Contribute
Register

Mavericks install on GA-Z77-DS3H w/GT640

Joined
Dec 19, 2011
Messages
153
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-UD5H rev. 1.1
CPU
i5 3570k 3.4ghz (OC 4.3)
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 660, 2GB; HD4000 both using HDMI Audio
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Specs:
MB: GA-Z77-DS3H rev 1.1
CPU: i5 3570K OC'd to 4.3 GHz
RAM: 32 GB DDR3 (4x8GB)
Airport Mini PCIe Wifi Card
Logictech Webcam
Apple Magic Mouse, Tack Pad and KB
Apple BT custom made internal USB

Ok so first many thanks to the folks here at TonyMacx86 - MacMan, Tony, Toleda and PJALM - you guys rock!
So start off down load OS X 10.9 from App Store and follow guide for UniBeast install - see here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/374-unibeast-install-os-x-mavericks-any-supported-intel-based-pc.html
I prefer a clean install - however you can Migrate settings from time machine from Mountain Lion if you like
I use Clover as my boot loader so once I boot into the the OS for the first time I only select specific drivers from Multibeast. I will post the options for this board.
Once you log in for the first time here are the MultiBeast options I chose:

Audio: VooDooHDA 2.8.4
Network: Shailua's Atheros drivers
3rd Party Sata
Trim patch for 10.9
FakeSMC v.5.3.8.20
Hibernate Mode Desktop

Clover version 2236
UEFI Install
Install to ESP
Choose all themes
choose UEFI 64 bit drivers: DataHubDxe-64; EMUVariableUEFI-64; OSXAptioFixDrv-64
Install RC Scripts
Install Optional RC Scripts
Install Clover Preference Pane

Once you install make sure you create a config.plist by going to terminal and entering this code: /usr/local/bin/clover-genconfig >config.plist
You will then have to tweak it a little based on your system and preferences - see various Clover resources for "How To"
Install your Ivybridge SSDT and if you like a custom DSDT in EFI/Clover/ACPI/Patched

Reboot and you should be good to go! Everything works other than sleep on demand - however auto sleep and wake work just fine - which works for me.

Geekbench is 13,900 and iCloud, iMessage, Facetime, App Store all work great.

Again the only glitch I need to figure out is sleep on demand - but everything is working great and I can sleep based on Energy setting timer in preferences. Good luck this is a great board and really easy to get native powermangement, HDMI audio and everything else working great.

Cheers!
JB
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
109
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME H270 PLUS UEFI BIOS (Clover)
CPU
i5-7500 Kaby Lake
Graphics
Intel 630
Again the only glitch I need to figure out is sleep on demand - but everything is working great and I can sleep based on Energy setting timer in preferences.
Last time I tried Clover with ML it had the same "can't force sleep" issue. Looks like they haven't fixed it; it was the only reason I didn't jump on Clover :(.

Let me know if you figure it out, it might make me revisit Clover!
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2011
Messages
153
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-UD5H rev. 1.1
CPU
i5 3570k 3.4ghz (OC 4.3)
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 660, 2GB; HD4000 both using HDMI Audio
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I actually had it working under ML - but for some reason sleep only works for auto sleep - can't sleep on demand - I'll figure it out and let you know - Console shows it as a Network Identifier issue
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,039
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you have files to share, such DSDT or SSDT files, please attach to them to your original post. TIA.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
5
Motherboard
hack
CPU
i5 3550p
Graphics
gtx660 oc
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Can we get any more details about your installation ...

Im using same board a almost same set up (clover)

installation has gone fine, but cannot boot ..

Just hangs at apple loading screen
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2011
Messages
153
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-UD5H rev. 1.1
CPU
i5 3570k 3.4ghz (OC 4.3)
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 660, 2GB; HD4000 both using HDMI Audio
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Can we get any more details about your installation ...

Im using same board a almost same set up (clover)

installation has gone fine, but cannot boot ..

Just hangs at apple loading screen
Try booting with the standard config.plist to see if it works. Then have a look at my config.plist file - typically if it hangs you either have a BIOS setting that needs to change (usually needs to be in AHCI mode) or you need to change your graphics injector settings. If you use on discrete card you need graphics injector to no. Also make sure you have the correct UEFI64 drivers installed. You may need to change your SMBIOS or CPU settings
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2011
Messages
153
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-UD5H rev. 1.1
CPU
i5 3570k 3.4ghz (OC 4.3)
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 660, 2GB; HD4000 both using HDMI Audio
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Can we get any more details about your installation ...

Im using same board a almost same set up (clover)

installation has gone fine, but cannot boot ..

Just hangs at apple loading screen
Are you using a DSDT? If so try booting without it? Use Unibeast to boot.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
5
Motherboard
hack
CPU
i5 3550p
Graphics
gtx660 oc
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Right heres the deal ... i have managed to get it installed on a secondary hdd ..
it boots and all seems to run nice ..
including sound wifi etc ...

my problem is now , i want to install it onto my ssd hdd, but i cant seem to remove CLOVER bootloader and replace it with Chimera?
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2011
Messages
153
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-UD5H rev. 1.1
CPU
i5 3570k 3.4ghz (OC 4.3)
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 660, 2GB; HD4000 both using HDMI Audio
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Right heres the deal ... i have managed to get it installed on a secondary hdd ..
it boots and all seems to run nice ..
including sound wifi etc ...

my problem is now , i want to install it onto my ssd hdd, but i cant seem to remove CLOVER bootloader and replace it with Chimera?
Quick question - did you install UEFI Boot Clover or legacy boot? If you installed UEFI Clover you need to boot your drive with the UEFI option in the bios. Try that first - otherwise just delete the EFI/Clover folder and install Chimera on you SSD
 
Top