Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Greetings,

I'm new to tonymacx86 and I've never created/modified a computer (although I did change a light bulb last week). At present, I have well-functioning 2010 Mac Pro; but in about a year or so I might want to mod it. If I had to describe my Hackintosh vision, I'd say that I want to create something that works very well with my MacPro case. I'm not averse to buying a new case, but if I don't have to then that's my preference.

Thus, for any mod, ideally, I'd like to retain the four firewire and five USB slots -- this doesn't mean that I object to using Thurderbolt, but I wouldn't want to trade four firewire slots for just one Thunderbolt. Also, I have no problem with USB 3.0 or a mix of USB 2.0 and 3.0s. Also, I'd like to use the MacPro case that I currently have. In any mod, I don't have to have the same number of I/O ports I currently have; but I don't want to have more than one fewer of each.

From a quick and cursory view, it seems that case manufacturers don't offer four firewire and five USB slots; if this is true, does this mean that I'd have to cut a whole into the back of my MacPro? Or are there mother boards that line up very, very well with my MacPro such that no cutting is required? If I do need to cut (and what are pros/cons of cutting vs. no cutting?), what type of equipment do I need?

Again, this is all new to me; but it seems very doable. A MacPro is, in some ways, more computer than I need; but I value highly having multiple hard drives, being able to easily add memory, using a monitor of my choosing, and other options that don't exist with an iMac.

Thanks in advance your your thoughts and assistance.