Contribute
Register

Mavericks freezes on boot @ Apple Logo when using 3 monitors, boots fine with 2 (ATI 7950)

Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte UP5-TH
CPU
3770k
Graphics
ATI 7950
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello,

In early Mavericks, I had my 7950 working with triple monitors using the sleep trick and some workarounds I found on these forums, which I've since (unfortunately) forgotten.


After I updated my Mavericks to the latest updates, my triple monitors stopped working. If I try and boot with 3 monitors plugged into the 7950 (DVI, HDMI and mini-displayport), the computer totally freezes on the apple logo boot screen, and needs to be hard-reset.

If I boot with only 2 monitors plugged in, it boots/works fine with both monitors. If I try and plug the third in, it crashes.



How can I get triple monitors working with Mavericks and an ATI 7950? I know it can be done since I had it working before!
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte UP5-TH
CPU
3770k
Graphics
ATI 7950
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
20
Motherboard
LenovoZ500
CPU
i7-3632QM
Graphics
HD4000+GT635
Mac
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I have the same card and the same problem. With Mavericks 10.9.0 it was working fine with 3 monitors, but after the update to 10.9.2 it stopped working. I tried updating to 10.9.3 (beta) but nothing changed. Did you solved the problem?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte UP5-TH
CPU
3770k
Graphics
ATI 7950
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have the same card and the same problem. With Mavericks 10.9.0 it was working fine with 3 monitors, but after the update to 10.9.2 it stopped working. I tried updating to 10.9.3 (beta) but nothing changed. Did you solved the problem?
Nope. still can't get it working. :(
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,452
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
How can I get triple monitors working with Mavericks and an ATI 7950?
Native OS X/AMD mulitmonitor display support is unlikely. What framebuffer?

AMD mulitmonitor requires the correct framebuffer with the correct edts to match VBIOS.
Framebuffer: see Apple Intel AMD/ATI Framebuffers; test the ATI7000Controller.kext framebuffers with DP, DVI and HDMI (i.e., Aji, Futomaki, etc.)
VBIOS: see Mavericks: HDMI Audio - AppleHDA/Requirements/
AMD5000Controller/AMD6000Controller/AMD7000Controller binary edits, the methodology is the same for Mavericks and the AMD7000Controller.kext. HDMI audio is not required.

Significant effort and expertise is required to solve this problem.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
20
Motherboard
LenovoZ500
CPU
i7-3632QM
Graphics
HD4000+GT635
Mac
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Native OS X/AMD mulitmonitor display support is unlikely. What framebuffer?

AMD mulitmonitor requires the correct framebuffer with the correct edts to match VBIOS.
Framebuffer: see Apple Intel AMD/ATI Framebuffers; test the ATI7000Controller.kext framebuffers with DP, DVI and HDMI (i.e., Aji, Futomaki, etc.)
VBIOS: see Mavericks: HDMI Audio - AppleHDA/Requirements/
AMD5000Controller/AMD6000Controller/AMD7000Controller binary edits, the methodology is the same for Mavericks and the AMD7000Controller.kext. HDMI audio is not required.

Significant effort and expertise is required to solve this problem.
Thanks for your help.

I tried to modify Aji framebuffer in Ati7000Controller but the situation is the same:

  • With "GraphicsEnabler=Yes AtiConfig=Aji" i get "Memory allocation error" on chameleon. Trying another framebuffer injection, mavericks boots correctly but i have different combinations of working monitor depending on which framebuffer i select (1 or 2 monitors => No 3 monitors);
  • With "GraphicsEnabler=No" Mavericks boots correctly. All 3 monitors are recognized in System Info but only two monitors work correctly, the third has backlight switched on but no image on it. After sleeping and waking PC i get the 3rd monitor working.
I tried different ports combinations (DVI-D+HDMI+DP, DVI-D+DVI-I+DP, ...) but there isn't a 100% working combination.

Any suggestions? (With Mavericks 10.9.0 everything was working fine with original Ati7000Controller.kext, i tried using Ati7000Controller+AMDRadeonX4000 from 10.9.0 but i get exactly tyhe situation explained in the last point above)
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,452
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
With "GraphicsEnabler=Yes AtiConfig=Aji"
Not valid.
GE=No is required to inject a framebuffer. The only way to understand what to do is to run radeon_bios_decode and compare the VBIOS connectors with the appropriate framebuffer connectors. Use the links previously noted. If you can't figure it out, you are stuck with 2 monitors.
 
Top