Contribute
Register

make a fusiondrive and update

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
OS X
CPU
i7
Graphics
2GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey pep

i'm currently running a 10.9.1 Hackintosh - i have 2 HDD, 1 smaller SSD and 1 with a lot of capacity..

i would like to update for Yosemite and when i'm at it also combine my 2 hard drives for a fusion drive.. But i can't really guess how to move the best way..

i was wondering to start with wipe out anything and combine my hard drives to fusion-harddrives and then make the clean install of Yosemite?

i do backup on my TimeCapsule, but i had actually never used any backups yet.. but how should i do the backup when it is another system running after the new install? and what about the combine of the HDD in my backup? will i **** it all up?

i'm a little afraid of starting cause i don't wanna loose anything..
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
254
Motherboard
P55M-UD2
CPU
4 Ghz i5 760
Graphics
MSI GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
A Time Machine backup is fine. It's what I used. Yosemite can read Mavericks TMs fine. I'd disconnect the disk though when you're making the fusion drive so you don't accidentially delete it.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
254
Motherboard
P55M-UD2
CPU
4 Ghz i5 760
Graphics
MSI GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You mean you have two time machine backups now? Sure, just run Migration Assistant again with the other disk. It won't delete what you've already moved over.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
OS X
CPU
i7
Graphics
2GB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
i'm a little confused about what my time machine actually backup..

I just think like this: i got 2 HDD - and if my time machine believes that it is 2 different HDD then it will be tricky to combine them when i come back with 1 HDD after the fusion?

but should i see it more like that my Time Machine just takes it all and capsules it all into 1 backup?

This is what i see when i opens the program.. don't know if it says anything.. it do not show my SSD disc? "Lageret" is like my "big" HDD..
tXUKyf8.png

sorry I'm a little confused about this time machine but i never actually used it..

**EDIT - i now see that the picture is like the HDD i can choose for Time Machine and not my actual backups.. makes a little more sense.. just need a confirm about this going from 2 hdd to 1 hdd
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
162
Motherboard
GA-Z97-HD3
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
This message is for cougarcat. How you setup your Yosemite system for the P55M-UD2 F11 system? Could you share with me your multibeast settings (did you use the latest version of multibeast and unibeast?) and the steps you followed? I'm having issues with the restart and shutting down and random freezing at a black screen (with a progress bar at the bottom) that appears just before the login screen.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,498
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This message is for cougarcat. How you setup your Yosemite system for the P55M-UD2 F11 system? Could you share with me your multibeast settings (did you use the latest version of multibeast and unibeast?) and the steps you followed? I'm having issues with the restart and shutting down and random freezing at a black screen (with a progress bar at the bottom) that appears just before the login screen.

Please read the Rules.

"Do not cross post or create identical threads in multiple forums. Duplicate threads will be deleted"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top