Contribute
Register

mbar97's newest build - i7-3770k/GTX670/Z77X-UD5H (10.8.2)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 29, 2011
Messages
205
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770k
Graphics
GTX 670
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Success! mbar97's - i7-3770k/GTX670/Z77X-UD5H (10.8.2) [Video]

mbar97's Second Build: i7-3770K - GA-Z77X-UD5H - 16GB RAM - GTX 670 FTW [video]

Cooler_Master_HAF912_01.jpg


Video Overview
[video=youtube;CFCWbrrfYxg]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CFCWbrrfYxg[/video]

Components


Apple OS X Mountain Lion @ Mac App Store
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/os-x-mountain-lion

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007R21JK4/

Intel Core i7 - 3770K 3.5ghz
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007SZ0EOW/

EVGA Nvidia GTX 670 FTW
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0083Y6MV6/

Seagate Barracuda 7200 1TB
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005T3GRNW/

Corsair CX600 PSU
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0092ML0OC/


Already Owned

Wifi Vanilla Hack (Broadcom BCM94322MC attached to Mini PCIe to PCIe adapter)
http://x86wifi.blogspot.com

Sony Optiarc Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA DVD/CD Rewritable Drive - OEM
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00264GING?ie=UTF8

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1333MHz DIMM PC3-10666 Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002X578GE/

Corsair XMS3 8 GB (2 x 4GB) 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3 Memory Kit CMX8GX3M2A1333C9
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003N8GVUY/

Cooler Master HAF 912
http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-HAF-912-RC-912-KKN1/dp/B003ZM7YTA

Sceptre X20WG Naga 21" monitor
Discontinued

Acer Emachines E180HV 18.5in LCD Widescreen Monitor
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0046TXJWW/

Western Digital 320 GB Caviar Blue SATA 6 Gb/s 7200 RPM 16 MB Cache Bulk/OEM Desktop Hard Drive - WD3200AAKX
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00461E7JE/

Apple Aluminum Wired Keyboard MB110LL/A
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000V07N9U/

Apple Mighty Mouse
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0007Y79E4/


Comments:

Hey again you wonderful forum, just upgraded from last February's build. Looking forward to showing you guys this update! Got a new video in here as well.

Have to flash Bios to F8, boot with GraphicsEnabler=No and PCIRootUID=0

Got a really nice mini monitor (the iMO XT-7) which works over USB.

Card running 3 monitors (2 big, one little) all fine! Full QE/CI enabled.


Install Steps

1. Build!
2. Flash Bios to F8
3. Install with normal UniBeast Drive
4. Boot with GraphicsEnabler=No and PCIRootUID=0 and of course -v
5. You should have a working hack! Do MultiBeast as shown below.
6. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DISABLE GATEKEEPER FOR GOD'S SAKE


MultiBeast Configuration for 10.8.2
upeAg.png


Changelog:

Nothing new to report so far!
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
windows
CPU
i7930
Graphics
evga gtx 460
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I've read the audio chip in this board has problems?

Can you please confirm or deny?
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
3
Motherboard
OS X 10.8.2
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GT 680 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Why should i always boot with verbose?

and do you have problems with lag after waking from sleep or your usb ports ejecting themselves upon waking from sleep?

if your not getting any of these issues, would you mind posting your bios images just so i can use those settings for my build?

please take a look at my build here

thanks for your help
rynotheking14
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2011
Messages
205
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770k
Graphics
GTX 670
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've read the audio chip in this board has problems?

Can you please confirm or deny?

I have had no issues yet - when updating to 10.8.2 my audio card stopped working but I used Multibeast 5.0.1 to reinstall Toleda's drivers and they worked. The new Multibeast 5.1 has drivers that are specifically patched for 10.8.2 so this shouldn't be a problem.

rynotheking14 said:
Why should i always boot with verbose?

and do you have problems with lag after waking from sleep or your usb ports ejecting themselves upon waking from sleep?

if your not getting any of these issues, would you mind posting your bios images just so i can use those settings for my build?

I mean boot with verbose if you have a problem :)

I haven't had any of these errors yet, are you talking about USB3 or USB2? I'll post the images when I get home.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
UD5H
CPU
3770K
Graphics
GTX 670 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please help Miles! I'm desperate!

I have almost the same rig as yours and I cant even reach the installation screen.
Verbose mode says: CPU Halted, and the computer shuts down itself.


Motherboard: Z77X-UD5H
BIOS: F14
CPU: Intel i7 3770K 3.5GHz
SSD: Corsair Force3 120GB
VGA: Gigabyte GTX 670 4GB

on the USB: OSX MountainLion 10.8.2 purchased from the AppStore, and prepared with the latest UniBeast 1.5.3


Bios settings (what has been changed)
xHCI = "auto"
xHCI hand off = "enabled"
EHCI hand off = "enabled"
Init display first = "PEG"
High Precision Event Timer = "Enable"
Wake On LAN = "Disabled"
Boot Option #1 = "P0: Corsair Force 3 SSD"

flags that i tried so far (in different combinations):
-v
-x
PCIRootUID=0
GraphicsEnabler=No
cpus=1
maxmem=4096 (also tried 8192)

Not tried busratio numbers yet.


PLEASE HELP!!!!

edit 1: just tried with 2 stick of 2gb kingston memory modules (KTA-MP1066/2g) just to make sure that its not the memory.

edit 2: I removed the gtx670 card and now i'm on hd4000 graphics, so it wasn't the gtx...


 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
146
Motherboard
<< need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 660
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Next to the power button of your motherboard, you have 2 digit numbers/letters appearing during the boot. What are the last ones before it shuts down ?
Might help understanding if this is software or hardware. I have nearly the same build and had no problem during installation.

Is your CPU correctly recognize ? (You can check this in the mobo bios)
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
146
Motherboard
<< need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 660
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I haven't had any of these errors yet, are you talking about USB3 or USB2? I'll post the images when I get home.
You haven't experienced the ejecting issue on drives or flash memory connected to USB ports after wake up from sleep mode ?
Or Mouse/keyboard lag also just after wake up, for a few seconds ?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
UD5H
CPU
3770K
Graphics
GTX 670 4GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Next to the power button of your motherboard, you have 2 digit numbers/letters appearing during the boot. What are the last ones before it shuts down ?
during the boot it shows AE, when i have to enter "exit" to continue install (due to single user mode) it shows A0 and right before the automatic shutdown for a fragment of a second it shows 05 (i can only catch that by recording it to video)


Is your CPU correctly recognize ? (You can check this in the mobo bios)
I think it is perfectly recognized by the MOBO. On the M.I.T. screen it says:
CPU Name Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50Ghz
CPU ID number, update revision, bclk, turbo ratios, cores, temperatures, bla bla bla...


Thanks for your help MrEddy. I really appreciate it!
May I ask you to please check the thread that I opened for this problem and post your further answers in that one?
I dont want to flood mbar97's thread with my problem.
My thread is here:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/mountain-lion-desktop-support/81603-my-not-so-golden-build-cpu-halted.html

Thank you!
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2011
Messages
205
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770k
Graphics
GTX 670
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You haven't experienced the ejecting issue on drives or flash memory connected to USB ports after wake up from sleep mode ?
Or Mouse/keyboard lag also just after wake up, for a few seconds ?

None at all! I had them on my old Sandy build, but this board renders DSDTs useless, and my power management is working 100% correctly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top