MacTester57's HemiMac G4

Discussion in 'iMac Mods' started by MacTester57, Jul 21, 2013.

Tags:
  1. MacTester57

    MacTester57

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    895
    Mobo:
    Z68MX-UD2H-B3, DQ77KB, NUC DC53427HYE, NUC D54250WYKH
    CPU:
    i5-2500K, i3-3225, i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    HD 3000, HD 4000, HD 5000
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 3, 2015 at 5:57 PM #241
    MacTester57

    MacTester57

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    895
    Mobo:
    Z68MX-UD2H-B3, DQ77KB, NUC DC53427HYE, NUC D54250WYKH
    CPU:
    i5-2500K, i3-3225, i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    HD 3000, HD 4000, HD 5000
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You're welcome. Yes, 6K8 means 6.8kOhm and 3V3 3.3Volt.

    I've used a Dremel with a thin cutting disk to cut the logic board. Keep in mind: think twice, cut once ! ;) good luck!

    MacTester
     
  2. MacTester57

    MacTester57

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    895
    Mobo:
    Z68MX-UD2H-B3, DQ77KB, NUC DC53427HYE, NUC D54250WYKH
    CPU:
    i5-2500K, i3-3225, i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    HD 3000, HD 4000, HD 5000
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 10, 2015 at 6:24 PM #242
    MacTester57

    MacTester57

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    895
    Mobo:
    Z68MX-UD2H-B3, DQ77KB, NUC DC53427HYE, NUC D54250WYKH
    CPU:
    i5-2500K, i3-3225, i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    HD 3000, HD 4000, HD 5000
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The Hemi is now updated to El Capitan 10.11.0

    USB was fixed in accordance with this guide: http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-laptop-support/173616-guide-10-11-usb-changes-solutions.html I didn't use SSDT-XOSI.aml and applied the following DSDT fix instead: http://raw.github.com/RehabMan/Laptop-DSDT-Patch/master [sys] OS Check Fix (Windows 7)

    The only issue at the moment is, that the Finder sometimes crashes, if the right mouse button is used (same issue on the G4 Cube). View attachment Finder_2015-10-07-105842_G4-Cube.hang.zip Any thoughts? -> seems to be fixed with 10.11.1

    [​IMG]

    MacTester
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2015
  3. bn326160

    bn326160

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Jan 16, 2016 at 4:24 PM #243
    bn326160

    bn326160

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Hello, I love your mod so I gatherd an iMac G4 17" as well.
    The iMac power supply was broken, so I opened it up, hooked up the 12V ATX lines to give it a try and the screen came up with a folder with a questionmark in. Excellent.

    Today I followed this guide but when I hook up the inverter lines accordingly but the screen is not coming up. Would that indicate on a broken inverter. Suddenly??? Do you have any advice?

    Thanks in advance!

    Edit: I reread your process, seems like you had exactly the same problem as I had and I have to reattach the dome and ground it & pull down the green wire before giving a signal. Thank you for your posts!
     
  4. estebanchambas

    estebanchambas

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte G1 Sniper B5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce 210 1GB
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Feb 29, 2016 at 2:07 AM #244
    estebanchambas

    estebanchambas

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte G1 Sniper B5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce 210 1GB
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Hi man.

    First of all pls let me congratulate for your work. Its a very nice job!!

    I read that you use a Gigabyte BRIX for your project.

    In my country is the only available NUC. (two versions: Core i3 and Corei5)
    So I wanna buy one, for use it to upgrade my iMac G4.-

    But I have a big question. I watching that the "BRIX" has two video ports: HDMI and Mini Display Port.

    And you do the wiring as Dremejunkie does with a Female DVI Connector, so, how did you plug the display to the Brix???

    And I'm trying to understand the wiring of the display.
    DremelJunkie uses an inverter 12v to 24v apparently to power the lcd, but you use the picoPSU, right?


    Thanks
     
  5. MacTester57

    MacTester57

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    895
    Mobo:
    Z68MX-UD2H-B3, DQ77KB, NUC DC53427HYE, NUC D54250WYKH
    CPU:
    i5-2500K, i3-3225, i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    HD 3000, HD 4000, HD 5000
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 30, 2016 at 6:34 PM #245
    MacTester57

    MacTester57

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    895
    Mobo:
    Z68MX-UD2H-B3, DQ77KB, NUC DC53427HYE, NUC D54250WYKH
    CPU:
    i5-2500K, i3-3225, i7-3770S
    Graphics:
    HD 3000, HD 4000, HD 5000
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sorry for the VERY late reply... I missed your question.

    Thanks for the praise.

    I've used an angle DVI connector and then a DVI to HDMI adapter. Have a close look at the pics.

    The 17" model does not require 24V for the screen. So, the 12V from the Pico PSU are fine.

    MacTester

    BTW:
    I've added a new video to post#1
     

Share This Page