Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra Public Beta 5 is Now Available

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 22, 2015
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H, Bios F9
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
EVGA Geforce GTX 750 SC with 2Gb GDDR5 (display port)
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This beta finally start to recognize my GTX750ti, but have some artefacts in left corner :p I hope there will be update for nvidia soon :)

Same problem here on Beta 4 and 5. Every menu item or window opened garbles the left top corner. Also occasional freeze to safari window. Would be something for the Nvidea tam to look into, I hope...
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,605
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 AORUS MASTER
CPU
i7-11700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It shows them after reloading the clover bootloader, but after booting up I remove the Ssd and use EFI mounter and find an empty folder. It's strange, something is eating my boot file on the EFI partition. I notice it gets moved to the disk0s2 partition under EFI backups. Do you think it could be something going on between legacy and uefi boot modes or commands?

I really don't know man - but it is highly unlikely because I have multi boot in my builds with clover as the boot loader and windows is installed as Legacy and I don't have the problem you described, that is indeed strange maybe the gurus here can shine some light on it.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
173
Motherboard
Asus Z690-Plus Wifi D4
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
UHD 770, RTX 2080 Super
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I noticed that as well, it may be because there is no data on the EFI partition. When I use EFI mounter it shows an empty folder. I've reloaded it with clover bootloader changed out the config.plist and fake/null + HFS_+EFI and after boot it disappears again. It's like bcfg boot rm is being conducted on the EFI partition automatically.


I have the same issue, Clover Configurator won't mount the EFI.

The empty folder is because an empty folder is created under /Volumes in which the EFI is supposed to be mounted..
the command to mount it manually from terminal would be something like:
"sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/EFI" depending on which disk and partition your EFI is at.

The folder is created but the mount never happens that's why the folder is empty.

Mounting it manually from terminal works though.
 
Last edited:

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,570
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
I really don't know man - but it is highly unlikely because I have multi boot in my builds with clover as the boot loader and windows is installed as Legacy and I don't have the problem you described, that is indeed strange maybe the gurus here can shine some light on it.

It only happens on my pentium g3258 build, my Skylake runs like butter, except for the RX480 stutter in Siri.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,605
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 AORUS MASTER
CPU
i7-11700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It only happens on my pentium g3258 build, my Skylake runs like butter, except for the RX480 stutter in Siri.

OK - I wouldn't sweat too much over these little glitches after all we are still in Beta mode, hopefully come the Fall the final release will be up to par.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
54
Motherboard
Dell Precision T3500
CPU
Xeon 3503
Graphics
RX 560
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have the same issue, Clover Configurator won't mount the EFI.

Same issue with Clover Configurator on my machine. Mounting with EFI Mounter v3 fully works.

On another issue - my test drive with Sierra Beta 5 will only boot with the other drives (except Win 10 drive) disabled in BIOS.

I have 2 EFI partitions on 2 different SSD's in my machine, and just realised that the boot partition on my main drive doesn't contain a 10.12 kext folder. Will copy/paste over from the test drive's EFI partition and report back.

UPDATE: I feel like a numpty, it totally worked after adding a 10.12 kext folder (with Fake.smc etc) into my boot EFI partition. All hail the Clover devs!
 
Last edited:

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,180
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have the same.
Any fixes or updates?

Matt
I, too, have the graphics glitch in the windows upper left hand corner with my GTX 750 Ti. I have not found a solution, and I have been looking for one at all the usual places. Sierra does not have this problem on MyHero with the GTX 760.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
173
Motherboard
Asus Z690-Plus Wifi D4
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
UHD 770, RTX 2080 Super
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
UPDATE: I feel like a numpty, it totally worked after adding a 10.12 kext folder (with Fake.smc etc) into my boot EFI partition. All hail the Clover devs!

Tried this but no luck, still doesn't work. I'll try reinstalling Clover.

Edit: Reinstalling didn't help either.. oh, well guess I can live with it, it's not that hard doing from terminal :p
 
Last edited:

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,856
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To mount (and eject) drives from the menu bar try the free Semulov app.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top