MacOs Sierra with Nvidia Gt 610 problem

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by viruskn, Oct 6, 2016.

  1. eierfrucht

    eierfrucht

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Jun 8, 2017 at 2:08 PM #81
    eierfrucht

    eierfrucht

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    I can confirm this happening to me with a GF 410M on my Sony Vaio running 10.2.5 (upgraded from 10.11.6 just yesterday)

    To bring the mouse pointer back, you have to somehow stalk your way to Accessibility -> Display -> Cursor Size and set it to the largest size possible, then the cursor will become visible again.

    Once you did so, you must go to Users & Groups, create a new Administrator-type user, turn on logon screen (in case you are using auto logon), reboot and log in as the new user. You will notice that the cursor is drawn on the screen even if it's small. Now you can re-login as your normal user, delete the extra user and turn the logon screen off. From now on, your mouse pointer will persist regardless of its size, so you can make it small again.

    OS X can use both software and hardware for mouse pointer rendering -- OpenGL has some special functionality for drawing a mouse pointer. But it can't be used for large objects, so OS X switches back to software rendering once the pointer becomes too large. By creating a new user and enabling the logon screen, you somehow reactivate hardware rendering support for the mouse pointer that's initially switched off if you use Nvidia on 10.12.5

    As for the random freezes, you must have Lilu.kext and NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext loaded in order to avoid them (unless you use an iMac 13.1 or iMac 14-something SMBIOS definition) Most of the time, you won't even be able to see the desktop if you don't use these kexts with most SMBIOSes, but some Nvidias are known to boot more or less successfully even without them. But this doesn't eliminate the need for NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext that requires Lilu.kext to run.

    Even with the random freezes gone, my screen freezes when I try to restart or shut down. The freeze also happens when I try to change my color profile or screen resolution, i.e. switch from fixed to scaled. This happens both with Web and Apple drivers. It's curious that even with the picture frozen, I can ssh into the computer from another machine, the music keeps playing and, judging by the logs, OS X continues to function even after the picture becomes stuck.

    I had to use DisplayMergeNub.kext in order to successfully inject a fixed EDID (screen size and serial need editing for the display to normally function in 10.12.*)

    [​IMG]
    I also fixed the brightness slider as per Rehabman's guide: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...rol-using-applebacklightinjector-kext.218222/

    The only thing I had to change is the exact name & address of my graphics device in SSDT-PNLF.aml. It used to be _SB_.PCI0.IGPU but my DSDT uses _SB_.PCI0.P0P2.GFX0 so I edited the SSDT accordingly. Given that Nvidia GPUs require some additional properties to be able to handle backlight, I also injected the following values into GFX0: AAPL,backlight-control; @0,built-in; @0,backlight-control; @0,use-backlight-blanking; @0,pwm-info. And my backlight started working. Failing to specify any of these values may result in spontaneous restarts or the brightness slider vanishing / becoming useless. Don't ever specify "display-type" though, which many guides suggest. At least in 10.11.6 and 10.12.5, this will give you a black screen. Display-type will be automatically set to "LCD" by the drivers, but injecting it manually will give you trouble.

    Even with my EDID and backlight fixed, I'm still getting freezes whenever I try to reboot / change my color profile / change resolution. Desperately looking for a solution.

    P.S. If you get freezes when plugging an external display with the lower-end Nvidias from the 4XX, 5XX and 6XX series, you can fix this by a proper NVCAP patch. NVCAP is overriden automatically with some sort of nonsense for these cards. This nonsense (that is clearly visible in IOReg) works as a kind of "full auto" mode, but can be troublesome if your graphics card's connectors are too different from a reference design. If you apply a binary patch that substitutes "NVCAP" with "NVZAP" in NVDAStartup.kext and NVDAStartupWeb.kext, then you'll be able to inject a custom NVCAP with Clover like it used to be in the good old days. Specifying just 1 display in the first display group (i.e. LVDS / eDP) and another 1 in the second group (i.e. HDMI / DP) in NVCAP often fixes the "external display freezing" issues. It is also advisable to inject the @X,can-hot-plug property for the external display, and it's generally much better if you also inject a minimal set of IOReg properties defining the name / device-type / connector-type for the secondary display. Nvidia Web drivers are generally more picky than the stock ones, sometimes you can only fix the freezes if you run the Apple drivers.
     
  2. leonado

    leonado

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    Asus IPIBL-LB
    CPU:
    core 2 quad q6600
    Graphics:
    Asus gtx650ti
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Jul 7, 2017 at 3:19 PM #82
    leonado

    leonado

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    Asus IPIBL-LB
    CPU:
    core 2 quad q6600
    Graphics:
    Asus gtx650ti
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    I'm running a gt 610 with Sierra 10.12.5 at full acceleration. The only problem I have is I can't get proper shutdown. I have to hold the power button for it to shutdown completely. I'm running on an old system with legacy bios. So it must be a power management issue or something.
     
  3. kdolaac

    kdolaac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Mobo:
    z68x-ud3h-b3
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 460 768 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Jul 7, 2017 at 6:37 PM #83
    kdolaac

    kdolaac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Mobo:
    z68x-ud3h-b3
    CPU:
    i5 2500k
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 460 768 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other

    what boot config you use
     
  4. Boateng

    Boateng

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte 110m
    CPU:
    Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia gtx 630
    Jul 15, 2017 at 10:17 PM #84
    Boateng

    Boateng

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte 110m
    CPU:
    Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia gtx 630
    mine worked without any problem....I have it working (gt 610) with full acceleration.
     
  5. newmacbee

    newmacbee

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Mobo:
    ASUS B85M-G
    CPU:
    Intel core i5
    Graphics:
    nVidia GT610
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Windows Phone, Other
    Jul 16, 2017 at 3:45 AM #85
    newmacbee

    newmacbee

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Mobo:
    ASUS B85M-G
    CPU:
    Intel core i5
    Graphics:
    nVidia GT610
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Windows Phone, Other
    Is it working with the latest 10.12.5 and/or high Sierra latest beta build? And what settings did you select to make gt610 working with full acceleration?

    Thanks
     
  6. Boateng

    Boateng

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte 110m
    CPU:
    Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia gtx 630
    Jul 16, 2017 at 4:37 AM #86
    Boateng

    Boateng

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte 110m
    CPU:
    Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia gtx 630
    yeah..working with sierra 10.12.5.....use my settings and you should be fine...my only problem I still can't fix is with using dual monitor setup..need to get the NVCAP fixed but I don't know the hex. look at the photos for the settings
     

    Attached Files:

    • IMG_1011.JPG  (5.6 MB, 436 views)
    • IMG_1010.JPG  (5.6 MB, 424 views)
    • IMG_1009.JPG  (7 MB, 412 views)
    • IMG_1008.JPG  (5.3 MB, 390 views)
    • IMG_1007.JPG  (8.3 MB, 324 views)
  7. Boateng

    Boateng

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte 110m
    CPU:
    Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia gtx 630
    Jul 16, 2017 at 4:38 AM #87
    Boateng

    Boateng

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte 110m
    CPU:
    Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia gtx 630
     
  8. Boateng

    Boateng

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte 110m
    CPU:
    Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia gtx 630
    Jul 16, 2017 at 4:41 AM #88
    Boateng

    Boateng

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte 110m
    CPU:
    Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Nvidia gtx 630
    use this settings
     
    tanyastawicki likes this.

    Attached Files:

    • IMG_1011.JPG  (5.6 MB, 406 views)
    • IMG_1010.JPG  (5.6 MB, 429 views)
    • IMG_1009.JPG  (7 MB, 404 views)
    • IMG_1008.JPG  (5.3 MB, 400 views)
    • IMG_1007.JPG  (8.3 MB, 309 views)
  9. trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,847
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 16, 2017 at 12:30 PM #89
    trs96

    trs96 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,847
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
    CPU:
    I5-4690K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Your profile and About this Mac both say you have a GT630 and not a GT610. Is this accurate ?
     
    slim.jim likes this.
  10. tanyastawicki

    tanyastawicki

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Intel NUC
    CPU:
    core i5
    Graphics:
    Intel 5000
    Sep 9, 2017 at 9:07 PM #90
    tanyastawicki

    tanyastawicki

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Intel NUC
    CPU:
    core i5
    Graphics:
    Intel 5000
    I couldn't believe is at first, but this actually works!!! My (buildin) 610M is alive!! thank you Boateng.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2017-09-09 at 22.03.52.jpg  (58.1 KB, 117 views)

Share This Page