Contribute
Register

Marvell Yukon 88E8057

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
78
Motherboard
Asus Dark Hero X570
CPU
5950X
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. Apple
  3. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Just curious if anyone has had success with the Marvell Yukon 88E8057 ?

Using 10.6.5 on the EVGA SR-2 board.

Thanks
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
152
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
As of yet I don't have any solutions either... I use an EVGA P55 FTW which has the same chip.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
74
Motherboard
MSI B75A-G43
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
nVidia 8400GS 512 MB DDR3
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Plus
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. Workgroup Server
Mobile Phone
lightninhopkins said:
Just curious if anyone has had success with the Marvell Yukon 88E8057 ?

Using 10.6.5 on the EVGA SR-2 board.

Thanks

The usual approach, which as worked on all Shuttles with 88E8056 gigabit E-net chips (same family as the instant case of an 88E8057) is to edit the Yukon2 plist.

After saving the updated IONetworkingFamily kext, the chip will be seen and the availability of the new chip will be announced.

The model plist is usually taken to be the 88E8053.

Here is the 88E8053:

<key>Yukon-88E8053</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.iokit.AppleYukon2</string>
<key>EnableLowPwr</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>yukon2osx</string>
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x436211ab</string>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>MACNumber</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Model</key>
<string>Yukon Gigabit Adapter 88E8053 Singleport Copper SA</string>
<key>NetworkNumber</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>RxDeadman</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>RxRingGrowOnPause</key>
<integer>10</integer>
<key>RxRingSize</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>RxRingSize_100MBit</key>
<integer>128</integer>
<key>RxRingSize_10MBit</key>
<integer>64</integer>
<key>RxRingSize_GigaBit</key>
<integer>256</integer>
<key>TxRingSize</key>
<integer>256</integer>
<key>Vendor</key>
<string>Marvell</string>
</dict>

And, here is the new 88E8057, modified from the above (with the indicated exception, which you should fill in from your IORegistry):

<key>Yukon-88E8057</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.iokit.AppleYukon2</string>
<key>EnableLowPwr</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>yukon2osx</string>
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x436211ab</string> <-- Fill in here, will be 0x43??11ab
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>MACNumber</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Model</key>
<string>Yukon Gigabit Adapter 88E8057 Singleport Copper SA</string>
<key>NetworkNumber</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>RxDeadman</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>RxRingGrowOnPause</key>
<integer>10</integer>
<key>RxRingSize</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>RxRingSize_100MBit</key>
<integer>128</integer>
<key>RxRingSize_10MBit</key>
<integer>64</integer>
<key>RxRingSize_GigaBit</key>
<integer>256</integer>
<key>TxRingSize</key>
<integer>256</integer>
<key>Vendor</key>
<string>Marvell</string>
</dict>

Good luck.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2010
Messages
23
Motherboard
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
CPU
Intel 875k
Graphics
PNY 9800gtx
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
IOregistry?
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
152
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The 88E8057 has a PrimaryMatch of 0x438011ab. Some have a secondary in that kext but I don't know if this one does or not.

I do that when I add the key/dict and replace the .plist and rebuild caches it doesn't do anything at all for me which is quite unfortunate.

I built my key/dict section off the 88E8062 section because the 88E8057 is a dual port controller. However, on second thought, maybe I need to add it as a single port with those settings and let it detect it twice.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
74
Motherboard
MSI B75A-G43
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
nVidia 8400GS 512 MB DDR3
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Plus
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. Workgroup Server
Mobile Phone
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
152
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Well... I finally got OS X to recognize the ports but of course nothing happened beyond that. I shut down and walked away... when I got up the next morning I saw the system never fully shutdown and scrolling down the display was nothing but a message saying port 2 was not initialized...

Ever since they have not shown up in OS X nor in Windows 7. Yay. Cleared CMOS... nothing. Super.

-------------
UPDATE

Got it restores by a full power down, unplugging the cat5 cable and shutting off the PSU. just needed a full-on cold boot!
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
3
Motherboard
OS X Mountain Lion 10.8
CPU
Intel Core i7 860
Graphics
MSI GTX 560 Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So, your LAN works now? You used 88E8062 or 88E8053 section to work on ?

Can you upload your IONetworkingFamily.kext, please ?

Thanks :D
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
152
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
asabaraba said:
So, your LAN works now? You used 88E8062 or 88E8053 section to work on ?

Can you upload your IONetworkingFamily.kext, please ?

Thanks :D

Ha, no, I didn't get it working. I just got my ports to show up again.

The kext buried in IONetworkingFamily.kext is where I added them. I based it originally off the 88E8062 since mine is a dual port. That didn't work at all so I then used the oft cited 88E8053 and then both ports would show up.

However, the syslog process would run at 150% CPU and spam the log nonstop with the "Ethernet Port 2 - Not Initialized" errors. So I had to revert back. Without an updated kext (by update, I mean, more than just adding the device to a .plist), I don't think this will work.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
12
Motherboard
w7 x64
CPU
i5 550
Graphics
gtx 480
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
hi, i have evga p55 ftw and use that chip? someone found kext working for it? thx before
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top