MacPro5,1 → iMac14,2: No more Turbo/Overclocking

Discussion in 'Overclocking' started by viperouge, Jan 11, 2017.

  1. viperouge

    viperouge

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Jan 11, 2017 at 4:07 PM #1
    viperouge

    viperouge

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Hi guys,

    I updated my MacOS X to 10.12.2 and for some reason I wasn't able to boot until I changed System definition to iMac14,2.

    However, I have no more Turbo. I was able to OC up to 4.5ghz comfortably

    How can I fix it? Is there any SYstem definitions that support Turbo that would work with my system?

    Thank you!
     
  2. emrax

    emrax

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    OSX 10.8.3
    CPU:
    Intel 3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 14, 2017 at 1:24 PM #2
    emrax

    emrax

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    OSX 10.8.3
    CPU:
    Intel 3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 660
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello, i have the same problem.I have 3770K CPU
    In bios I just moved multiplayer to 42 and working fine in windows on 4.2 ghz.
    But on Hackintosh on 10.12.2 wont boot.
    System definition is set to iMac14,2.
    Any fix for that?
     
  3. viperouge

    viperouge

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Jan 14, 2017 at 3:41 PM #3
    viperouge

    viperouge

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    I have the CPU set at 45, MacOS Boots, but completely disregards the multiplier...

    :(
     
  4. pastrychef

    pastrychef Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,462
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Gene Z170
    CPU:
    i7-6700K @ 4.8GHz
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 22, 2017 at 7:22 AM #4
    pastrychef

    pastrychef Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,462
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Gene Z170
    CPU:
    i7-6700K @ 4.8GHz
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    On my i7 3770 system, I use iMac13,2 system definition to get Turbo working.
     
  5. VoiletDragon

    VoiletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,926
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 22, 2017 at 7:26 AM #5
    VoiletDragon

    VoiletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,926
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Have you implemented native Powermanagement? iMac 13,2 is more appropriate for you're hardware.
     
  6. viperouge

    viperouge

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Jan 22, 2017 at 4:07 PM #6
    viperouge

    viperouge

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    I tried to use iMac13,2 but turbo is still not working. I'm not sure if I implemented native Powermanagement, how do I do that?

    EDIT: I ran kextstat | grep -y nullcpu in the terminal and I get no answer so I guess I have native Powermanagement, right?
     
  7. VoiletDragon

    VoiletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,926
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 23, 2017 at 5:44 AM #7
    VoiletDragon

    VoiletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,926
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Attach Clover folder removing themes and ioreg ZIP attach. [Guide] How to Make a Copy of IOReg | tonymacx86.com
     
  8. viperouge

    viperouge

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Jan 23, 2017 at 2:20 PM #8
    viperouge

    viperouge

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB

    Attached Files:

  9. VoiletDragon

    VoiletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,926
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 24, 2017 at 1:00 PM #9
    VoiletDragon

    VoiletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,926
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ioreg is corrupt. Don't save it as a .txt it will corrupt the ioreg.
     
  10. viperouge

    viperouge

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Jan 24, 2017 at 1:05 PM #10
    viperouge

    viperouge

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Sorry about that! :) Here is it
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page