Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
506
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
It seem to be one screen option only, this may be a good thing if we can find the right one. Try HDMi only it should work as well.

Have you tried the black screen boot yet?
Hmm. Progress indeed and oddities as well.

Yes, it is one screen only right now, including losing the IGPU. If the RX card is installed, once the boot progresses to the point where the relevant AMD kext is loaded, the IGPU screen freezes in place -- black background, Apple logo, with the progress bar at the point it usually gets to when the kext loads -- no more using it as a second monitor.

If I connect the HDMI connector to an a/v receiver and boot up, it works fine. Video is fine as well as Full 8 Channel Audio(*) and it sounds great! And as I reported before, there is no need for a SSDT file to get the audio controls showing up in the Sound Preferences Pane. But, and you knew that was coming, but the DisplayPort cable cannot be connected at all, even with that monitor turned off, the cable must be disconnected.

If I connect the HDMI connector to an a/v receiver and the DisplayPort connector to a monitor, with the a/v receiver turned off, the machine boots up normally and runs okay. Trying to hot-plug the HDMI connector into the mix results in the mouse cursor moving over to the Apple menu in the menubar and trying to hide, it will not move any more, but the mouse button will still work, you can click on the Apple menu, you just cannot move the cursor. Turning the HDMI connected "thing" off lets the mouse once more run free over the desktop. :)

I do not know yet if the issue of the multi-monitors is a frame buffer connector problem, or a bug in the drivers or what, but this is pretty good progress in a way.

p.s. I am not sure what you mean by "black screen boot", is this the usual turn-the-machine-on-and-wait-for-the-kext-to-load-the-login-screen?

(*) Eight channel audio is the most I can test on this machine, in theory Apple has the stuff to support more channels.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
140
Motherboard
ASRock Z270 Super Carrier
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX460 / RX480 NITRO
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey jerryy,

had the same problem with DP3, and it seems not to be an issue with HDMI or Displayport. For me it was a problem with my USB-SSDT file! I use an SSDT for USB-portlimitation, where i can define, which of my motherboard built-in USB-connectors will be active, so i don't have to use "USB-Portlimit-patch". After using usb-portlimit-patch für HIGH SIERRA (found here on TonyMac) and using rehabmans kext "USBInjectAll.kext" all went well again (mouse could be moved again).

And after correcting my SSDT i could get back of not using port-limit-patch and the rehab kext. Took me about an hour to find out that something has changed to USB with beta3 of HighSierra.

And there is even more: after getting this "bug" fixed again, i could say, that my 4-monitor setup is working perfectly with HighSierra beta3: having two identical monitors here: 2x LG 27" 4k connected through 2 Displayport, one HDMI to an AV-Receiver and one HDMI from iGPU. Full working 8-channel sound via AV-Receiver.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
506
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey jerryy,

had the same problem with DP3, and it seems not to be an issue with HDMI or Displayport. For me it was a problem with my USB-SSDT file! I use an SSDT for USB-portlimitation, where i can define, which of my motherboard built-in USB-connectors will be active, so i don't have to use "USB-Portlimit-patch". After using usb-portlimit-patch für HIGH SIERRA (found here on TonyMac) and using rehabmans kext "USBInjectAll.kext" all went well again (mouse could be moved again).

And after correcting my SSDT i could get back of not using port-limit-patch and the rehab kext. Took me about an hour to find out that something has changed to USB with beta3 of HighSierra.

And there is even more: after getting this "bug" fixed again, i could say, that my 4-monitor setup is working perfectly with HighSierra beta3: having two identical monitors here: 2x LG 27" 4k connected through 2 Displayport, one HDMI to an AV-Receiver and one HDMI from iGPU. Full working 8-channel sound via AV-Receiver.
Hello Mork,

I will give the port-limit-patch and Rehabman's kext a try later this evening and let you know how it goes, I have to take off for now though.

I am not using any SSDT or DSDT files yet, so hopefully this will be all that is needed. It will be nice to have full use of the monitors.

p.s. After trying several fb patches, I am using the Acre patch you came up with so long ago. It seems to be well suited to the RX 460 card. Certainly the others work, but I like this one better.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
122
Motherboard
Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'd reverse those two things. Dedicated graphics without igpu is way more important than sound.
Due to USB there are tons of ways to get sound working great.

But a dedicated AMD graphics, let me know when that is working great.

P.s. 7.1 USB Audio https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002LM0U2S/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,396
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
I'd reverse those two things. Dedicated graphics without igpu is way more important than sound.
Due to USB there are tons of ways to get sound working great.

But a dedicated AMD graphics, let me know when that is working great.

P.s. 7.1 USB Audio https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002LM0U2S/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
I agree sound is an easier option to fix, but Jerry has always been reporting on sound since beta 2 or something last year.

GPU only, It's been reported by a Vega Frontier in High Sierra, only one port working but it's on a 6900k system and only Vega shows up in about this Mac. It's working, or we shall soon find out when we get the Vega cards. Some Uningine benches too.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
506
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey jerryy,

had the same problem with DP3, and it seems not to be an issue with HDMI or Displayport. For me it was a problem with my USB-SSDT file! I use an SSDT for USB-portlimitation, where i can define, which of my motherboard built-in USB-connectors will be active, so i don't have to use "USB-Portlimit-patch". After using usb-portlimit-patch für HIGH SIERRA (found here on TonyMac) and using rehabmans kext "USBInjectAll.kext" all went well again (mouse could be moved again).

And after correcting my SSDT i could get back of not using port-limit-patch and the rehab kext. Took me about an hour to find out that something has changed to USB with beta3 of HighSierra.

And there is even more: after getting this "bug" fixed again, i could say, that my 4-monitor setup is working perfectly with HighSierra beta3: having two identical monitors here: 2x LG 27" 4k connected through 2 Displayport, one HDMI to an AV-Receiver and one HDMI from iGPU. Full working 8-channel sound via AV-Receiver.
Back again,

I followed the threads and gave them a try, but no luck yet; after initially reading through Rehabman's text, I did not think a fast fix was going to work, but it was worth a try...

from PMHeart's message (via Tony's link):
Code:
Hello,

About USB max limit port patch, use this one instead under 10.13 DP1: (Target kext: AppleUSBXHCIPCI)
# 10.13 DP1
83 7D 84 10 -> 83 7D 84 xx
Note: xx means your new max limit port, which is typically 0x16 for 9-series and 0x1B for 100-series.

[EDIT @ 23/06/2017]
Added 10.13 DP2 patch:
83 7D 8C 10 -> 83 7D 8C xx
I came up with the patch:
Code:
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>Change 9-Series MacOS USB limit. Credit: PMHeart</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>g32MEA==</data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleUSBXHCIPCI</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>g32MFg==</data>
            </dict>
along with the latest version of Rehabman's USBInjectAll.kext, nothing broke when I rebooted, but the mouse still went and hid when I hot-plugged the HDMI connector. I believe I will have to very thoroughly go through Rehabman's tutorial to make sure I do not have to set something else into place to properly use the kext.

Also, PMHeart's message says the data is for the second DP release, the public beta is supposed to be similar to the third DP release, so that patch may be in error, I have not yet found any update though.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
506
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I'd reverse those two things. Dedicated graphics without igpu is way more important than sound.
Due to USB there are tons of ways to get sound working great.

But a dedicated AMD graphics, let me know when that is working great.

P.s. 7.1 USB Audio https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002LM0U2S/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

How to respond without sounding like one of those audioholics folks ... :)

Okay, well, here goes, the HDMI connection gives you more bandwidth for your audio per channel than does the optical SPDIF connectors. Sure if you are playing some poorly recorded, ancient, highly compressed MP3 that extra bandwidth will not make much, if any difference, but if you are listening to well recorded audio (better quality CD or Blu-Ray) then that extra room makes for better playback. You can actually hear a difference. [How am I doing so far? Too snooty? :)]

But beyond that, this is also a one cable solution. One cable get the video and audio to your receiver so that you can play the games or watch the videos without having to mess with a cable to the tv, a cable to the receiver, a cable to the ... etc. And if you need to do any micro adjustments to synch the audio to the video, it is waaaay easier if you use a one cable approach than trying to sync the tv to the receiver to the computer.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top