Contribute
Register

MacPro 3.1 with Broadcom BCM94360CD - Bluetooth not working (wifi ok) on El Capitan

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
mac 3.1
hi all.
i have an old mac pro (3.1) with this card inside on a mini adapter for Wifi and BT. yesterday, i was on Mountain Lion with everything working ok. i upgraded to ElCapo and now my BT stopped working. I had an issue with wifi but this seems resolved now. im a mac noob so am hoping you guys can help.
i tried to add the FakePCIId and XHCImux kext but no changes.

on my top bar, i see the bluetooth icon, and i can turn it on and off, but cannot see any BT keyboard/mouse that use to be connected there.

one quesiton i have is my bluettoth adapter in System Info. it says 'Cambridge Silicon Radio'. i was expecting my broadcomm card to say somethign like 'Broadcomm'. see attachment

ive added a few screenshots just in case you guys can make sense of it
thanks

Screen Shot 2016-11-22 at 5.56.37 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-11-22 at 5.57.31 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-11-22 at 6.02.12 PM.png

by the way... i tried all other USB ports (on the mac unit, on the cinema display) and they all seem to work correctly.
thanks

To recap: my BT mouse or BT keyboard are not found, nor do i seem to have any working BT.

i also extracted the Kext that did not load successfuly...and this is what i found:
Screen Shot 2016-11-22 at 9.42.43 PM.png

El Capitan won’t load/execute unsigned kexts, unless you disable SIP (System Integrity Protection).

1. Reboot your Mac into Recovery Mode by restarting your computer and holding down Command+R until the Apple logo appears on your screen.
  2. Click Utilities > Terminal.
  3. In the Terminal window, type in csrutil disable and press Enter.
  4. Restart your Mac.

Enable SIP and allow installation of unsigned kernel extensions
csrutil enable --without kext

El Capitan won’t load/execute unsigned kexts, unless you disable SIP (System Integrity Protection).