Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
124
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mobile Phone
Android
Disabled how? you mean you have your RX480 as main vga right?
I disable the IGPU in the UEFI. I had the RX 480 as my only display output but I kept getting random freezes. So I had to remove the kexts and re-enable the IGPU. Now I use the IGPU for the Clover boot screen and I have to manually switch the video input on my monitor to the RX 480. Which is a little annoying but not nearly as annoying as having to deal with random freezes.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
102
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97M-D3H
CPU
Intel Core i7 4790K@4.7
Graphics
Sapphire RX480 Nitro 8gb +VEGA 56
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I disable the IGPU in the UEFI. I had the RX 480 as my only display output but I kept getting random freezes. So I had to remove the kexts and re-enable the IGPU. Now I use the IGPU for the Clover boot screen and I have to manually switch the video input on my monitor to the RX 480. Which is a little annoying but not nearly as annoying as having to deal with random freezes.
Alright, that was how I was doing as well before this new two kexts. now I have RX480 as my main output and I don't need to switch between outputs anymore.
Maybe you should check your clover config file from the beginning, untick or disable anything unnecessary and try again.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
124
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mobile Phone
Android
Alright, that was how I was doing as well before this new two kexts. now I have RX480 as my main output and I don't need to switch between outputs anymore.
Maybe you should check your clover config file from the beginning, untick or disable anything unnecessary and try again.
Where did you place the kexts?
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,324
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Hi Gigamaxx,

Just wondering if the Lilu and Whatever kexts work in High Sierra on your RX480 build allowing you to boot with just that card. Also, any key changes you needed to make when moving to HS?

Thanks.
Yes, it works great in High Sierra and you get audio through HDMI and Displayports.

Updated Clover ( required 4114 works great for me, 4128 seems a little buggy) you will probably need a helper card to get updated if the RX crashes during update. Stay away from the APFS upgrade until you get a good configuration in HFS+. The option pops up so be careful not to choose it unless you do your homework first. Make sure you look at every instal page so you don't select it, I think it defaults to APFS and YOU have to uncheck it.

My Intel Pentium G3258 needed to use a different fake CPU ID to get through the updater but after installed I went back to i5 CPU ID. You may need to tweak a few settings but in general it is an easy upgrade.

NVMe Ram is supported but you need to check that out for compatibility and whether you need to remove fixes or leave them in place, or change them. Some people are having trouble with NVMe so if you have a spare SSD or HDD I would install there first and then copy over to NVME later.

Backup Disk? Backup Disks?
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
124
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mobile Phone
Android
in /EFI/Clover/Kext/Other
That's where I put the kexts. I am going to try /System/Library/Extensions tonight. I didn't have time last night.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2011
Messages
50
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
MSI GAMING X RX 480 4GB
Mobile Phone
Android, Other
Finally got the WhateverGreen to work. Don't what exactly was the problem, probably SMBIOS. I was using macpro smbios. Now using imac 13,1. Also discarded AppleHDA patches and realtekALC.kext added by audio_cloverALC-120.command. Btw anyone got the VDADecoder to work in RX 4xx?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
123
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
So far I had no glitch no freeze. FinalCut works perfectly as well. For hardware acceleration I have intel igpu using fake id sorta working as well.
without igpu fake id no hardware acceleration (in FCPX or...)?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
123
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
My Intel Pentium G3258 needed to use a different fake CPU ID to get through the updater but after installed I went back to i5 CPU ID. You may need to tweak a few settings but in general it is an easy upgrade.
Should i also use those CPU IDs for a Skylake i7? Never heard before of that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top