Contribute
Register

Mavericks: Native CPU/IGPU Power Management

Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
33
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570K
Graphics
ASUS GTX 770 2Gb
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Send me a message I also speak Spanish, maybe can help you.

Ok, I'll send you a message with the points I have done. Thank you very much!

EDIT: I can't send you a message because I haven't got 75 posts...
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
54
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Titan X
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I looked at the MSR log from AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementInfo.kext and the only things that triggered my attention is the turbo ratio's. All of them being set to 39 is not optimal, because then any turbo request will result in 3.9 GHz. Not to mention that Apple's power management relies on some of the values.

Try setting the single-core ratio back to 36 and the core ratio back to 35/auto.

I set uncore ratio to 36 and normal ratio to 35
I'm attaching screenshots of the bios configuration, intel power management gadget and output of the console.


What I don't understand is if I should get lower frequencies when the machine is not doing anything heavy or what I'm getting is normal.

EDIT: The last entries of the TXT file are the tests with Uncore ratio set to 36

intelpowermanag.jpgbios1.jpgbios2.jpg
 

Attachments

  • AICPUPMI.txt
    30.1 KB · Views: 121
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
33
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570K
Graphics
ASUS GTX 770 2Gb
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I'm now at this point:

8. Install
1. Chimera/Chameleon
1. Extra/SSDT.aml

How can I install the SSDT.aml?

Thank you!

EDIT: Ok, i've placed the SSDT.aml in EXTRA folder. But then, when i open console, i can't find XCPM in "search"... It's something wrong?
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
45
Motherboard
<< need non-Apple model # >> See Forum Rules !!
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
580GTX
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Portable
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm now at this point:

8. Install
1. Chimera/Chameleon
1. Extra/SSDT.aml

How can I install the SSDT.aml?

Thank you!

EDIT: Ok, i've placed the SSDT.aml in EXTRA folder. But then, when i open console, i can't find XCPM in "search"... It's something wrong?

Now test you CPU Power Management via AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementInfo.kext or MSRDumper.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2013
Messages
271
Motherboard
Mac mini
CPU
i[5/7]
Graphics
HD[3/4]000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I set uncore ratio to 36 and normal ratio to 35 I'm attaching screenshots of the bios configuration, intel power management gadget and output of the console.

What I don't understand is if I should get lower frequencies when the machine is not doing anything heavy or what I'm getting is normal.

EDIT: The last entries of the TXT file are the tests with Uncore ratio set to 36
You have a 3.5GHz processor and thus you should use that and nothing else. Also. The first turbo ratio should be set to 36, manually, because 'Auto' is still not functioning properly. Look here:

MSR_TURBO_RATIO_LIMIT......(0x1AD) : 0x27272727

With that even a single core will run at 3.9 GHz. Not good for power management.

Oh and AICPUPMI logging should always be done with logIGPStyle set to FALSE otherwise is serves no purpose. At least not for debugging problems.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2012
Messages
27
Motherboard
os x 10.9.3
CPU
i5 3317u
Graphics
gt635m, intel 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
wrong place, can be deleted
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,090
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The default Uncore Ratio setting of 35 breaks PM.
This post here is no longer valid; feel free to delete.
Thanks for the update.
This information is helpful and off topic. The issue does not occur with default settings. Manually setting Turbo ratios may have (unknown) consequences.

Edit your referenced post with a link to the update.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
212
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thanks for the update.
This information is helpful and off topic. The issue does not occur with default settings. Manually setting Turbo ratios may have (unknown) consequences.

Edit your referenced post with a link to the update.

No problem. Referenced post updated.

I did not manually change Turbo ratios. Not sure where you're getting that from. In the first set of screenshots, I set bios to optimized defaults, and chose XMP profile for RAM. In the second set of screenshots, I manually changed Uncore ratio.

Not sure why you deem this as off topic, but I appreciate it being helpful.
 
Top