>
| | | | | +-o ATY_Uakari <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x100000375, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (2 ms), retain 14>
| | | | +-o ATY,Uakari@3 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000368, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (3 ms), retain 8>
| | | | | +-o ATY_Uakari <class AMDFramebuffer, id 0x10000037d, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (2 ms), retain 14>
...on dual monitors.

No System ID for the 5870, but this is a major improvement...now onto HDMI audio...
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
XFX RX580 8 gb
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'll post a request in Chimera forum since there is no subsystem ID for my card in current ati.c file.

subsystem ID 1458:21e5
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
XFX RX580 8 gb
Mobile Phone
iOS
Fabio includes the Gigabyte HD5870 in his EmaC branch, however, that just reboots my machine immediately with a flash of white and no text...so back to Chimera 1.11.1 in order to boot.
 
Top